This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas

Reviews of Savute Under Canvas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Savute Under Canvas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Savute Under Canvas.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs
Carshalton

"Savute Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Loved this campsite and the abundance of animals we got to see. A number of elephants passed our campsite whilst having breakfast. Staff couldn't do enough for us.
we were very lucky as we had the jeep to ourselves and I think this makes all the difference as we learned so much from our guide and had a one to one experience ,also we were able to take the time to sit and just watch the animals behaviour which we loved.
couldn't fault the food - amazing!
" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss B
Marple

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

B & H
Uckfield

"Cold nights (end July) but enjoyable safari"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2018
"Very hospitable personnel and a good guide made this a perfect start to our 11-day safari Two days were enough because the nights (and 5.30am wake up time) were very cold and we didn't have quite enough layers of clothing although we had been fore-warned. Much warmer during the day of course.
Conditions were comfortable enough but we looked forward to having a proper hot shower in the next camps - since showering was very basic here (but we knew it would be). Food was very good despite the primitive cooking conditions.
We had a cloudless view of the 'Blood' moon during the eclipse.
We had good viewings of Elephants at a waterhole (2 separate family groups), Cheetah, Leopard and Lions (including a mating pair) as well as many groups of Wildebeest, plus Jackal, Tsessebe, Giraffe, Hyena and Dwarf Mongoose." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs A
Aboyne

"Canvaz luxury"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"A warm, friendly welcome greeted us on arrival and after every game drive. The all male choir added an extra dimension with their local songs.

Daniel, the camp manager, leads a cheery, friendly team for whom nothing was too much trouble. The guides joined us for meals and shared stories.

Morunga was a superb guide with great knowledge of both birds and animals. We tracked a pride of lions, invading the resident pride's territory. Leopard was spotted. A rock python coming to drink and then swimming a across a pan excited our guide as much us. 8 mongoose chasing a jackal, and the log with 3 different species of mongoose at one time is equally unforgettable: likewise the cheetah. Zebra were in abundance as they were gathering for the imminent migration. The pack of wild dogs alas eluded us by minutes.

Regrettably no night drives are allowed in the National Park but the animals did wander through the camp in the dark!

Nights under clear starry skies are cool but daytime temperatures are very pleasantly warm.

We loved the checklist booklet of birds and animals.

An excellent camp and location. We loved it.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"3 nights at Savute Under Canvas"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"We were looked after very well for the first two nights but the very poorly on the third when we were the only ones in camp.

As the camp was being relocated the next day, everything had disappeared when we returned from the evening game drive and we got the distinct impression that they wished we weren't there.

However, the game drives with Moronga were enjoyable and informative. " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2017
"We had amazing lion and leopard sightings during our stay in the Green Season, seeing a large pride of lions daily and several leopards at a distance since there is no offroading in the park.

We were the only guests for several days, and found the facilities somewhat neglected. Our vehicle broke down while on safari, they did a good job coming to tow it back to camp though. The shower also was broken and wasn't fixed while we're there, perhaps it was a victim of the constant moving of the camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms K
UK

"Great safari at Savute Under Canvas"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Fantastic food and camp staff. Good guide given no off reading." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Portland

"Excellent in every way"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"There is nothing we would improve.

Our guide was excellent in showing us animals, and very knowledgeable in providing us with history, personal anecdotes, natural history, geology, etc. of the area. The campsite was excellent and we especially enjoyed the elephants who strolled right in front (and behind) our tents.

The staff was friendly, fun, energetic. The food was delicious, and our tent was spacious and clean." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Saratoga Springs

"Savute Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"Having experienced "Chobe Under Canvas" the two prior days, the Savute experience was a bit of a disappointment. Our guide, Mork, was knowledgeable and provided us some exciting viewing opportunities. However we were uncomfortable when he chose to travel into the bush to provide us a view of a male lion.

The acting Manager was also the other guide, and the chef (who was very outgoing and talented in food preparation) the first night was apparently substituting for the full-time chef who was present the second night. The facilities were clean but the water provided for showers in the late afternoon was not very warm (making it very challenging to enjoy a shower with the air temperature fairly cold).

Also, the camp was being dismantled the morning of our departure so the dining tent had been removed for our dinner our final night at Savute." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Msrvp
harrow

"Comfortable, great staff"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"It was comfortable but not in the same class as chobe under canvas. E.g. The bed was sinking a bit in the middle. The walk to the mess tent was rather sandy, a bit of straw to create a pathway would help. The staff were very helpful.

The food was good. Simple but tasty. Great baking as in Chobe under canvas. Same, if not worse problem with trickling shower!

Liked the fact that tent sitting area faced the forest rather than the mess tent ." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 18
96%
18 reviews of Savute Under Canvas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa