This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Ms G
Sarnia

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"It was very cold and damp in our room. It was not until our third night that I realized (based on another guest's experience) that we could request a small electric heater for our room. This was great as we were able to get our bath towels to dry. Even clean bath towels and sheets were always damp prior to obtaining this electric heater.

The food was excellent. We had lots of vegan options which was wonderful.

The staff were all very accommodating. The fact that we could rent gaiters (prior to trekking) was great. Perhaps knowing this prior to the trip would have been helpful as I wasn't sure whether or not to pack our gaiters - which would take up valuable suitcase space.

It was also wonderful that the staff cleaned our hiking boots after our very muddy trek!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Storrington

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"Mountain gorilla view lodge is of medium class .The accommodation choice for us was always secondary to seeing the mountain gorillas.The food was not great .We think a lot of this is down to how the meat is butchered. We really enjoyed the stir frys though ,and the buffet style meals in general.

We would recommend people visiting the nearby lakes on a birdwatching trip." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Fareham

"A sprawling hotel in a fantastic location"

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2017
"A superbly situated hotel in vast grounds. The biggest of all that we stayed in. Lodges were huge and well decorated with a veranda to relax on and indoor seating area. Occasional power cuts which were quickly rectified.

Food was buffet style but a huge choice and all very tasty and freshly cooked. Staff were very polite and attentive.

Lovely coffee bar and a roaring fire in communal areas at night and brilliant wifi.

We loved the boot cleaning service and the after trek foot massage!

Plenty of grounds to relax in and a daily local dance show" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M
Illinois

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"The service and staff were excellent, and while the rooms (bandas/cottages) were nice, they didn't start the fireplace for me when requested (and it was a cool night), and the en suite bathroom floor needed a bit of work (wood planks in front of sink were broken) and the coffee/tea maker provided in the room did not work. As I was staying only one night, I mentioned this to the lodge staff upon checkout.

The meal service is buffet style with plenty of choices and all very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr V
Texas

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"We had read mixed reviews of this lodge, but we were very happy with it. The staff to guest ratio was very high, and they worked hard to provide us with anything we required, cheerfully and promptly. It's close to the headquarters for Volcanoes National Park, the central gathering place for anyone doing a Gorilla or golden monkey trek (about a 20 minute drive).

There are now over 40 cabins, so it's not a small lodge, but having spent 5 nights there, it was nice to bond with other giuests, some of whom we later saw during our subsequent travels in Rwanda (which allowed us to have mini-reunions, of sorts). They are constructing some new units (numbers 40 and above, as I recall), and these are not nearly as charming as the single cabins with fireplaces that comprise the older part of the grounds. I would avoid these.

The chefs worked very hard, the buffets contained a bountiful assortment of foods, and we especially enjoyed the coffee bar, where cappuccinos and lattes could be ordered.

We did have one day where we lost water pressure, but management worked diligently to get things running again. In the evenings, we had a few extremely brief power outages, but nothing that lasted long. The bathrooms aren't luxurious, but they are perfectly functional, and the beds were very comfortable.

All in all, we'd be happy to stay again at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge." See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr L
California

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"The accommodations were much nicer than we expected based on the website description. The rooms were quite large and comfortable with a sitting area and fireplace, and attractively designed and decorated. The grounds were also attractive.

Being close to the start of the trekking is a plus.

A slight downside for us was that the meals were buffets rather than a la carte, but the food was good and there were lots of options, including local options which we very much appreciated experiencing. Being able to order a freshly made omelet at breakfast was also a plus.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the extra touches of a nice fire being built for us in the room and the hot water bottles in the bed. We were also traveling with an elderly friend us who had sprained a knee in a wheelie bag incident in Charles de Gaulle airport, and had some difficultly getting around. So for one night and one breakfast we asked if someone could bring the meal to her room. So one of us worked with a staff member to pick out what we wanted, and they delivered everything for the three of us to her room and came back to pick up later. It was quite lovely!

These travellers trekked up to see the gorillas, and commented:

Fabulous!

We were very fortunate to have the well known and entertaining guide Francoise. He is very knowledgeable about the gorillas having been working with them since Dian Fossy's time. We had a great time with him.

Our group was Kwitonda, a large group of 29, which we saw probably a dozen of including lots of young ones who were very actively playing and generally showing off. It was so amazing to be so close to them and them completely unconcerned. In fact we had to keep backing up to avoid making physical contact.

We reached them fairly easily, which was great since one of our group was elderly and had sustained a sprained knee on the way to Rwanda and had to be carried the entire way in a litter. The porters did a wonderful job getting her up and back while also giving others a hand as needed.

All in all we couldn't have hoped for a better experience." See all these reviews: 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A
California

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2017
"The rooms are not fancy but comfortable.

The lodge is very well positioned for gorilla trekking.

The quality of the food was mixed." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Miss V
W Sussex

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2017
"This was a fantastic location to start 3 days of trekking in the Volcanoes National Park.

However the lodge is large and is somewhat outdated. For our use it was fine, but the service was average and the rooms were not particularly comfortable or clean. We had to ask repeatedly for new towels, for example as we were frequently left without them. The bedsheets and rugs in the rooms were marked through over use and whilst they were 'clean' really needed to be replaced.

Given the newer luxury lodges that are being constructed in the area, we would not suggest that this is more than a 3* property by European standards. The food was fairly good, however with a good choice and freshly cooked each day." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Home in the Mountains"

5 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2017
"The only reason not to give this hotel an excellent rating was the slippery shower, a small detail but my wife slipped and fell. Luckily only her pride was injured, though she was a bit sore the next day. Other than that, the food was wonderful, a mix of local and international fare and the staff was super. We would return here without hesitation.

Whilst at Gorilla Mountain Lodge these guests did a morning trek in search of Golden Monkeys; here's what they said about it:
Easy hike and a good way to aclimate oneself to the altitude. We were pleasantly surprised as to how close the monkeys got.

They also did three Gorilla treks; and here's what they said about those:
For anyone who loves animals and the outdoors, this is a must at least once in your life. We did three treks and it kept getting better each day. Day 1 was the Isabukuru Group, a med level hike of 2.5 hours. After 45 minutes with the Silverback, heavy rain and hail began and we eventually called it quits, though it was still a wonderful experience. Day 2 was the Agashya Group, an easy 1 hour hike in the beautiful sunshine where we were rewarded with great views of the Silverback. Day 3 was the Hirwa Group, another mid level 2 hour hike. This group with its playful youngsters was wonderful beyond words." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Rwanda; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2017
"The position of the lodge and setting was good. The chalet however was not well designed and appointed. The room was large and with a concrete floor was cold even though a fire was lit in the fireplace in the evenings. The bathroom was also large. The shower was in one of the corners but didn't have a cubicle or shower curtain around it and when turned on the water sprayed onto the bathroom floor which strangely was a wooden floor. So there was a part of the floor which was repaired presumably where the floorboards had rotted from the shower water.

Good points about the room were the fireplace and evening fires and a hot water bottle in the bed in the evening.

The main lodge was adequate but not particularly comfortable. The food was good with lots of choice including freshly cooked stir fries in the evening and eggs and omelettes at breakfast. The service throughout the lodge was good." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa