This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Victoria

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

1

Family Trip of a Lifetime

Zimbabwe between 28 Nov 2019 and 11 Dec 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This is the fifth time our family has used ExpertAfrica to suggest, and arrange, safari trips. And the experiences just keep getting better!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Kingdom Hotel

"Mega Hotel in Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2019
"Kingdom Hotel is over 300 rooms in centre of Vic Falls and within easy walking distance of the Falls. Our family group of 14 had two short stays here, before and after our trip to Hwange National Park.

On our first two nights we had rooms that suffered from lengthy periods of no airconditioining (and one room that had had the airconditioner removed!). With temperatures in the high 30s (centigrade) this made sleeping, or even resting, uncomfortable. On our second stay we were in a different wing with full time airconditioning.

The grounds are expansive with three largish swimming pools and lakes and lawns that support their own wildlife - eg mongoose, small crocodiles and birds.

Breakfasts were good, lunches at the pool bar OK, but the smorgasbord dinner was not worth the money."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

"Can It Be Better than Somalisa Acacia?"

6 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2019
"Our group of 14 spent 6 days at Somalisa Acacia in early December. This time of year is supposed to be their "green season" with animal viewing not as good as the peak months. However we experienced our best ever lion encounters (including 1.5 hours with a pride of 5 lionesses, 6 eleven month old and 3 two month old cubs playing in the early morning rain), best ever elephant encounters (drinking from the abandoned camp plunge pool only metres away from where we sat sipping our drinks) and best ever leopard encounter (only one sighting, but up close and personal when he climbed the "elephant fence" around our dining area and tried to join us for our night time brai/bar-b-que!).

Other notable sightings included a cheetah, hyena, painted dogs and sable antelopes as well as the usual giraffes, zebras, buffalos, other antelopes, jackals, baboons, monkeys and birds galore.

The food was also the best we have experienced on safari (but maybe too much of it!).

The guides, our hostess, and other staff, were also top class and made us feel right at home.

Along with this, the accommodation is on the luxurious side."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kingdom Hotel

"Mega Hotel in Great Location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2019
"Kingdom Hotel is over 300 rooms in centre of Vic Falls and within easy walking distance of the Falls. Our family group of 14 had two short stays here, before and after our trip to Hwange National Park.

On our first two nights we had rooms that suffered from lengthy periods of no airconditioining (and one room that had had the airconditioner removed!). With temperatures in the high 30s (centigrade) this made sleeping, or even resting, uncomfortable. On our second stay we were in a different wing with full time airconditioning.

The grounds are expansive with three largish swimming pools and lakes and lawns that support their own wildlife - eg, mongoose, small crocodiles and birds.

Breakfasts were good, lunches at the pool bar OK, but the smorgasbord dinner was not worth the money."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Expert Africa lives up to its name - again

Zambia and 1 other country between 29 May 2015 and 14 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our group of seven ran out of superlatives to describe our days early on in the trip - so we just resorted to repeating them!

Everything ran like clockwork, and I don't think there is a thing that, in retrospect, we would have done differently.

Thank you Expert Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Great water based game/bird viewing"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2015
"Excellent houseboat accommodation with very good meals. This was a return trip and the bird and game viewing exceeded our 2013 trip - including three separate lion viewings with one pride feasting on a buffalo kill.

Multiple tender boats allowed the group to undertake different activities at the same time, although the fishing trips provided better bird viewing results than tiger fish!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Location, location in comfort."

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2015
"A very comfortable reasonably priced hotel right beside Vic Falls - with Falls access included in the room charges. What more needs be said?

Whilst in Livingstone, these travellers enjoyed a scenic helicopter flight over Victoria Falls and the Batoka Gorge. Here's what they said about it:
15 minutes circling Vic Falls was topped by riding the rapids in the gorges below the Falls at less than two metres above water level!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

"Exceptional Luangwa Safari House"

5 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2015
"Luangwa Safari House is luxurious, spacious four bedroom house with excellent game and bird viewing and great meals.

From our bedrooms we were treated to visiting elephants, buffalo, impala, puku, hippopotamus, giraffe, mongoose, warthogs, baboons and monkeys. On our drives and walks with our excellent guide Jacob, we came across all of these plus multiple leopards, a lion pride and many other animals. And we lost count of the birds.

And as Jacob kept telling us, the landscapes were highights in themselves.

We also spent half a day visiting a village supported by the local tourist industry - an eye opener to the life of the locals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Helicopter Flight - Zambia

Helicopter Flight - Zambia

"Adrenalin rush over Vic Falls"

2 Jun 2015 • Morning excursion

15 minutes circling Vic Falls was topped by riding the rapids in the gorges below the Falls at less than two metres above water level!
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Terrific tented Tena Tena"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"Our short time at Tena Tena provided a slightly more remote and rustic experience of South Luangwa National Park than the Luangwa Safari House.

The tented accommodation was top class and the food excellent, whilst the guiding by Nyambe could not be faulted with his informative walks particularly enjoyable.

The wild life and bird viewing was superb. Lions and hippos wandered through the camp whilst we were there, and we had multiple leopard sightings out on drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

"Multiple Activities at Chongwe River House"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2015
"Chongwe River House is an outrageous, luxurious four bedroom house on the edge of Lower Zambezi National Park that provides an array of great activities: game drives, walks, canoeing, boating, tiger fishing, four wheel driving or simply lounging about the house keeping an eye on the elephants, hippos, kudus, water bucks, warthogs and monkeys in the back and front yards.

As with our other guides in Zambia, Moses led us in four days of great wildlife and bird viewing with the highlight being a walk that encountered a small pack of African Wild Dogs on a chase."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My May 2013 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 26 May 2013 and 12 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"From Victoria Falls onwards our holiday was one highlight after another. And everything ran like clockwork with friendly, professional people always there to help and guide us.

Thank you ExpertAfrica"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Very comfortable lodge in great position."

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2013
"Nice rooms and surrounds in the middle of town and within walking distance of the falls.
Good and cheap food and wines.

Only criticism was inability to accept Mastercard payments"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Great water based time on Ichobezi Houseboat"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Four spacious well equipped cabins, large dining/lounging/viewing area, up to four tender boats for close up viewing and fishing. And a professional attentive crew of five to cater for all needs.

The food, prepared on board by a dedicated chef, was quality restaurant standard.

Although late May is not supposed to be the prime time for game viewing we had no lack of animals or birds to keep us constantly entranced. We even managed to catch a few tiger fish."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Elephants plus at Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"A very comfortable camp with very good game viewing from comfortable vehicles. Plenty of elephants, hippos, zebras, giraffes, warthogs, impala, kudu and other herbivores. Wonderful sightings of a pack of nine wild dogs plus a leopard and lion!

Only criticism is that our "tent' did become quite hot at afternoon siesta time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Great Safari at Little Kwara"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2013
"One highlight after another over our 4 night stay at Little Kwara.

Multiple lion sightings, the cheetah coalition, wild dogs plus all the other expected animals. The thrill of serious tracking to find them. The dedicated and informative guides and trackers.

Plus double decker boat trip into the middle of the Okavango and a mokoro trip around the local lagoon.

Then there was the bull elephant that had made the camp area his territory and tried to join us for the occasional dinner and breakfast. Plus the time he was photographed checking out one of our party through the gaps in the bamboo "fence" of the outdoor shower!

Spacious and comfortable "tents" and common areas, good food and professional and friendly staff.

We intend to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Overnight in Johannesburg

"Overnight in Johannesburg"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2013
"We organised this overnight stay at Protea OR Tambo hotel ourselves.

Hotel was good, with good, cheap food and wine, but stay was marred by being hassled by airport porters on way to shuttle bus stop, too long a wait (well over half an hour) for our hotel shuttle bus then arguments as later arriving hotel guests tried to squeeze onto the bus which was nowhere large enough for all waiting guests."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"Nowhere near luxurious but good value for money in a great location for early morning gorilla trecking.

Power was only on for part of the day and the rooms got cold despite efforts to heat them with a wood fire - but this is what we told to expect.

Food was good, service great and wine reasonably expensive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel luxury"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Luxurious hotel in centre of Kigali. Pity we only had 10 hours there (check in 5 pm, check out 3:30 am!)

Very good food, wine expensive compared to elsewhere we travelled in Africa."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team