This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Thamalakane River Lodge
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge


19°53’3.1"S 23°33’16.4"E

Reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamalakane River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Hinckley

"Thamalakane River lodge the beginning"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2019
"One night stay at the beginning of our Botswana safari, the lodge on the banks of a dry riverbank due to the severe drought affecting Maun, however the gardens and landscaping were lovely and the room was clean and suitable for the night.

The evening buffet was good although somewhat picked over by a large tour group. The staff were pleasant and looked after us.

All in all suitable for a single night stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M. O
Horsham

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"This was a convenient stop off.

The room was excellent. The dinner was a little disappointing as I ordered fish which had hundreds of bones and the light was very dim so they were difficult to see. The transport to and from the airport was excellent. " See all these reviews: 1n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"What a great way to start our holiday. We were so pleased we did this after a long flight.

The staff were amazing, the service equally so and our evening was made extra special due to the traditional songs delivered by the wonderful staff.

We would fully recommend Thamalakane as a perfect place to stay at the beginning or end of a holiday. " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Lee
Chicago

"A good place to rest"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Nice place but a level below the other camps.

Rooms adequate. Lounge and deck area comfortable.

Unfortunately with the drought the river was dry so did not see any wildlife other than birds. " See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms B.
Cambridge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2019
"We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to give us a buffer in case of airline delays and to begin to get over our get lag. It was the perfect place to rest and relax.

Our chalet was spacious and comfortable. The outdoor dining area was lovely, and the food was terrific. " See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms E
London

"A friendly stopover"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"We stayed one night at Thamalakane River Lodge at the beginning of our trip. It was a good place to recover and relax.

They picked us up from the airport - it's about a 30 minute drive from Maun airport - and the check-in was easy. We were in a Babbler Chalet - a one-room stone chalet with good shower and comfortable bed; and a verandah overlooking the dry riverbed. We didn't see the crocs and hippos but we did see monitor lizards and a fish eagle. We were there in winter, so of course it was cold in the mornings and evenings.

The staff were very friendly and sang together at dinner time. The bar was pleasant and the food was fine. Just be aware that they do not take cash.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
George H
AZ

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"Excellent staff and willingness to take care of us. Our lodge had a very minimal fan, they provided a stand up fan to help. Could use a enclosure on the toilet. " See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss B
Marple

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Strong lighting made mosquitoes almost unbearable.

Rooms look nice, but no air-conditioning or effective ceiling fan. However beautiful setting and friendly staff." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"Perfect way to start our safari"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"After a long journey, this was the perfect overnight stop before beginning our Botswana safari.

Close to the airport, beautiful grounds along the river, friendly and helpful staff, and the private dinner on the pier was an unexpected treat!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms B
London

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"It was an OK parking place to stay for a night before the real holiday began. But it feels a bit tired and needs to re-think its offer. Some of the staff were rather off-hand" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 39
79%
39 reviews of Thamalakane River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
21
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree is a beautiful tented lodge on the outskirts of Maun, in its own private game reserve. With walking trails and delicious meals, it's ideal for a night or two at the start or end of a safari.


88% (33 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


71% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa