This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs P from Netherlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My - great - 60th birthday trip to Botswana

Botswana and 1 other country between 23 May 2022 and 13 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"My trip was really great. I saw may beautiful things in the almost pristine Botswana. I had a perfect mix of different habitats and plenty of wildlife. Wild dogs were one of the main drivers for this trip and I was able to see them in 3 out of the 6 camps.

So glad I included Makgadikgadi Salt Pans in my itinerary . What a great surprise. And what a nice camp, Camp Kalahari. And a meerkat experience which made me literally cry. Savute under Canvas was a bit of a disappointment. Due to the fact that this time the Savute channel was dry (no water - no life) and not the best guiding experience. Lebala I could have skipped without missing anything.

Great Plains offers superb wildlife experience. In very many ways. I have been very spoiled and lucky to have a car all to myself in both Duba plains and Selinda. Both are very pretty areas, and Duba plains even has a touch of magic.

I travelled alone and Botswana is a perfect and very safe destination. You travel alone, but are never alone. In the "posh" camps , people tempt to be a little bit more on their own, in the camps just below that level, all people join for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Logistics were arranged perfectly. Everybody knew when I was coming or going. It has been a wise - and very good - decision to book privates in several camps. Unique wildlife experience in your own pace. The " privates" in both Duba and Selinda were an extraordinary and great bonus."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Convenient hotel to stay overnight"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2022
"The hotel - especially the corridors - looks a bit worn out and could do with a strike of fresh paint and some refurbishment.

The part I did not like was that although it at the airport premises it is quite a walk which does not feel totally OK when you - as a woman all by herself - have to cover this distance late at night and there is absolutely not another sole in sight. But supposedly it is safe."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Unique experience in a very friendly camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2022
"I am absolutely thrilled that I decided to include de Makghadikgadi Salt Pans in my itinerary . The place is mesmerizing and of course there are the meerkats ! Staff at Camp Kalahari is very friendly and pleasant. And the rooms are very, very much ok ! Anyhow, the activities are the same as in the other 2 camps (San and Jack's camp), as well as the food /menu apparently.

The Camp did everything possible to accommodate my wishes, which were known beforehand because Expert Africa had informed the camp about what I would like to see or (not) do. So thank you for that Expert Africa ! As my main reason for the visit were the meerkats I had booked a private and it absolutely paid off. Camp manager Olga and guide Ngave looked for all possible time slots to be with the meerkats. And still have the food waiting for me.

People tempt to come here for the nocturnals (I had an excellent sighting of a very chubby aardvark and an excellent daylight sighing of a brown hyena ) and the meerkats, but the environment is very special as well. As the rains had come late, the place was still full of wildebeest and zebra. Because it was still relatively wet, the overnight stay out at the pans was not possible yet (and the temporary camp not yet constructed)."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"A bit disappointing"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2022
"The Savute part of Chobe was very dry. What a difference compared to 10 years ago, when water was flowing through the Savute channel. Not much wildlife around and not very interesting sightings. The stay at Under Canvas was very pleasant though. For me staying at a (simple because mobile) camp like that adds to the emotion. we had a good spot next to the (dry) Savute channel in between mopani trees. Amazing what the staff of 10 persons are able to do under difficult circumstances and amazing what food they are able to offer you ! And the hot shower after your afternoon drive is the best shower ever !

We were in a car of 5 of which one couple wanted to see a leopard. And apparently the guide really wanted to please them so he insisted a bit too much on finding that leopard. Which had us driving around and around for practically 2 whole days. Without seeing it."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

"A truly superb wildlife experience"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"If in life I would be given only one opportunity to go on a safari for a few days then Duba Plains - Botswana is the place I would go to.

I had an amazing 4 nights stay there; the wildlife is superb, the sightings are superb, the guiding is superb, the Camp is superb and the area where the Camp is situated is really magic. The place is full of animals. Moreover - they have a PACK OF WILD DOGS denning there !!!! I did not expect that but boy, was I happy . And I did have some amazing dog sightings. I am no so much into Rhino's, but had plenty of sightings.

I have been very privileged and spoiled rotten to be sharing a vehicle with only Spike and Joshua, the guides. It was a fantastic experience to see and get to know the area and its animals and their behavior through their eyes. It is amazing to hear and learn more about the world behind guiding and all these factors being taken into consideration in order to offer you with the best possibility to have an amazing sighting. Well, I had plenty. Thank you for that Spike and Joshua !

Besides a binocular Great Plains also provides you with a super Canon EOS camera with a 400 mm lens. At Duba Plains Spike was so kind to make some beautiful pics with this.

While staying at Duba Plains I had some health issues because of the Malerone and they took care of me very well. Veronica and Justin took care of me very well any how. Thank you guides and staff of Duba Plains, I will cherish my memories for a long long time."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Unforgettable memories"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2022
"The Selinda area is really beautiful and very varied. With plenty of wildlife. If you like to have good sightings of easy going elephants you must consider going here. Fantastic wildlife, fantastic sightings, superb guiding. And Selinda Camp is a very luxurious and pretty camp. But somehow I do like the atmosphere of Zarafa and Duba plains more. Don't know why, hard to explain.

It is fantastic how Great Plains is involved in creating employment opportunities and hiring local people. Nevertheless the ratio between the small number of guests (they only have 3 tents so max 6 guests) and staff ( many ) - made me feel a bit uncomfortable at times. New faces all the time. I must have met 6 different " chefs" while I was there. And maybe for this reason as well at times the chain of command seemed too long.

But having said that, they did everything to make me feel comfortable and accommodate my wishes. Again I was spoiled rotten and very privileged to have been able to spent all my days at Selinda in a car only with Donald , my guide. And what an experienced and excellent guide he was ! We absolutely had the same pace. And it was here, at Selinda, that I did have one of my most memorable wild dogs sightings ever. Because they had made it possible. And Donald helped me to overcome my fear of elephants. We even had a baby elephant coming over to the car and say hello."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"If predators are what you want"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2022
"I had a private in Lagoon. Because of my specific desire to see the wild dogs. And what a pleasant surprise it was that - after 10 year - Spencer again was my guide. He is a very experienced and knowledgable guide. He (almost) thinks like a predator. So I had my wild dog sightings. And it was great to be with him again.

At the same time this says a lot. Because at Lagoon they seem to focus very much on the predators: lions, leopards, cheetah, wild dogs. And it seems that all other animals are quite squitisch and run form the car. A car which is driving quickly (in order to keep up with the dogs or find lions). And they go very far in order to pursuit their goals. Maybe sometimes a little bit too far I would say. Especially ellies react very strongly to the cars. Completely different behavior then eg in Selinda.

We were able to see a herd of Eland from fairly close. And - first sighting for me ever - an aardwolf at night.

The rooms maybe could use some repair, refurbishment and fresh paint."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Could have skipped Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2022
"Nice people, like every where else in Botswana. But when you are not there to see lion, they are very much out of their comfort zone. Tracking lions, that is what they (can) do. They do not (try to) keep track of the dogs. Wildlife and wildlife sighting disappointing. Not used to approach other - potential - interesting sightings. Neither have the patience. Area nothing special.

Could have skipped this camp in my itinerary without missing anything.

Rooms could use some repairs, refurbishment and fresh paint."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"A bit overpriced"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2022
"Nice, but a bit overpriced I think. And it looks like a zoo. Which is a bit of an anticlimax after such a trip.

Very weird to see oryx there and eland from so close by.

They are now running a project trying to habituate their giraffes . And imported a number of giraffes from Namibia recently. To amplify the gene base. In any case, not for me.

But the rooms are recently refurbished and the rooms look quite new. The hot water shower is lovely. And the ladies are very, very nice."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

North East Botswana trip June 2012

Botswana and 1 other country between 11 Jun 2012 and 26 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was all I expected (hoped) it would be!!

Excellent place to see doggies (my main reason for coming here), high standard of camps/lodges.
Surprisingly pretty landscape outside of the delta. this of course has for an important part to do with all the water returning to the area.

Excellent, really excellent guides without exception.

By the way, Bradt's Botswana guide was a great help in planning the trip.

Everything was taken care of in an excellent manner, so no worries - only pleasure and excitement- at all!"

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge; a very convenient stopover place"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"Very convenient as a stopover for travelling further to Botswana.

Very nicely decorated, seems to have been refurbished very recently. Very friendly people too."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"perfect combination of delta en plains"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2012
"An intimate camp at a nice location; the camp is in the delta itself and surrounded by water, but game drives are made on the mainland/ plains. It takes about 20 minutes by boat from mainland to camp and vice versa.

I did one trip with the mokoro too, which was nice.

The cabins/tents are very much OK. The camp is quite small and intimate (6 tents I believe).
The management is nice and do their utmost to make you feel comfortable (young couple from Scotland/Zimbabwe) and the guide was just great (Kay). I didn't want to go to the delta in first instance, but I am glad I did."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"I really enjoyed staying with &Beyond again. They are really good in trying to make you feel like a princess, which they always manage to do.

The camp staff was wonderful (and lots of fun too), the guide KD very knowledgable and eager to share his knowledge patiently. And the food - considering the circumstances - was very good. Together with Kwando Lagoon I liked the people and atmosphere here most. The camp was very intimate, with only 4 tents. As the camp has to move every 6 days the tents and the camp as a whole is a bit more simple than the one I know in the Serengeti, but that is alright. I think camping in the bush in a tent gives an additional trill.

The area is really beautiful and pretty now the water has returned to the channel and the marsh. Lots of animals are staying around now or returning (pelicans!). It absolutely made up for the fact that this is a NP and not a concession (and therefore no off road driving allowed). I am very glad I decided to go here. And I am still a big fan of &Beyond....."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Wild place, exceptional experience!"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2012
"I just loved it here! Because of the atmosphere and because of the dogs.

The atmosphere was very nice, not in the least due to the camp staff. The camp itself seems to have been recently refurbished and looks very nice. The tents/cabins are very large and nicely decorated. Hunting with the dogs was the most wonderful experience I had in my life and I just loved the guide, famous (" Mr Wild Dog") Spencer. Because he is good, great fun and a little bit crazy.

Yes, there will be a next time Botswana, and this camp and guide will definitely be included in the travel scedule!

And like in lebala, trying to track down the animals adds something special to the safari experience."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team