This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chongwe River House
Chongwe River House
Chongwe River House
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House


15°42’29.3"S 29°20’14.9"E

Reviews of Chongwe River House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chongwe River House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I
London

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"From collection at the airport to our (sad) departure, we had the most incredible experience at Change River Camp.

A 20 minute drive from the airport until we arrived at the Camp, but what a sight when we got there. The most beautifully designed house which optimises the viewing of the river and the animals that are seen roaming very nearby. We had elephants on our doorstep, baboons nearby, impala grazing and hippopotamus snoozing.

The house is full of the comforts you would expect, and the hosts (Nicky and Alan) led a team that were professional, friendly and always willing to help. Food was exceptional and they looked after our parties dietary requirements with ease.

Whether on land or on water, the safari adventures were wonderful and Alan is so enthusiastic to find animals in the bush that it is contagious. I would have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever to return." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
London

"Chongwe River House review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Chongwe River House review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Chongwe House was a fabulous facility and its location is just out of this world. The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodated all our needs.

There would be a couple of suggestions we would offer as thoughts for improvement - leather drapes instead of doors don't really offer much privacy and for large groups like we had more staff are required at meal times so that the food (which is of a very high standard) reaches the table at its best (the distance from kitchen to table isn't short so at dinner it sometimes wasn't hot when arriving).

These are minor suggestions and in no way impacted the enjoyment and memorability of our stay. The combination of river safari and driving safari was just amazing and the experience of paddling for sun-downers in the middle of The Zambezi will remain with us for the rest of our days." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
London

"Dramatic private house overlooking river"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Architecturally striking house, at the side of the Chongwe River. We stayed as part of a group (the house has four rooms).

Overall this was an excellent and very comfortable stay although the open plan nature of the house meant that the rooms lacked privacy and there was quite a lot of noise in the morning as people congregated downstairs.

Probably the nicest thing was the proximity to the river which allowed us to take a boat deep into the park and be met by a vehicle and driven slowly back. This was especially helpful since the game in the vicinity of the gate was pretty lacklustre compared to what could be seen deeper in the park. The team also put on an awesome lunch by the Zambezi as well as a fun sundowner on a sandbank in the river." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Multiple Activities at Chongwe River House"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2015
"Chongwe River House is an outrageous, luxurious four bedroom house on the edge of Lower Zambezi National Park that provides an array of great activities: game drives, walks, canoeing, boating, tiger fishing, four wheel driving or simply lounging about the house keeping an eye on the elephants, hippos, kudus, water bucks, warthogs and monkeys in the back and front yards.

As with our other guides in Zambia, Moses led us in four days of great wildlife and bird viewing with the highlight being a walk that encountered a small pack of African Wild Dogs on a chase." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
B x 6
Seattle

"Chongwe River House review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"The overall experience here was excellent. The originality of the architecture was striking - and stretched ones views on what is possible.

The seamless way this team functioned and the obvious competence of everyone we interacted with just added to our experience. Brenden, who was preparing to leave for a paternity break, exudes confidence and experience and was delightful company. Mario, our guide, introduced us to tiger fishing and to canoeing on the Zambezi.

Special mention needs to be made of the chef, Mario's brother, and of Francis, who took great care of us.

After two plus weeks of game drives time spent on the water was a welcome change. It was good scheduling to do this at the end - not the start - of our trip" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The W family
Luton

"Great service at Chongwe River House"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"Fascinating accommodation at Chongwe River House in an excellent location on the river. Great attention to detail and first class service.

Canoeing and fishing on the Zambezi offer an active alternative to game drives." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"The Awesome Chongwe River House"

7 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"Chongwe River House can't be pigeon-holed - it's a totally unique property. Each bedroom is the same size, all with an excellent private outside seating area. The only difference was that the two rooms downstairs had bath tubs outside whereas the two upstairs had the baths in the rooms.

There was a good sized glass topped table in the living room along with a table and chairs on the deck by the pool for eating. The seating area in the living room was not the most comfortable for lounging but ok for flicking through one of the many books or writing up a diary. This was probably the only downside we had with the house.

Our hosts were Garth and Lindsey, who, sadly have now left. Lindsey created some innovative menus - even the porridge was served with whisky cream. An unusual start for 6.00am!!

It had rained twice by the time we arrived in the second week of November so game was perhaps a little harder to spot but Garth pulled out all the stops and despite the Lower Zambezi not having the variety of game as, say, the South Luangua, we weren't disappointed.

One of the biggest +s for us was the variation of activities at Chongwe River House. We were a party of five and, inevitably, some people were more comfortable doing one thing than another. One day, the five of us split into three groups, so my son and I went fishing on the Zambezi for tiger fish, my husband went for a canoe trip and my in-laws did a safari drive. It was all very flexible.

This was our fourth trip to Zambia and by far the best overall. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
100%
8 reviews of Chongwe River House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa