This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Mr L from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

8

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

23

Excursions taken

0

Excellent trip with group of close friends

Zambia and 1 other country between 10 Sep 2015 and 21 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Had a lovely trip to Zambia and Zimbabwe to celebrate a very close friend's landmark birthday.

Saw some great game, especially in South Luangwa (plenty of leopards) although Lower Zambezi was a little patchy. We also enjoyed the novelty of travelling as a group and staying in private houses (although having done this, my preference would probably be to take over small camps in their entirety rather than staying in a single house). But it certainly made an interesting change and the trip was awesome overall."

Arranged By Megan Green


Robin's House

Robin's House

"Great Stay at Robins House"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Stayed as part of a group at Robins House. Very charming and intimate lodge with two bedrooms, shared sitting space and nice outside terrace overlooking river.

Excellent staff, very willing to help and cooked up a great breakfast (other meals were eaten elsewhere).

Have marked location as average because of proximity to ramp down to river which meant that vehicle noise was intrusive at times"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Excellent
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

"Dramatic private house overlooking river"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Architecturally striking house, at the side of the Chongwe River. We stayed as part of a group (the house has four rooms).

Overall this was an excellent and very comfortable stay although the open plan nature of the house meant that the rooms lacked privacy and there was quite a lot of noise in the morning as people congregated downstairs.

Probably the nicest thing was the proximity to the river which allowed us to take a boat deep into the park and be met by a vehicle and driven slowly back. This was especially helpful since the game in the vicinity of the gate was pretty lacklustre compared to what could be seen deeper in the park. The team also put on an awesome lunch by the Zambezi as well as a fun sundowner on a sandbank in the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Short but sweet stay"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"The Vic Falls Hotel is a predictable but nonetheless charming place to stay.

Really good swimming pool area and obviously a prime location above the Falls (which were exceptionally dry when we visited)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Excellent short break in Savute

Botswana between 18 Mar 2015 and 24 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Had a lovely short (4 day) africa trip booked at the last minute on a whim.

Would totally recommend Savute, especially if the channel starts to flow again. But be aware that you're in a national park so not totally away from other visitors and some restrictions (no off-road, back by dusk). But nothing we weren't aware of ahead of time and in no way an issue for us.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

would be nice to have the booking form online and not need to fill it in again every time we take an Expert Africa trip :-)"

Arranged By Megan Green


Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Exceeded expectations although some flaws"

4 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2015
"Slightly conflicted perspective on Savute Safari Lodge but turned out to be great overall.

We booked this trip at the very last minute (two days prior to leaving) afetr deciding on a whim to take another look at the (rapidly drying out) Savute Channel. This lodge wouldn't have been our choice as I much prefer smaller less mainstream lodges and Savute Safari Lodge is neither of these things with 24 beds and what seemed to be quite a lot of larger groups staying. But it was all we could find for the days we were there.

However, notwithstanding our misgivings, it was a great choice. The staff were charming, Gwis, our guide was absolutely excellent as was Action, the manager who clearly led a very well run camp. The chalets were not your standard fantasy Africa lodging (they had rather ugly tiled bathroom, sliding glass patio doors, built in wardrobes etc) but they were actually very comfortable and practical which more than compensated for the optics

Savute channel / marsh continue to be fascinating and we saw excellent game (leopard, lion kill, 1000s of zebra, huge eles and so on) so Savute as good as ever and we were very happy with the guiding as mentioned above. And since you're in a public area, it's not as if by choosing one camp over another, the experience would be radically different, at least not where it matters out in the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

An excellent trip

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 31 Oct 2014 and 9 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We normally try to avoid late October because of the heat but I'm really glad we made the trip at this time of year. Game viewing was simply excellent and I was surprised how few others were travelling.

It was very hot but the camps had fans and the heat was manageable."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

"Excellent new camp in Lower Zambezi"

5 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"We stayed at this camp in late October and had an excellent time. Really good game and the whole park almost to ourselves it seemed; we only saw a couple of other vehicles during the five days we were there.

The camp was very new but not obviously so. The managers, Matt and Annette were clearly very experienced at running a camp and everything felt very smooth and well managed, especially for such a new operation.

Patrick was our guide and he was very good (if somewhat aloof). But aloofness aside, he knew his stuff and we saw excellent game, especially leopards and elephant. He was also very willing to go look for specifics such as the carmine bee eaters on the river so we were very happy with what we saw.

The "tents" were over-sized (in a good way) with a nice plunge pool with a view over the floodplain. I'd normally be a little dismissive of luxuries like a plunge pool but in 45 degree heat it was lovely! Also a good outdoor shower and an indoor bath. I personally didn't especially like the aesthetic of the double patio doors but they were very practical and made it easy to get on and off the terrace. And they did a good job in keeping out dust so what they lacked in charm, they made up for in practicality. Food was excellent too; always very well cooked and plenty of variety. And good wine :-)

Lower Zambezi remains one of my favourite Zambian parks with it's combination of riverine and bush environments. Anabezi was hard to fault with its choices of water and land based activities. I'd certainly go back again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"I love this camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"Camp Hwange is one my favorite camps in southern Africa; it's super well run and has excellent guides, management and staff. They are also very flexible on arrangements which we appreciated enormously.

If you're looking for somewhere where it's all about the game, this camp could well be for you. Don't get me wrong though; it's also very comfortable and well run with all the basics (good food, comfortable beds, hot water, cold drinks) done well. But it's first and foremost a game viewing operation and they take this very seriously so if you just want a quick drive round the bush before breakfast or dinner you might want to choose somewhere different.

But if you want some serious guiding and full-on engagement with Hwange National Park, then this is an awesome camp. But expect to be out for loooong drives or walks; we would leave by 06h and not come back until 13h and then be out again for another 4 or 5 hours so it's intense. But the game was fantastic. Lots of lions if that's your thing (it's not mine especially!) and (when we were there just ahead of the rains) enormous herds of eles and buffalo. We also saw a lot of leopard (to my slight surprise as these aren't always easy to see in Hwange). We even had the dilemma of having to choose between leopard and serval sightings one evening (we chose serval which was wonderful)

So overall I really don't think you can go wrong but I'd say it's for the genuine safari enthusiast, not someone looking for a little safari between meals and down-time.

Lastly we were lucky enough to be guided by Dave Carson again (this was our second visit) and he is great; super-enthusiastic about everything, especially lions (but willing to go and look at other game too with a little coaxing lol). I cannot recommend him highly enough"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Recently renovated old school colonial hotel"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"It's a predicable choice but a lovely place to end a safari. Hard to go wrong and worth splashing out on a nice room.

Recently seen some renovation work which was well done but still feels authentic. And well run and staffed too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Great migration trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 24 Aug 2013 and 9 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip with some staggering game, especially in the Mara (albeit shared with plenty of other people).

We tend to stay in southern Africa so this was a little off our normal beat but we had a good time. Only downsides were tsetse flies in the Serengeti and an annoying lack of open vehicles. For future booking I plan to check the vehicle type and only book camps with open cars :)"

Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Good stay during migration"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"Nice camp; good guides. Flexible and willing to work with our schedule. Quite a few snakes which was a nice change."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Good stay at Naboisho Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2013
"very nice camp. Did an excellent walk which was probably the high spot of the stay.

Not as much game as I'd expected overall and hard to persuade the guides to stop focusing on cats and show us different animals. But a good camp with great staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Great trip. Pretty much faultless

Zimbabwe between 29 May 2012 and 4 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Loved the trip. Reminded me how much I like Hwange which was looking great and almost empty of other people (which was lovely for us but not so good for the Zimbabwe economy). Loved the flexibility and guiding at Camp Hwange and plan to return and perhaps do some more walking too.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep on doing what you're doing."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Iconic Hotel overlooking the Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"I have long wanted to stay at the Vic Falls having been there many times when I was younger and quite unable to pay for more than a beer on the terrace (and not even that sometimes).

So it was good to get the chance to stay and the experience lived up to expectations although the hotel was somewhat shabby. Staff were super-friendly and the food was good.

The terrace is one if the nicest places to sit and chill in the area. We "wasted" a complete afternoon drinking wine and watching the warthogs and vervet monkeys

One word of warning. The hotel is older (of course) but has very limited facilities for the mobility-impaired and the suites (which we had booked to allow more space) were up a sweeping flight of stairs without any lift. My mum wasn't able to manage the stairs and we had to move her to a much less-attractive room but one that she was at least able to get in and out of. Even then there were challenges with the new room (high bathtub etc). But in the circumstances, it worked out and the hotel did the best they could."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Great & flexible guiding in charming new camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"We stayed at Camp Hwange for four nights and had a great time. Travelling with my elderly mother could have been something of a challenge but Dave Carson and the Camp Hwange team pulled out all the stops, even building a bespoke set of wooden steps so mum could climb more easily in and out of the Land Rover.

Because of mum's somewhat impaired mobility, we weren't able to spend as much time walking as we would have liked but in all honesty, this wasn't a big deal. We were lucky to have Dave himself guide us for our visit and he was outstanding, spotting prodigious amounts of game at sometimes implausible distances from the vehicle (although much of it was extremely close!).
Having spent time in Somalisa a couple of years ago (another excellent camp), we felt this was the better location in terms of game (lots) and people (we saw maybe three other vehicles in four days which was great). All the animals were in fine condition and very good densities, especially elephants which numbered concentrations in the hundreds as well as Dave's beloved lions. Our only regret on the game front was missing the Aardwolf but we did see a spitting cobra which was a nice treat (honestly!)

The camp itself is very new and we found it hard to find much to fault. Spacious rooms, hot water bottles and good en-suite facilities. It didn't matter much to us (as we didn't try to start too early) but maybe it would be worth considering bringing tea or coffee to the rooms in the mornings at wake up call. And though I loved the long morning drives (much longer than in most other camps we have stayed at), I did miss the full safari breakfast although we had that (and enjoyed it) on our last morning.

Julian and Ashley were also great and one of the things I really appreciated at the camp was their flexibility and willingness to work around our slightly different schedule, given mum's slow starts in the morning (and my own!).

I would certainly return again. I suspect that later in the season it will be difficult to walk to and from the rooms (even with an escort) given the number of elephants in the area but I never felt anything but well looked after with the safety protocols in camp so am sure that Dave and the team will have a plan in place if one becomes necessary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

Great Trip

Zambia between 15 Aug 2011 and 27 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"we were in the bush for 12 days and wondered whether this was too long. It wasn't!

The combination of bush walking (Zebra Plains), vehicle based (Tafika) and water based (Old Mondoro worked really well and we saw some great game. It did seem that some of the game denisty had dropped since our last visit to Zambia in 2003 but we were glad to be back.

As usual Maruska was a star; patient and helpful in knitting together a perfect trip at short (4 weeks) notice.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

none"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Zebra Plains, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Great walking camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2011
"We really enjoyed our stay. Garth and Malemia were excellent guides as well as great hosts and although the camp was very new, it seemed very polished. Overall staffing was great; lots of charm.

The food was excellent; some of the best we've had anywhere. The wine glasses were some of the nicest and most delicate I've come across (although I doubt they'll last for long!). I know that's an odd thing to comment on but it was very typical of the attention to detail in the camp.

Tents were basic (bucket showers, solar lights, simpl flush toilets) but more than good enough and remarkably so given the location. The common areas were great too and the location by the river was lovely.

And the game was very good; elephants, buffalo, lions and so on. More than we had expected to see in a walking camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Lovely owner run camp"

4 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2011
"We had first visited Tafika back in 2003 and having been back again, I wondered why it took us so long to return.

This remains one of my favourite camps; charming, well run with great personal service led by John and Carol who were excellent hosts. Guiding (Brian and Greg for us) was excellent and the fact that we had the same guides as we had in 2003 speaks volumes for the loyalty this camp generates.

It's also nice to mix the guides up a bit and hand the tip to Carol for everyone rather than person by person. As to game, we saw some lovely leopard, serval and lion as well as some huge herds of buffalo and all the “usual” stuff.

The rooms were very spacious and comfy with hot water on tap and the food (thanks to Rhona) was good too. And the microlighting was a lot of fun too!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Great Camp in Lower Zambezi"

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2011
"We had a great time at Old Mondoro. Jason and Michaela were excellent and relaxed host, happy to chat and share a joke with us. The food was very good including a lovely bush brunch and it was great to spend some time on the water after 8 days in South Luangwa. And we caught (and released) some Tiger Fish which was fun. Lovely to be on the water

We saw great game here; lots of leopards again as well as some great birds and really nice smaller game such as civets, genets, honey badger, porcupines (everywhere) and bush pigs. We were disappointed to miss the aardvark that had been spotted a couple of weeks prior to our visit but that's a good reason to return.

Rooms were great; a nice balance of bush and comfort. A balance between Zebra Plains and Tafika in fact which worked nicely. We also had some big elephants in the camp which was interesting albeit made for some logistic challenges getting to and from the rooms. This was ably sorted by Jason and the guides with a shuttle service to the room when necessary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

We loved it

Zimbabwe between 28 Jun 2010 and 9 Jul 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing trip; we've been to Southern Africa many times before and this was one of the best trips we've made.

We took in some football and then fled the vuvuzelas (which we actually quite liked) for Botswana and Zimbabwe. Maruska was outstanding and as usual Chris knew his stuff!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

"Lacklustre experience at Ruckomechi"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2010
"In an nice setting on riverbank with great views across to Zambia. The game was OK although lots of water meant that parts of the concession were shut off (not the camp's fault of course). But we saw the usual stuff and some nice eland herds. Lion a couple of times at night.

Overall though we were very disappointed with the camp which had an odd, tense atmosphere. It felt poorly run versus other Wilderness camps we have stayed in and not a patch on Somalisa down at Hwange. Lots of niggly stuff and the guides / camp were very inflexible in the way they treated and interacted with guests.

In summary by no means terrible but much better places to go in Zimbabwe in our experience."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Lloyd Wilmot's Mobile Camp, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"A great personalised Savuti experience"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2010
"Great experience with Lloyd; would love to do it again.

Savuti was looking great with water all the way down through the channel and into the marsh. Some wonderful game (wild dog, leopard, large herds of (big) elephants as well as some more esoteric animals like honey badgers).

Lloyd knows the area like the back of his hand and we felt privileged to be able to have him as our guide. We would certainly recommend a trip with him but not for the novice visitor. Mobile safari is quite full-on and can be hard work. It's something to do when you're looking for something more authenitc (but rather less comfortable) than staying in a camp. But I wouldn't suggest it for a first time trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Go to Somalisa; great little camp"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2010
"Lovely intimate camp in Hwange. Lots of elephants in camp as well as a cute pack of dwarf mongoose.

The staff were a highlight and gave the camp a considerable measure of charm. Attentive but not over-bearing, flexible and entertaining. Dudley was an excellent guide and Henrietta a charming hostess. We would certainly recomend the camp to anyone looking for a really nice place to stay in this part of Zimbabwe.

Really good food and plenty of game although a paucity of big cats. But some lovely elephants (drinking in the swimming pool) as well as some unusual sightings such as bat eared foxes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great Visit

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 4 Jul 2008 and 20 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa live up to their name :)"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Convenient for Wilson Airport"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2008
""
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

"Great Little Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2008
"Nice to get away from the heavily trafficked northern part of the park. Really nice rooms and generally a much better camp than I had been expecting.

Lots of tree climbing lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"Excellent Location and views"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2008
"Somewhat rococo but we expected that. Felt most like a hotel of all the lodges we visited but proably inevitable in Ngorongoro.

We hired private vehicles which made a big diference to our visit and stayed on the crater floor all day. Mudy (Mohammend) was a really good guide (please do feed that back if you get the chance). Gets pretty cold at night.

The visit to Odupai Gorge was really good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

"Grumeti River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Underwhelmed at first and disappointed to miss the migration but the camp grew on us and the staff were really good.

Saw some great snakes (Mamba, Spitting Cobras) and Colobus Monkeys which was cool. Loads of Tetse Flies though, especially by the river

On the first night they did a "surprise" gathering in the bush with all the guests which was ghastly and just reinforced that we were staying at a full camp. It was much (much) nicer when we just did sundowners on our own (ie just our vehicle). Side trip to Lake Victoria was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

"Simply Outstanding"

5 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Couldn't be better; we had very high expectations of the camp and it still exceeded them resoundingly.

Mike and Sarah were great hosts. Staff were always one step ahead with anything you wanted. Good diving though sometimes poor visibility and we were unlucky with the weather."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Best Hotel in Stonestown"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Really nice hotel; lovely room with big balcony and hammock. Good air-conditioning and nice roof-top restauant.

Stonestown wasn't a great place though."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team