This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Savute Safari Lodge
Savute Safari Lodge
Savute Safari Lodge

Reviews of Savute Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Savute Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Savute Safari Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K.
Nice

"exciting, interesting, and full of fun"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"this was the first stop on our botswana adventure. we jumped off the plane onto a game drive and were instantly captivated. our guide, coco, was incredible, explaining the environment and the wildlife. a highlight was a short walk to view rock paintings, thousands of years old. and, after coming to africa for 20 years, i saw my first leopard on the first game drive. incredible.

the camp itself was well designed and extremely comfortable. our "tent" was wonderful, with all the comforts one could wish for. food was excellent, service impecable, and everyone friendly and helpful. in short, a perfect beginning." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms V
USA

"Savute Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"Be forewarned: Ground squirrels enter cabins both day and surprisingly night as well. Manager is well aware and as part of the welcome speech warns incoming guests to lock away all important items so the squirrels do not destroy them. It was disconcerting to have these rodents, as well as either a large mouse or small rat, running in the rafters, and to find their droppings on our luggage.

Uninspired guide. The Lodge policy (echoing the Park policy) is a maximum of 3 vehicles, no more than 5 minutes each, when observing an animal. The reality is different: We consistently had all 6 of the lodge vehicles at most obervations, plus other lodges and self-drives. At one point 10 different vehicles chased and circled two wild dogs, even cutting between the dogs. On multiple occasions we had our guide simply leave, as this harrassment of wild animals is completely unacceptable.

The landscape is lovely and varied, and the wildlife is abundant, but the lodge is poorly run with (mostly) uninterested staff, and is less appealing than other camps." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Terrible
Mr J
Coventry

"Our annual African adventure 3rd leg"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2018
"Excellent rooms, fantastic service, wonderful food and the legend known as Baba as our guide. Baba and I spent 3 days making jokes about each other so when limited wildlife about we still had great fun. The rock paintings were great to see along with numerous wildlife including Klipspringers,3 huge hyenas who came really close, another pack of wild dogs and one of the highlights, a family of four Ardwolfs. The only disappointment was that the channel had stopped running in 2015 which meant that the aquatic antelope like Sitatunga were no longer there. I feel that Expert Africa should have notified us of this. However, should I return to Botswana I would want to return here" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J
California

"Savute Safari Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"Although this camp was a bit more populated than others we visited, this camp offered sights we had not seen closer to the Delta.

The game drives were great and Baba was an excellent guide. He was always thinking about positioning us for the best photograph of whatever we were seeing. A very pleasant guide with a great sense of humor.

The food and staff were great. Rooms were very nicely appointed and very pleasant.

The staff was very helpful as we had to deal with an unexpected emergency at home. They were a great help with internet and emergency phone calls. Thank you!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Bucks

"Savute Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2017
"Generally very happy with this accommodation and great location next to a watering hole.

Was disappointed that we were unable to go and see the San rock art, due apparently to long grass growth making visiting too dangerous. Would have been helpful if we had been made aware of this beforehand, as the only activity was therefore jeep safari.

This could have become rather repetitive, but the standard of guiding from Baba was great and we actually really enjoyed seeing what the same local pride of lions was getting up to each day. He was also very good at positioning the jeep in the very best position for photography, and for explaining where he was planning to take us each day and why." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr T
Amersham

"second lodge in botswana trip"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2016
"my room was more like a one bed apartment ! Lots of elephant noise as a continuous stream passed to the waterhole.

This is in the Savuti channel and overlooked by the dining terrace --magic. The staff were lovely and gave us a terrific song and dance introduction to dinner.

Lots of wildlife including a large pride of lions which despatched a buffalo jn front of us!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
London

"Great intro to Botswana"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"This was a winner, superb in every respect. Staff were on a par with Damaraland in terms of apparently genuine friendliness and interest in their guests. To say nothing of their knowledge of the area and its wildlife.

Our guide was superb. A real effort made with food which was excellent throughout. Our room overlooked one of the waterholes in the Savuti Channel and we regularly watched large herds of elephants drinking right outside our room. It was a wonderful experience.

We saw leopard several times as well as two prides of lions. The game viewing was some of the best we had." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Mill Valley

"Savute Safari Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Loved being at the Savute Safari Lodge. I had a "room" with the waterhole right in front with a constant changing of the animals visit there. Lovely to hear all their sounds during the night. Room was charming, had everything I needed as well very clean. Would have been nice to have a little space heater for the very early morning.

All the staff was excellent and sincere in their efforts to please. My guide was Baba who was extremely knowledgable and eager to share his knowledge and enthusiasm of the animals and surroundings.

If my travels take me back to Botswana, In would certainly return there." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Savute Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2016
"accommodation excellent, good view of waterhole. our guide Baba was very knowledgeable and helpful and made our stay there memorable.

food to a high standard and all staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Tring

"Great lodge and safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2016
"Wonderful place and staff with good food and your own wine waiter. Would say it is above basic and our accomodation was pretty luxurious.

Safaris very good with lots of wild life and good radio contact with everyone else including film makers so we saw a leopard and wild dogs.

Wondeful sights of elephants, waterhogs, impala outside the lodge when eating.

The savuti canal has dried up but they have water holes" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 34
94%
34 reviews of Savute Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
6
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa