This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Robin's House
Robin's House
Robin's House
Robin's House
Robin's House

Reviews of Robin's House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Robin's House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Robin's House.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Pangolin

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Eland

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Ms T.
Kfar Saba

"A once in a lifetime experience! "

4 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"We had an outstanding time at the property. Everything was above expectations. The guide (Fred) was knowledgeable and good spirited and we took an immediate liking to him. He patiently explained and answered all of our questions and was accommodated any request we had.
The staff tending to the house (Michael and Daniel) were all gentle polite and kind assisting us with anything we needed always with a smile.
The food was delicious and the variety was outstanding.
The safari itself was great we saw lots of animals and had a good view of birds which we live watching. Fred knee just about everything that we had asked and spotted birds from a remarkable distance. My only one comment is that it would be good if there were binoculars to rent so that we could each have a pair (although Fred managed to get us a spare pair :))
We just simply could not ask more. " See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs Y
PA

"Great safari at Robin's House"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"Beautiful accommodations with great service both at the camp and from our excellent guide." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Robin's House review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"It was outside the park, but the guiding was exceptional. It was interesting to use the raft to enter the park. Parking in the park overnight and taking a boat across the river was very appreciated and avoided longer drives outside the park.

Accommodations were luxurious and top notch. Service and meals terrific." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
London

"Robin's House review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
London

"Great Stay at Robins House"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Stayed as part of a group at Robins House. Very charming and intimate lodge with two bedrooms, shared sitting space and nice outside terrace overlooking river.

Excellent staff, very willing to help and cooked up a great breakfast (other meals were eaten elsewhere).

Have marked location as average because of proximity to ramp down to river which meant that vehicle noise was intrusive at times" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Bottmingen

"Best place for family safari in South Luangwa"

6 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2015
"This was the undisputed highlight of our travel to Sambia and Malawi. Already the arrival was breathtaking for a family that had not been on safari before: hippos and crocs bathing and splashing in the water only some meters away, and monkeys chasing each other on the roof.

Having peeked at other lodges, we appreciated the safeness, shielding and size of Robin's House. The hospitality and elegance of our serving staff Loti and Phelix was outstanding, and the kitchen chef Nixon world class.

We were extremely lucky to have had Obi as our guide. He has a deep knowledge of the park, the animals, their favorite locations at different times, and the ecosystem. Furthermore, he is a great teacher who taught us much about animals and plants. Finally, he is also a skilled driver who can steer the Toyota Landcruiser as if he was a ballet dancer. We heard that Obi has career ambitions and wish him best luck in the future!
" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Powys

"Robin's House review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"Looking distinctly tied now compared with ten years ago and in urgent need of refurbishment. We were not impressed with our young hostess and the food was nothing better than average.

Nkwali camp itself looked very neglected. Because of human encroachment, and the proliferation of many more camps, the area was far too busy with more camp vehicles than animals. Obi, our personal game guide was still I delight to be with each day" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs D x 3
Newport

"Robin's house review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"On the saturday lunchtime when we arrived, we asked the host James if we could go on a walking safari, we all agreed that we would have a jeep safari on Sunday and would go for the walking safari on Monday morning. When I asked James on Sunday evening if we were walking on Monday he said that he had asked the guide if he could call the ranger, we felt at this point it looked like it had been forgotten. We do not know if this was the case, but on Monday morning we were advised that we would not be going on a walking safari but we could do this at Nsefu and Tena Tena.

We were disappointed by this omission, there could have been a genuine reason but this was not communicated to us. This was a shame because the rest of our experience was excellent and the food produced by the chef Robert and the service from Lafayu was outstanding. We also had all of our laundry on time by kapimi and he was very good in assisting the guide Obi with the light in the evening drives." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The D Family
Herts

"Robin's House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"Slightly disappointing, the house felt tired and in need of refurbishment. Odd idea to have a hostess hanging around, disconcerting for people to just walk into the house. View was obscured from the house.

The area of the park seemed much less pristine - more trucks, road signs and a pylon. Food, service and guide were fantastic though." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Luton

"Robin's House at Nkwali"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Excellent location on the River Luangwa. Robin's House offers optional privacy, but with first class service.

Great game viewing close to the camp and with easy access to the South Luangwa National Park.

Knowledgeable and entertaining guides." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
94%
10 reviews of Robin's House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa