This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge
Virunga Lodge

Reviews of Virunga Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Virunga Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Virunga Lodge.
Mountain Gorilla

100% success

Buffalo

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Illinois

"Wondeful stay at Virunga Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"A friend and I stayed at Virunga Lodge in 2008 and were the only guests there at the time (off season), which was also before the major renovations that were made in 2010 (e.g. the en suite bathrooms were "rustic" in that they had no running water or flushing toilets in 2008 but they do now, and all on solar power). The dining area, which was also not there in 2008, is a great addition and makes socializing with other guests at dinner a nice treat. Because I found it such a wonderful place on my first visit, I chose to stay here again for second trip to see the incredible Mountain Gorillas, and I was not disappointed! Well done to the owners and staff at Virunga Lodge!" See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs K
Dubai

"WOW - breathtaking!!!"

1 night Arrived 9 Dec 2016
"We have to say that the Virunga Lodge exceeded all expectations. The drive to the lodge itself was phenomenal. We had a beautiful banda (Bunyonyi) overlooking part of the lakes and the volcanoes – a breathless view!

Arranging the proposal surprise was seamless – thank you for providing David’s (Lodge Manager) email address – I connected with David and he re-assured me that they would make it a memorable event, a private dinner on the terrace of our banda – it was amazing! Kirsten and I both work in the hospitality industry and we were amazed by the team’s positive attitude, level of helpfulness and professionalism. We also managed to have a village walk, our guide Emmanuel was very helpful and insightful – a pleasure to walk with! Grison as well (Ast. Lodge Manager) who organized the logistics of the proposal surprise was very helpful (we managed to have a discreet conversation without Kirsten around to discuss and plan how we were going to get her down to the banda from the bar – an excuse to do with housekeeping did the trick!) and professional – hats off to the whole team at the Virunga Lodge for making our stay one of the best stays we have ever had and one that we will cherish for the rest of our lives! The lodge should definitely look into the viability of developing a gym and a pool - an infiniti pool would perhaps round-off a very impressive lodge :-)" See all these reviews: 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr Y & Mr T
San Fran

"Hilltop Sanctuary"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Our Expert Africa consultant advised that there are two high end lodges for luxury-minded gorilla trekkers: Sabyinyo and Virunga. We opted for the latter because we understand that staying at Sabyinyo required an arduous uphill walk from the carpark to the lodge.

However, Virunga is located at the top of a hill about an hour's drive to the Volcanoes Park headquarters, whilst Sabyinyo is just 20 minutes away. The longer drive did not bother us because it enabled us to have more time enjoying the lovely mountainous scenery and teeming village life en route. Do note that the last ten minutes of the drive to Virunga are bone-jarring!

Our banda at Virunga was spacious and, though it lacked internet access (which is available only in the lodge's very comfortable main lounge), it afforded all modern amenities. A recent renovation has upgraded the lodge's electrical system, and now powerpoints for charging batteries are now available ensuite.

Service by lodge personnel was accommodating and gracious, and the boot cleaning service it offered was world-class. (Our mud-caked boots post-trek were cleaned so thoroughly that they looked brand new when they were delivered to our banda!)

We were a bit disappointed with the meals . . . breakfasts were fine, but the mains offered at lunch and dinner were ordinary and not well-seasoned. Virunga does have an excellent baking staff because all the cakes and cookies offered at tea time were scrumptious." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Harrogate

"Spectacular location"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"Spectacular location, excellent and obliging staff, good food.

Quite a drive each morning to get to the Park HQ so may consider staying at a Lodge closer to the entrance should I return." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs A
Boca Raton

"Spectacular Views!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"The lodge a little run down.. I think in need of a renovation... and should have an electrical outlet in the room.. not of abig fan of electricicty going out at night...(eco-lodge)" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Florida

"Fabulous location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Nice, private location.

Rooms could use charging facilities for electronic devices" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Virunga Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"Great place!

Loved the long dining table where all the guest could share their travel experiences." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Boston

"Beautiful lodge, stunning location"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2010
"Virunga Lodge was amazing. The views are unreal, and there are flowers everywhere you turn. The lodge personnel were all very warm and welcoming. I don't think the photos on the EA website had been updated for the remodeling when I chose this lodge, and it turned out to be even nicer than I expected.

The bed was very comfortable with really nice linens. The bathroom had two sinks, a flush toilet, and a regular (non-bucket) shower. There was also 24 hour electricity in the rooms, and cool motion detector lights in the bathroom that were very handy if you needed to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. While it is a longer drive to the park headquarters than other lodges, I wouldn't let that discourage anyone from choosing this lodge, since the drive is so pretty and seems to go by very quickly anyway.

Patrick from Primate Safaris was a wonderful guide. I was traveling by myself and it felt almost like I had an older brother looking out for me. Patrick is very knowledgeable about the history and economy of Rwanda, and we had many very interesting discussions about public policy and economic development. I had read quite a few books about Rwanda before I visited, and my conversations with Patrick helped me connect a lot of dots and place everything I had learned in context - definitely a highlight of the trip. I would highly recommend Patrick as a guide." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Virunga Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2009
"I have been to heaven and it is Virunga Lodge.
We absolutely adored this place it was complete food for our souls. The setting is fantastic and I shed a tear when we left.

It is of course not 5 star in the generally accepted sense and if visitors are after marble and deep divans etc this would not be the place for them. However, for us it was perfection, the staff are fantastic and the overall ambience superb. We loved sitting round the fire in the lounge discussing our stories with fellow guests and then dining with them iaround the large table.

This is the place I will dream about when I can't get to sleep at nights!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Virunga Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"Magical setting with 360 degree views overlooking lakes and volcaneos. Particularly impressed with ecological credentials - the solar toilets are ingenious. Staff couldn't be faulted and made our stay memorable.

Tribal dancing was uplifting & fun - not at all "cheesey" as we're experienced elsewhere. The kids looked like they really enjoyed it too!

The gorilla treks were everything we had hoped for. The organistion at park HQ was slick, the guides were first class (knowlegable, informative and aware of comfort / safety / needs of guests). We left with great pictures and even more wonderful memories!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
98%
11 reviews of Virunga Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is situated on the slopes of Mount Sabyinyo, a 15-minute drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


88% (102 reviews)
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa