This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas

Reviews of Chobe Under Canvas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Under Canvas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Under Canvas.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Coventry

"Chobe Under Canvas Review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"We were concerned about this part of our trip - but shouldn't have been! It was a wonderful experience, being located within the park itself. The tents were well presented, clean and free of any insects etc. The facilities were obviously basic but fully acceptable. The showering facility was novel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in providing warm water whenever needed. The comfy chairs and foot baths outside our tent were very welcome. The communal dining again helped to meet and talk to the other quests - the food being delicious. All the staff were a credit to &Beyond - singing to us on our arrival at the camp and again after each evening safari. A particular thanks to Daniel, Tony our guide and the Chef. The highlight of the trip was the photographic boat trip. We got very close to hippos and elephants and learnt many new photographic tricks - also being able to keep the memory stick with all our photos. The only downside was that were only booked for 2 nights and would have loved an extra night here." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"A great experience at Chobe under Canvas"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Situated in the middle of the bush near the Chobe River, Chobe under Canvas proved to be a unique mobile camp experience, with no electricity or h/c running water in the tents. However they were very comfortable and serviced very well by the excellent camp staff. Hot water for washing and bucket showers was always provided on time each day and any other services were carried out with efficiency and a smile! The food served under the dining tent was excellent and there was always a good variety.
A highlight of the day was having cocktails sitting around the campfire following the afternoon safari before dinner.
Our driver/guide for the safaris, "Tony", was very personable and did a great job in spotting all kinds of wildlife. With only 4 of us in the truck we had lots of space so it made things quite comfortable with plenty of room for cameras etc. Tony did not rush us when taking photos and always tried to manoeuvre the truck to get the best vantage point without disturbing the animals.
A highlight of the safari trips was the boat safari we took on the Chobe. It was an unexpected bonus ." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J,
Edinburgh

"Amazing - highly recommended!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"We had an absolutely wonderful stay with Chobe Under Canvas.

The guides were the best we have encountered on safari to date, and the support staff were equally great - fantastic food, very comfortable tents, and amazing hospitality. The wildlife encounters were also excellent, and thanks to the guides we felt we really got to understand the dynamics of the 2 local lion prides and leopard, not to mention all the other great wildlife.

Would definitely recommend Chobe Under Canvas." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms F.
London

"Chobe Under Canvas Review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"Beautiful camp with excellent good facilities and service - personal tents were stunning, quaint enough to forget the urban jungle and kitted it out well enough to be comfortable.

Guides were knowledgeable and experienced. Location in the park made it very special." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J
Elgin

"Glamping in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Chobe Under Canvas mobile camp was a contrast to Pom Pom camp and the Delta. The camp was situated in the bush rather than on the bank of the river, the facilities were extremely good, the staff were professional and friendly, food excellent and mealtime and sitting around the campfire was great.
Chobe River and the wildlife were great. Our guide was expert and friendly, we saw as much game as we had hoped, which included wild dogs, but there wasn't a wide variety of activities.The rules of the public game reserve - getting back to camp on time, keeping to the tracks, no night driving and the worry that there might be too many other vehicles - were far less restrictive than we had thought and did not reduce our enjoyment. Our LandCruiser never had more than four guests on the drives and there were often only two vehicles stopped for viewing.
The included photographic boat trip on the Chobe River from Kasane was excellent: mounted cameras with long lenses, tuition and plenty of time to get good shots.
The Chobe Under Canvas experience was just as we had asked and hoped for and the vistas with so many animals were extraordinary.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Heathfield

"Wonderful safari and great camping"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"Chobe Under Canvas is absolutely wonderful. We had never stayed in a tented camp such a this before and it was one of the best experiences of our trip. Innocent, our guide, managed to find lots of 'big game' including 17 lions by the river and a single female who walked right past our vehicle.

The camp has a feeling of permanence, even though it is moved every 5 days. The tents are very comfortable and the meals, taken in the communal tent with some of the staff, were delicious despite being cooked in a camp kitchen. At night, the stars in the southern sky are amazing!

The staff are very attentive and do everything they can to make sure guests have a good time, including 'singing them in' on return from safari.

We would thoroughly recommend Chobe Under Canvas" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sds & Kss
London

"Chobe Under Canvas - Amazing experience!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"I booked this with a little trepidation as I was not sure living in a mobile tents would mean, but I should not have, it was an amazing experience and the best.

The tents are large luxurious tents with double beds and bathroom and shower area attached. There is a communal tent area for breakfast or brunch, tea and dinner. Food was excellent as the cook specially made delicious vegetarian options for us. Thank you Bee and team for the lovely flavours in the bush. The camp is set in the bush, at night we could hear distant lion roars and hyena calls and elephant rustling. First night there was even an owl who decided to hoot from 2-4am. There were no concerns from a danger point but made it a bit edgy the first night as you wonder how far are the animals making the noise.

Staying within Chobe National Park meant our safari started within minutes of driving. We specially wanted to see elephants and we saw many familiy groups. When asked one day what we wanted to see, my son replied, hundreds of elephants. Guess what we saw, groups of 100s. As it is national park, off roading is not allowed but this did not hinder us seeing a wide range of animals and some did not that others did eg leopard. But we did not feel we missed out. The Chobe river area is a magnet for animals and birds.

The best ever excursion was the Pangolin photography boat trip on the Chobe one afternoon. We were on a small 6 person boat where each person is on a swivel chair with a professional level Nikon camera, large lens and a moveable gimble to hold it. Janine from Pangolin was great both with photographers were she could be technical and non where she made it fun. Every one then gets to keep the memory card with their photos.

What made this an exceptional experience were the people and our amazing guide, KD. He has incredible knowledge and passion for flora and fauna and conservation. He would explain interesting items during the drives and meal times. We all learnt where to look to see certain stars and planets in the night sky. KD was very widely read and one evening we even had a fun discussion on US politics given there was a couple from US.

With hindsight, I wish I had booked 3 nights here instead of 2. It was one of the best overall experience. Well done &beyond, Daniel the camp manager and his very friendly and nothing was too much trouble team and the amazing KD. A great option recommended by Expert Africa." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G & H
London

"Comfort in the bush"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"We spent three nights 'under canvas' - being looked after by Blue and his team, and guided by Moses and Max.

The camp location at the time we stayed was secluded - with accommodation for 10 guests over the 5-day period in situ. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the ambience around camp. Food, given the cooking circumstances, was brilliant - we done Prince!

Chobe is full of game of all sorts - we shared game drives, generally with people who... like ourselves... were not hung up on seeing particular things or getting a particular angle for a photo (it can be very annoying to share drives with people who never look or listen, just have their cameras glued to their face... which did happen once while we were here).

The drives were excellent - with highlights being elephants crossing the river at sunset and seeing both sable and elephant drinking at the river from a high, but close, vantage point. As others have mentioned, the Pangolin Photo Safari was also excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Portland

"Nothing could have been improved"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2016
"We can't think of anything that can be improved.

All staff were professional and knowledgeable and friendly. The accommodations were great. Food was delicious. And the number and variety of animals were amazing." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Saratoga Springs

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2016
"Our first experience with the "Under Canvas" camping was superb. Our guide, Moses, was extremely knowledgeable, welcoming, very friendly, and an extremely enjoyable traveling companion. He is a true gift to visitors and a tremendous representative for &Beyond and Botswana.

Blue, the camp manager, clearly demonstrated an ability to maintain a camp and staff that were attentive to our needs; with the staff having our tents ready to welcome us following our afternoon tour, with very warm shower and wash water as well as the needed "bush babies" following dinner.

Food was exceptional with varied and plentiful meals. Also, the food provided during our morning break while touring was unexpected, hearty, and very much appreciated. The camp area was very well maintained and the location within the the Chobe Reserve provided us with earlier access and later tours than any tourist who was lodging outside of the park." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 19
100%
19 reviews of Chobe Under Canvas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa