This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Thamalakane River Lodge
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge


19°53’3.1"S 23°33’16.4"E

Reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamalakane River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Andy & Karen
Malvern

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"Only used as an overnighter but comfortable and friendly in a nice position on the river.

The driver who looked after us here (whose name I sadly cannot remember) really helped us out re the lost luggage. He drove us around Maun shopping and also helped with a local SIM card purchase." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Kure Beach

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2022
"We very much enjoyed our 1 night stay with the Lodge to allow a day between our mobile safari and the long journey home.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Transfers to/from airport and meals also went very well with good quality food offerings." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs and Mrs C.
London

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2022
"A good stopover 30 minutes drive from Maun and we were glad we chose to do this rather than fly straight to our first camp after London-Joburg-Maun.

The chalet was very spacious with a great view over the river and a marvellous red sunset. The owner was very welcoming. Dinner on the terrace was very slow to arrive which was a shame as we were rather tired and keen to get to bed.

The early morning transfer back to Maun airport was good." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Explorers
Oklahoma

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2022
"The lodge was an excellent introduction to Okavango Delta and just what we needed for a one night stay before catching a flight to an interior safari lodge. Superb setting and accommodations with great service." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr K
California

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2022
"Rooms, service, grounds were great. Staff was kind and helpful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J.
Makati

"Acceptable lodging"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2022
"Acceptable accommodation.

Too far out of town to enjoy Maun for the evening." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms B
Australia

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2022
"A great place to spend a night after finishing a safari and before a flight out of Botswana.

The sunset over the river is to die for." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The Ss
Shrewsbury

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2022
"We stayed here 1 night because we needed to get a PCR for our daughter. It was essentially a stopover.

It was fine but was overpriced for what it offered ." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2022
"We stayed here one night before and one night after our fly-in safari in both the Delta and the Kalahari Desert. Other than being located a little bit too far from the town, it’s the perfect place to relax and unwind. With its location on the river you get some nice views and the sounds and background noises (frogs and hippos) remind you that you are in Africa.

We knew this place from our trip last year, so we knew what to expect: It’s a perfect little place to relax and unwind. Given its location 20 km from Maun, it’s probably not the place for those interested in shopping or exploring the Maun nightlife." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2022
"We stayed here one night before and one night after our fly-in safari in both the Delta and the Kalahari Desert. Other than being located a little bit too far from the town, it’s the perfect place to relax and unwind. With its location on the river you get some nice views and the sounds and background noises (frogs and hippos) remind you that you are in Africa.

We knew this place from our trip last year, so we knew what to expect: It’s a perfect little place to relax and unwind. Given its location 20 km from Maun, it’s probably not the place for those interested in shopping or exploring the Maun nightlife." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 53
81%
53 reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
27
10
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamo Telele

Thamo Telele

Royal Tree is a beautiful tented lodge on the outskirts of Maun, in its own private game reserve. With walking trails and delicious meals, it's ideal for a night or two at the start or end of a safari.


85% (38 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


73% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa