This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge


1°24’58.9"S 29°34’13.1"E

Reviews of Sabyinyo Silverback

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sabyinyo Silverback and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sabyinyo Silverback.
Mountain Gorilla

100% success

Buffalo

33% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Lola
Canada

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2023
"Beautiful lodge, great service and very friendly and accommodating staff. Be prepared for stairs though!

Staff and management went out of their way to make sure my needs were met and I enjoyed my stay. I loved having a fire in my room when I returned in the afternoon. Also great having a soaking tub after a tough hike.

The main lodge has lots of different areas to hang out and enjoy the surroundings. You can always find a quiet nook for yourself. My hiking boots never looked better than when they whisked them away and cleaned them after my trek." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"Excellent lodge. Great service and very good food.

Very flexible service, adapting to the different times that people arrived or returned from treks. The cleaning of the hiking boots was amazing!

Super rooms and the open fire was a delight." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Mrs A.
S. Carolina

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"Everything about Sabyinyo was fabulous - staff, food, accommodations.

Would love to stay there again." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

N&J
West Sussex

"A delightful place to stay "

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"This was a delightful place to stay - again further bolstered by the enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff - especially Patrick who looked after the 5 of us impeccably.

3 of our group stayed elsewhere and joined us for dinner in the evening - which worked extremely well, with Sabyinyo Silverback being welcoming and thoughtful over what was clearly an unusual request.

Our room was quite stunning and a great base following early morning starts and arduous hiking . The quality of service, which stretched to providing gaitors (and backpacks, gloves, raincoats and boots if needed), snacks for hiking, laundry and boot cleaning - along with evening fires in our room and hot water bottles was exemplary.

It was misty for much of our stay, but when the mist lifted the views were beautiful and the birdlife was abundant.

The standard of food was very high as was the cocktail making!

If you are travelling as a small group or a couple it does seem you have to accept the presence of a large tour group most evenings in the bar and restaurant areas." See all these reviews: 21n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

Multiple sightings

Liz C
Sussex

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2022
"Felice our butler??? was so wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed.

The lodge is beautiful - the staff were so welcoming. F

ood was so good. They made us wonderful packed lunches for our treks - everything was thought about and taken care of." See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

Multiple sightings

Mr/Mrs E
Wisconsin US

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2022
"Extremely attentive staff! Birdwatching walk with staff member on the grounds was lovely. Fairly good vegan options available, and the staff was very mindful and aware of dietary restrictions in our group. The standalone cottages were cosy and well-appointed, and the setting is gorgeous. We appreciated the fireplaces (fires started by staff).

A small drawback was a hard-sell from the manager regarding tips and community support (suggesting quadruple the levels recommended by Expert Africa!?), when we felt we'd been doing our part to support the community by selecting this lodge. The staff were very knowledgable about what was needed to make the treks happen (lunches, gaiters, gloves, backpacks)!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

DeGoler Clan
CA, USA

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2021
"A beautiful property with fantastic rooms with amazing views and all the amenities.

The pictures do not do it justice at all. It is 5 stars through and through.

The food was incredible and the service was fantastic." See all these reviews: 5n in Seychelles; 3n in Rwanda; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Jarek
Poland

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2021
"Amazing place ! Rachel, the manager - fantastic woman !!!

There is huge gap compare to others ... so please don't replace her by anyone else during the stay of one group of people" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Absolutely stunning"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"Of all the safari lodges we stayed at various destinations, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge was one of the best.

The views are stunning, the lodge is beautifully decorated, the food was delicious and the service was absolutely excellent. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in front of the fireplace in our room after a long trek.

We were very sad to leave this lodge towards the end of our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"sabyinyo silverback lodge"

5 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Fantastic service and a really relaxing place to stay. The community walk was a wonderful bonus - well worth doing and for anyone interested in birds so too was the bird walk" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 29
97%
29 reviews of Sabyinyo Silverback by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View

With superb views of the volcanoes, the relaxed Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on the slopes of Mount Sabyinyo is well-placed for gorilla trekking.


87% (110 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


95% (12 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorilla's Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (5 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


100% (1 review)
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


100% (1 review)
Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa