This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Elephant Camp

Reviews of Chobe Elephant Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Elephant Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Elephant Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
kelljanet
Canada

"Amazing - provided our Vegan/Vegetarian Diets"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2019
"From the the moment we arrived (without our lost luggage) we felt welcome.

Staff were very accommodating and even went to the airport next day to pick up our luggage. Our Safari driver really made our trip exceptional by making sure we saw The Big 5.

We had the family room and it was beautiful clean and comfortable. The outdoor shower was another favourite. This resort was the highlight of our African trip.

Thank you to all the wonderful staff!
" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

"Cheerful Chobe Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Absolutely excellent staff who entertained us with native music one night and the second night they sang to us to come to dinner, very special.

Jeremy, our guide really looked after us well. Great game viewings, boat trip along the Chobe river and picnic meals.

Rustic style accommodation with all the comforts including a hottie for cooler nights. " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr E.
Camberley

"Good camp, easy access to Chobe"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2019
"This was the second camp we visited on our trip, while there is absolutely nothing negative I can say about it the camp didn’t have quite the same feel as our lodge in the delta. It was welcoming, good food, and excellent access to Chobe but slightly lacked the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2019
"This camp is not so luxury as the others of our trip. You have everything you need in your room and the staff is very friendly.
Very nice the dinner at long tables, getting in contact to the other guests.
The knowledge of the guides is really very good. They tried everything, that we can see a lot of animals. We were lucky and saw wild dogs." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr G.
London

"Exceptional time on our first safari"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"We stayed 3 nights at Chobe Elephant camp and had a fantastic time.

We went in what was meant to be he rainy season in march but it hadn't rained in 8 weeks. The wildlife was incredible and included an incredible lion hunt and kill. Our guide gabby was super friendly and informative.

The staff were all very friendly and made a huge sing and dance out of my birthday. It really felt like home after a few days." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

D&M Blue Hill
USA

"Chobe Elephant Camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2018
"Lots,of opportunity for game drives. The boat trip was excellent and certainly a highlight. The family chalet worked really well for us and our two kids, even though the thrashing of the elephants seemed only a few feet away.

The staff singing at dinner was really enjoyable and a very special treat. We even got into the dancing.

Our guide was excellent, taking the time to point out birds and trees along with all the big animals. Very knowledgeable and personable.

Animals sited: lions, giraffes, impala, elephants, hippos, crocodiles, baboons, Cape buffalo, kudu, water bucks, jackals, hyena, zebra, puff adder.
Birds sited: lots of birds - 89 species recorded" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CL
Alberta

"Authentic Experience with great guide"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2017
"We enjoyed our stay at Choebe Elephant Camp. It is a rustic yet comfortable property.

We thoroughly enjoyed our safaris with "Innocent" our very informative guide. Also the boat trip was really special.

An area that requires some improvement is the food offerings at lunch. A sandwich of lettuce, cheese and some sauce was really below par. The staff were very informal and pleasant. Meals at other sittings were adequate.
" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Elma

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Glasgow

"Great stay at the aptly named elephant camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"The camp had a good atmosphere and the place was truly well named. We were awakened in the middle of the night by two adult elephants and a baby grazing happily right outside our chalet. Amazing!

There was a good atmosphere in the camp and the activities, particularly the river cruise on the Chobe were amazing. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr R
Australia

"Great stay at Chobe Elephant Camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"The staff, location and rooms at Chobe Elephant Camp were amazing.

The Camp sits overlooking towards the Delta across to Namibia. The views are fantastic.

We had a group of Elephants walk across the bottom of the hill one morning it was a great way to wake up.

The staff are very helpful and generous with their time.
" See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
97%
12 reviews of Chobe Elephant Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa