This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele
Thamo Telele

Reviews of Thamo Telele

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Thamo Telele and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2021, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Thamo Telele.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Dr Rox
Cairns city

"Thamo Telele review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2022
"The rooms are really beautiful at this lodge located just outside of Maun.

It is a nice place to stay away from the town which seems a little too busy and unattractive as an introduction to Botswana. The giraffe program is interesting but the walk was guided rather than independent.

The food is average and the pool needed servicing when we were there, but overall it's a good place to stay before or after a safari." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr H.
Salt Lake City

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"An amazing experience just a short drive out of Maun, which on first sight is a bit dusty and cinder-block. Though it is a game farm, it is in a lovely real forest, near a real river, with real wild animals, yet you can safely take several well-marked walks. This makes it wonderful coming off a long journey by air, and it might be nice after a week or two in the actual bush, where walking out on your own is usually impossible.

The facilities are gorgeous, recently renovated, (it is now called Thamo Telele Lodge, after their giraffes as I understand), and extremely comfortable. Though the platform tents looked lovely, all new, and very secure, we slept in a huge walled, thatched chalet, a bit of psychologic comfort on the first night among actual game. A subtle fence kept the elands and giraffes visible from our doorway and windows, but out of the immediate lodge grounds for our well-lit trail back to the lovely deck and dining room. Though they offer other activities, we got in late, so went for a short walk and then sat on the deck watching amazing monkeys and birds with Jobe, a friendly and superbly informed guide.

I could go on and on about the wonderful room, comforts, food, staff, and facilities. But let me just say staying here, for a night or two, is a wonderful way to beat jet lag (or come off 'roughing it' on safari) and must be infinitely more fun than a lodge in town. And they perfectly coordinated our arrival and departure to the airport at odd hours.

Highly recommended, without reservation." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

R&H
Guildford

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2022
"This lodge is now called Thamo Telele, and has undergone a refurbishment. All worked well .
It is the home for a giraffe project. We enjoyed learning from the project managers about their work and plans.
Being a fenced reserve, there are no predators." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
Netherlands

"A bit overpriced"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2022
"Nice, but a bit overpriced I think. And it looks like a zoo. Which is a bit of an anticlimax after such a trip.

Very weird to see oryx there and eland from so close by.

They are now running a project trying to habituate their giraffes . And imported a number of giraffes from Namibia recently. To amplify the gene base. In any case, not for me.

But the rooms are recently refurbished and the rooms look quite new. The hot water shower is lovely. And the ladies are very, very nice." See all these reviews: 20n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs C.
Wem

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 May 2022
"Comfortable room but looking out onto rough scrub.

Food was terrible - lamb curry for evening meal (including bones and gristle) and husband does not eat curry - they gave him a pork chop. Indifferent vegetables and desert.

Breakfast was a bowl of cereal. We had to leave early - probably a bit too early as we then had to hang around at Maun airport - and said we did not want cooked breakfast but only received a single bowl of Bran flakes.

Park area - could walk around but not much to see" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr P M & family
UK

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2022
"We were underwhelmed during our short visit and felt that this was poor value for money. The lodge has only recently reopened and the communal areas are in serious need of refurbishment.

There were only two other guests at the same time as us and the lodge felt very tired and unloved. The food in particular was awful. Staff were welcoming and the room was ok. We enjoyed one of the walking trails although they weren’t particularly well marked - we enjoyed sitting at a lagoon and watching the giraffes.

The lodge is in a transitional period and we were told that refurbishment and rebranding are being undertaken by Natural Selection. The place definitely has potential - we were just there at the wrong time!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Drs M & F
New Jersey

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2021
"A one night stay to get used to the time change - game preserve is protected so we were able to walk around on our own - it was pleasant." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2021
"We stayed here on the way home just to get tested and avoid Jo'burg.

It's about 30 minutes outside of Maun. Nice staff, no alcohol, so so food. It served the purpose.

No comparison to the luxury camps we had just visited." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"A lovely lodge and the walks are wonderful as we got to see so many animals up close and personal.

Julius was the perfect host, we really loved our 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Richmond

"Great rural base for Mawn "

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2018
"Very nice welcome by Julius and his team to this well set up lodge .Great walks down to river with birds and hippo plus zebra,ostrich and eland in reserve which can be viewed on way in / out

Rooms very comfortable and delightful shaded terrace

Swimming pool not very enticing as in very shady spot .Service excellent but food rather average" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 39
85%
39 reviews of Thamo Telele by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
17
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

With its tranquil riverside location, Thamalakane makes an excellent buffer between a tiring long-haul flight and the magic of a safari.


81% (55 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


73% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa