This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chobe Elephant Camp

Reviews of Chobe Elephant Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Elephant Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Mar-2019, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Elephant Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

38% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

29% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

86% success

Roan antelope

71% success

Spotted Hyena

43% success

Eland

33% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Anivers
New Hampshire

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2022
"Our arrival at Chobe Elephant Camp was epic - warm and comforting. Our stay was extremely pleasant throughout and the food was as good as the hospitality. From our very first afternoon there, we saw multitudes of animals starting with elephants, African buffalo, crocodiles, and a large variety of birds. Since the camp is adjacent to a national park, the schedule is a bit more relaxed and we found it to be a wonderful introduction to our week of safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Charlie
London

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2022
"This was a really lovely lodge and we were lucky enough to be upgraded.

The terrace and fire pit have beautiful views of sunset and the valley. We had some wonderful trips in a very beautiful and verdant part of the country. We saw an abundance of wildlife in a different way to Etosha which was wonderful.

The staff sang and danced for us one evening and were all extremely helpful to us throughout. The food was very good but not an enormous variety of options for children." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Food:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2022
"Good camp and location, though not as upscale as many of its neighbors (though plenty nice), but the park can be quiet crowded (20+ cars around or waiting to see lions).

Comment on private guide at Chobe Elephant Camp:

Good guide, though the park limits the abilities to find wildlife away from the crowds." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

LDB
Vancouver

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2022
"Disappointing accommodation at Chobe Elephant Camp - rather dingy and poorly lit, although management had given me the most accessible suite close to the main lodge.

Service was poor, possibly because Manager, Moss, was running the camp alone with very few support staff. However, the guiding by Emmax was excellent, and my companions and I were thrilled to witness the fights between two male giraffes, and later between two male impalas on our all-day game drive.

Although there was only "one" buffalo sighting, that sighting involved hundreds of buffalo, streaming down to Chobe River to drink. I was also pleasantly surprised at the lack of other vehicles in evidence on our game drives.

The main disappointment at Chobe Elephant Camp was the lack of elephants. There were many, many giraffe, but my expectation of getting my elephant "fix" with hundreds of elephants was not realized." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

kelljanet
Canada

"Amazing - provided our Vegan/Vegetarian Diets"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2019
"From the the moment we arrived (without our lost luggage) we felt welcome.

Staff were very accommodating and even went to the airport next day to pick up our luggage. Our Safari driver really made our trip exceptional by making sure we saw The Big 5.

We had the family room and it was beautiful clean and comfortable. The outdoor shower was another favourite. This resort was the highlight of our African trip.

Thank you to all the wonderful staff!" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

"Cheerful Chobe Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"Absolutely excellent staff who entertained us with native music one night and the second night they sang to us to come to dinner, very special.

Jeremy, our guide really looked after us well. Great game viewings, boat trip along the Chobe river and picnic meals.

Rustic style accommodation with all the comforts including a hottie for cooler nights." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr E.
Camberley

"Good camp, easy access to Chobe"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2019
"This was the second camp we visited on our trip, while there is absolutely nothing negative I can say about it the camp didn’t have quite the same feel as our lodge in the delta. It was welcoming, good food, and excellent access to Chobe but slightly lacked the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Chobe Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2019
"This camp is not so luxury as the others of our trip. You have everything you need in your room and the staff is very friendly.
Very nice the dinner at long tables, getting in contact to the other guests.
The knowledge of the guides is really very good. They tried everything, that we can see a lot of animals. We were lucky and saw wild dogs." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr G.
London

"Exceptional time on our first safari"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2019
"We stayed 3 nights at Chobe Elephant camp and had a fantastic time.

We went in what was meant to be he rainy season in march but it hadn't rained in 8 weeks. The wildlife was incredible and included an incredible lion hunt and kill. Our guide gabby was super friendly and informative.

The staff were all very friendly and made a huge sing and dance out of my birthday. It really felt like home after a few days." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

D&M Blue Hill
USA

"Chobe Elephant Camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2018
"Lots,of opportunity for game drives. The boat trip was excellent and certainly a highlight. The family chalet worked really well for us and our two kids, even though the thrashing of the elephants seemed only a few feet away.

The staff singing at dinner was really enjoyable and a very special treat. We even got into the dancing.

Our guide was excellent, taking the time to point out birds and trees along with all the big animals. Very knowledgeable and personable.

Animals sited: lions, giraffes, impala, elephants, hippos, crocodiles, baboons, Cape buffalo, kudu, water bucks, jackals, hyena, zebra, puff adder.
Birds sited: lots of birds - 89 species recorded" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 16
95%
16 reviews of Chobe Elephant Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge at the quieter, western end of the Chobe Riverfront.


96% (166 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (61 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (56 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (35 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (22 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


95% (21 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


87% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (3 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa