This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge


1°24’58.9"S 29°34’13.1"E

Reviews of Sabyinyo Silverback

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sabyinyo Silverback and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sabyinyo Silverback.
Mountain Gorilla

100% success

Buffalo

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L.
London

"Absolutely stunning"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"Of all the safari lodges we stayed at various destinations, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge was one of the best.

The views are stunning, the lodge is beautifully decorated, the food was delicious and the service was absolutely excellent. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in front of the fireplace in our room after a long trek.

We were very sad to leave this lodge towards the end of our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

2 sightings

Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"sabyinyo silverback lodge"

5 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Fantastic service and a really relaxing place to stay. The community walk was a wonderful bonus - well worth doing and for anyone interested in birds so too was the bird walk" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Pleasure time "

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"It was a bit like in the time of the colonies, the charming director was a white kényan and was very helpful. Every evening we had a drink with all the guests shearing our experiences with the gorillas.

The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Jenny
Faversham

"Very beautiful, a perfect spot."

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"I had a suite, which was spacious and comfortable, with great views over to Mount Bisoke. In the evening I could hear the villagers going about their business - children chattering, singing and drums. It was so beautiful in the early evening relaxing after the days exertions, with a glass of wine on my terrace. The food was excellent, and lots of it, with snacks and packed lunches if you weren't back at the lodge for lunch. I liked the personal dining - the group dining experience one often encounters can sometimes be a little tiring! The staff were helpful and charming, without being intrusive. I recommend the massage. Peter looked after me very well. All in all, a most wonderful stay.

While the 198 steps weren't not a problem for me, it's worth mentioning to guests who may not be as fit!

Below - I haven't commented on activities because these were arranged separately to the lodge." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

10 sightings

Dr H
Lancs

"Great Spot"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Beautiful lodge. On arrival, be warned there are 190 steps from the car park up to reception. One of the staff carried by fairly heavy bag on his head all the way up! I gather that they are in the process of building a ramp/series of ramps to improve accessibility.

Friendly personal greeting from Philip and Chrissie who manage the lodge as well as hot towel and a soft drink on arrival.

Lovely accommodation in individual bungalows with your own personal attendant to make bed, change towels take your washing to be done and replenish water [from their own bore hole/spring which is filtered]. comfy beds, electric heaters and a fire can be lit if necessary. Hot water bottles in bed too. Lovely food and good choice. All staff extremely attentive and welcoming

Early start for Gorilla trekking. Be down at reception at 6.00am, they put gaiters on you, give you a snack bag to take for the trek and provide gloves [ for gripping the undergrowth and in case of nettles.] Quick breakfast [cooked or continental] Then off to the Park Centre to be allocated the Gorilla family [ one of ten that are habituated to humans.....they also have another ten families for research only] that you will be visiting. You can specify easy, medium or more difficult treks but as the Gorillas move about from one day to the next there are no real guarantees.

I did 2 treks the first was about 90-120mins but not much elevation and we saw about 20 Gorillas including a three day old baby. The next day it was a shorter trek but much steeper and the landscape and vegetation were different so it was a nice contrast. On that occasion we saw about 16 gorillas who were much more active and were interacting, grooming, playing, climbing trees and eating bark from the trees.

It was all first rate and thoroughly enjoyable and very memorable.

When you arrive back at the lodge, they insist on taking your gaiters and boots off and cleaning the boots for the next day!" See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2018
"Wonderful staff and directors of lodge. Friendly and knowledgeable. Excellent accommodations. Interesting guests. Nice cocktail hour before dinner.

Muddy boot cleaning and laundry was very well appreciated.

Food was well presented but I personally did not find it as much to my liking has some of the other places. I think this is more of a personal perspective than a criticism.

Accommodated vegetarian diet very well." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Providence

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2017
"A perfect environment for the purpose of our visit to Rwanda, the gorilla trekking.

The staff was a pleasure to be with, willing to make suggestions for activities to compliment the trekking.

Would strongly recommend this lodge to other guests.

We arranged a private guide for this trip, and these travellers commented:

Simba was an excellent guide/companion. Logistically, he was on time, fully aware of the mechanics of our trip, well able to direct our daily schedule. He was a pleasure to be with, extremely knowledgeable, fully able/willing to discuss the many questions/concerns that we had with Rwanda.

At our request, Simba helped facilitate our visit to the Genocide Museum, a stop that we thought imperative to the understanding of Rwanda." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"Superb Sabyinyo!"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"We loved our stay at Sabyinyo: the location is stunning, rooms are large and comfortable and food and wine were both excellent. Above all, the service was exceptional in all respects (we especially loved the unexpected treat of having our muddy boots cleaned after each day's trek).

Yes, the stairs up to the main lodge and rooms are a bit of a challenge, especially after an exhilarating morning trekking gorillas - but it's worth the effort.

Can't imagine staying anywhere else." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
London

"Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"An exceptional lodge. The rooms and common areas are lovely, but it's the staff that really make the place special. They do everything possible to look after you and make sure you enjoy your stay -- from fitting your gaiters in the morning, to greeting you with a chilled drink when you return in the afternoon.

Lunches were delicious and we were very impressed with the selection of wines on offer and the bar service. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we were made to feel completely at home.

I would not hesitate to recommend Sabyinyo." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Dallas

"Amazing lodge in the Jungle"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2016
"We loved our unique experience at this lodge. It was the perfect compliment to the incredible gorilla trekking.

The staff (including your own butler) is amazing and they will do anything to make you happy. The only drawback is the steep hike up and down to the parking area and the slipperiness of the stones on the walkway.

Fortunately, the staff assisted and did everything they could to make it easier." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 21
95%
21 reviews of Sabyinyo Silverback by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is situated on the slopes of Mount Sabyinyo, a 15-minute drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


88% (102 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa