This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Seattle

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

2

Our August 2018 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 19 Aug 2018 and 3 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa was great to work with and Ellie was on top of everything."

Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Perfect way to start our safari"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"After a long journey, this was the perfect overnight stop before beginning our Botswana safari.

Close to the airport, beautiful grounds along the river, friendly and helpful staff, and the private dinner on the pier was an unexpected treat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"A Gem in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"This was the first camp of our Botswana safari, and the best of the three we stayed at in the Delta.

Great staff, great food, outstanding guides, wonderful safari/game viewing experiences and we really enjoyed the boat and mokoro canoe excursions"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Warning: Think wice before booking"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"Nice camp with nice amenities, but Machaba fell far, far short of expectations in the most important area (at least for us), that is the safari/game viewing experiences, for the following reasons:

1. The Machaba jeeps did not have canopies. We were told different stories as to why that is the case, but the bottom line is that management has apparently decided the sun is not hot enough to justify installing the canvas canopies until sometime in September. Management is wrong! It was miserably hot for the last one and one-half hour or so of the morning game drives, and miserably hot for the first one and one-half hour or so of the evening game drives. The sun was so intense that we used umbrellas as a shield. We saw jeeps from at least 9 other safari companies operating in the area, and every single one had canopies. All the pictures we saw of Machaba Camp when we were booking showed jeeps with canopies and we read nothing that indicated the clients would be exposed to full sun in jeeps without canopies. Had that been disclosed up front, we would have booked elsewhere. While we get that some clients may prefer full sun, management should get that other clients do not.

2. It was the most crowded concession we visited in Botswana. While we read that we would experience more vehicle traffic, we underestimated how much. During one drive there were as many as 12-13 vehicles following a pack of wild dogs! We much preferred the less crowded concessions we toured while at Splash Enclave and Selinda Explorers.

3. The game was few and far between compared to Splash Enclave and Selinda Explorers.

4. The guides (at least ours) were not as knowledgeable or as enthusiastic as our guides at Splash Enclave and Selinda Explorers (perhaps because of #3 above).

The bottom line, if we were to redo our itinerary, we would not go to Machaba. This camp should not be on Expert Africa's recommended list (or at least it should be earmarked with a warning that the safari/game viewing experience will not match other areas in the Okavango Delta)."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Great camp to end our Botswana safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"A great camp to end our Botswana safari.

Again, great staff, good food, outstanding guides, wonderful safari/game viewing experiences and we really enjoyed the canoe trips and extended walking safari's."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Hilton Garden Inn

"Hilton Garden Inn reveiw"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"Just stayed overnight on our way to Rwanda. It worked."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Great stay at Mountain Gorilla Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge.

Great location, beautiful grounds and friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Experience of a lifetime"

1 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

2 days of trekking, 2 days of unforgettable experiences with 2 different gorilla families!
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"An experience of a lifetime"

2 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

2 days of trekking, 2 days of unforgettable experiences with 2 different gorilla families!
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team