This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Dr P
Netherlands

"Great location and very friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2020
"Great location with superb views.
The lodge needs refurbishments here and there. Nice, huge room. Very friendly, great service by the staff.
Food just ok; no ice for mixed drinks :(. It gets quite cold - in the mornings and evenings. A joy having the fireplace in the room. " See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Ms. K
Laramie

"Luxury stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge was fantastic. Reading previous reviews on other websites Gorilla View was rated as "simple," however, I would say that this was a luxury lodge and WONDERFUL! If anyone is in the area they should absolutely stay here. You get a luxury stay for half the price of other places! The lodge was also only 10 minutes from the starting point for both the golden monkey and the mountain gorilla meeting area.

Every night employees would walk you back to your lodge to ensure you arrived safely. They would also set a fire for you every night, and on top of that, each night a hot water bottle was in the bed to keep you warm! The lodge was set back into the trees and had a very secluded, authentic feel. The communal area with wifi and a fire was great for meeting other travelers and was very cozy.

Great stay at a great place!" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

Rusty Hudak
Stow

"Mountain Gorilla Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"The staff was great and food was very good. The rooms were nice and plenty big. The only downside was the shower did not work well in our unit.

The nightly entertainment was very enjoyable" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
ERinSTL
Saint Louis

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"Rooms are in separate cabins, some a fairly long walk from the central lodge. The rooms are quite spacious, with a separate sitting area next to a fireplace. The fireplace was the only source of heat, and the room was quite chilly by morning, when the fire had burned down hours earlier. The comforter was enough to keep us warm as we slept, however.

Electrical outlets are 220V, but have a universal configuration that accepts US two- and three-prong plugs. If you have voltage-compensating electronics, you can use them without an adapter.

All meals are offered as buffets. There is typically a very wide choice, and I never had a problem finding something to like. Quality is average: neither praise- nor complaint-worthy. Adjacent the dining area is another fireplace, surrounded with chairs, which is a nice pre-dinner gathering place for guests to share stories – and a beverage – from their days’ experiences.

Strongly suggest to your clients that they bring their own gaiters and gloves for monkey and gorilla treks. The gators in particular are almost a necessity, and the lodge “rents” pairs for US$5 each per day. We took gloves with us on our gorilla trek, but found them unnecessary.

One extreme negative that should be addressed by the lodge, but almost certainly will not be: I thought the shower was a death trap. It is apparently formed of poured concrete and painted with a shiny enamel paint. The slope to the drain is steep and the surfaces extremely slippery when wet (which is all the time during a shower). I fell immediately upon setting foot into the shower area. The area is bordered by a line of fist-size rocks set into the concrete. If I had landed on one of those, I fully expect that I would have been severely injured. As it was, I only experienced a moderately painful contusion on my forearm. I count myself very lucky." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Wimbledon

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"This is the second time I have stayed at the Lodge. IT provides good accommodation and service.

It has been expanded and now only provides buffet style meals. The choice and quality are pretty good.

The proximity to trekking points for gorilla viewing is very good." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"The setting of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge was perfect, and the staff and rooms were excellent.

The foot massage and boot cleaning after the gorilla trek were particularly nice touches." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

Mr P.
Chilterns

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Very good, but too many very loud Americans." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"Great stay at Mountain Gorilla Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge.

Great location, beautiful grounds and friendly staff. " See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

C Plowdog
Sydney

" Mountain Gorilla View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"We really enjoyed the Mountain Gorilla Lodge. The rooms were spacious, food terrific by Alfred the Head Chef and his team, it was very close to the the locations from which you walk to see the Gorillas and it was nice to have an open fire in the room in the evening.

The day we left it was raining very heavily (lucky we'd been trekking the 2 days prior) and there was some leakage into our bathroom. " See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

BJ
Minnesota

"Perfect location near town and great rooms."

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2018
"Perfect location near town and great rooms." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa