This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

109 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

100% success

Buffalo

27% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 109
Duration
Arrival date
N&J
West Sussex

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"Three of our group stayed her - having dinner at Sabyinyo Silverback.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and lunch buffets were good. There was a long walk from the main lodge to the rooms." See all these reviews: 21n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Laura
Vienna

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2022
"The room was lovely, with a fire every day and hot water bottle heaters each evening. The staff took great care in cleaning shoes and socks at the end of the treks. There was a minor problem with the water from one of the sinks, but it didn't interfere with our enjoyment of the place - and the shower was great. Food - excellent and plentiful!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

Ms
Redondo Beach

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2022
"The staff was exceptional.

The rooms are rather run down. It was very cold and the rooms did not have heat. The showers are dated and toiletries limited. I am vegetarian and was told by Jessica this would be accommodated. The buffet had limited options which where the same throughout my stay. If the weather was warmer I do believe the experience my have been different." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

Multiple sightings

Honeymooners
Malta

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2022
"Out of all the hotels Expert Africa booked for us, we feel like this one fell short of meeting up with our standards. Although staff were very friendly and willing to help, we couldn't look past the poor WiFi (only available in lounge), occasional but all too common power-cuts and an oversized bathroom which had an open shower (it was very difficult to warm up in the cooler altitudes of the Volcanos National Park).

The furnishings were outdated and the windows did not shut entirely making the room very cold at night and easy for nature to creep its way inside...

Staff do assist with this issue by including wood for a fireplace and turn down service which includes a hot water bottle between the sheets. The room was also equipped with an electric heater which we also used.

We would like to commend this hotel on their daily 5pm tribal show performed by the students of a nearby school and also their fantastic food (especially the soup).

We were also pleased that the hotel was well-stocked with equipment for our Golden Monkey and Gorilla treks. They also very promptly assisted with washing all of our gear from any mud as we entered the hotel gate after a trek." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2022
"Security seemed lacking. There was nothing to stop locals from entering the grounds. We were in the last chalet before the village path to the back of the site and were asked for money by individuals passing by.

The chalet was large and had probably been very pleasant at some point but was tired and run down. Having the fire lit in the afternoon became a highlight although in reality, although cheerful, it gave off little heat and the electric heater was also ineffective.

The staff were a mixed bunch who seemed to lack training. One or two were very helpful whilst the remainder seemed only interested in trying to make money or play on their mobile phones.

The food was unappetising. Every meal was a lukewarm buffet. One night the buffet was supplemented by a barbecue. The barbecue was set up in the dining room and the smoke was so intense it was impossible to see the end of the room." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

T&M
Queensland

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2022
"If the focus is seeing the gorillas it's a good solution. I have stayed here twice, the last time was 6 years ago.

Nothing much has changed since then. The chalets are very large and the staff work hard to keep them looking good. It is very reasonable as a launch point to get to the park each day.

The fireplace in the chalet is really cosy, and the water always hot. Food is basic and buffet style. You can hire gators and gloves for the trek. Check credit card facilities with Expert Africa as Reception told us we could we pay with a credit card but on check out they said it wasn't possible." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2022
"We had a great time at Mountain Gorilla View lodge. We felt safe! The freestanding cottages were outstanding.

We loved the wood burning fireplace that they lit every night. Loved the hot water bottles placed in our bed every night.

The staff and could not do enough for us. The chef did a great job. The food was excellent. Its a great location. Just a short walk to the Dian Fossey Museum. Highly recommend visiting the Museum.

The local people performed dance and song every night. They were so good. We danced with them. Amazing to see." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2021
"The Mountain Gorilla View Lodge served as our base for gorilla and golden monkey trekking. The drive from Kigali to the lodge was beautiful with all the hills, people, and livestock along the way. The lodge itself was rustic and comfortable. Rooms were large and had a fireplace that the staff would help start every evening. It was cold at night and into the early morning in mid-October but in addition to the fireplace, a small space heater and hot water bottles to heat up the bed were provided to keep us warm. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit eerie and could be improved. Our room ran out of hot water the first night but that was likely due to my wife taking a long hot shower :)

Dinners were served buffet-style and would always be a soup (which was fantastic, especially as the weather was cold), a grain, a meat, vegetables and dessert. Chef Alfred would also be manning a table where he would cook up some stir-fry on the spot. Food overall was average and nothing to write home about. Towards the end of each night, Alfred would entertain us by singing some African songs which was a great way to end the meal. For lunch, a good array of options were provided for us to order from and we felt that the non-buffet style was slightly more to our liking.

Every evening, a local dance troupe comes by for some pre-dinner entertainment and we got to experience it our second night. It got our group dancing a bit and we all had a good time.

For gorilla trekking, the lodge rents out gloves and gaiters. The gaiters ($5/day) are a must for trekking and it'll protect your clothes and shoes from the mud and prevents safari ants from getting into your clothes. We didn't rent gloves and were OK without them. When we got back from trekking, the staff provide complimentary boot cleaning and they do a phenomenal job. Our muddy boots would always come back looking like new--we don't know how they do it! Complimentary foot massages are also provided if you want them upon returning from trekking.

There is a small gift shop at the lodge but prices are somewhat higher than outside the lodge--a premium for extra convenience I suppose. Wi-Fi, albeit not the fastest and a bit spotty, is available in the main lodge. All of the staff was very kind and service was good. One thing we noticed was that the staff did not wear masks here though. Our group wasn't bothered by this but others may be. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge and would happily stay here again." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

Mr W.
Brussels

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"Had this nice end-of-the-world feeling, with a menacing view of a mean morning mountain from our bungalow that we could look at satisfyingly in the evening after a successful ascent.

Lit fireplace in the bungalows and hot water bottled between the sheets!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

7 sightings

Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Great location and very friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2020
"Great location with superb views.
The lodge needs refurbishments here and there. Nice, huge room. Very friendly, great service by the staff.
Food just ok; no ice for mixed drinks :(. It gets quite cold - in the mornings and evenings. A joy having the fireplace in the room." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 109
87%
109 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
45
11
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


97% (29 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (11 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorilla's Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (5 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa