This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr&Mrs T from Biggleswade

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2016 trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 2 Sep 2016 and 13 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were delighted with the trip overall, despite a few things regarding the Highlands.
Right from the start Liz was incredibly helpful, making useful suggestions and coming up with a great itinerary.
She was great when Kenya airways changed their flight schedule, and we had to use a different carrier.

Overall the trip was excellent - the middle part at Ubuntu was the highlight, followed by the Rwanda section and the Highlands last of all, but the whole experience was great.

We would certainly use Expert Africa again - and I was recommending someone only today to get in touch for something they were planning."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2016
"The Serena was a nice 'multi-national' style hotel. The Restaurant and bar had a lovely terrace overlooking the pool and gardens.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

We were allocated a lovely room with a balcony - suspect they were not too busy, as on our return it was nowhere near as nice!"
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"This lodge is ideally placed for the Gorilla trekking in the volcanoes national park. The room was nice, with an open fire which was lit and stoked up periodically.

The bathroom however was very basic. Some sort of enclosure around the shower would be good, and maybe a handle or something to hold onto as it was a large area and fairly slippery.

The food was a buffet with a reasonable amount of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and keen that you enjoyed your stay.

The gorilla trekking that we did from here was well worth it. We had requested a 'short' walk which was 2 hours, much of it uphill and a very steep downward trek. However the rangers and porters were great at ensuring that everyone kept up, and it was well worth it once we arrived at Family Kwitondo!!

On our way back to Kigali our guide took us to two beautiful lakes - which was a trip well worth doing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"Same as previous stay [Ed: see below] - although being busier I think we just got the standard room!"
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Ubuntu Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"Ubuntu Camp (North) was absolutely excellent - we can't recommend this highly enough. It was the high spot of our entire holiday. It was our first tented safari - and an experience that we would certainly want to repeat.

From the wake-up call with a tray of tea/coffee, watching the sun rise through the tent window, to breakfast outside - it was always a great start to the day. All meals were fantastic - there is a really good chef there - and he has a great sense of humour! The staff team couldn't do enough for you, and it was always service with lots of smiles. The beer was always lovely and cold, there was a great selection of wines with the meals.

The bucket showers were great - about 10 mins before arriving back in camp each evening the guide would radio in with our shower requirements, so the buckets could be readied! They were lovely and hot. We were always met with damp towels and a great welcome back. We particularly enjoyed the bonfires, sharing stories of the day with all the guests and guides.

The whole stay clearly was about seeing game, and hopefully a river crossing - and as with everything else at Ubuntu - we couldn't have done better if we tried.

Our guide was Eustace - who was absolutely top rate. He could spot animals in the most amazing places, and once he heard of sightings over the radio he was there for us. We were fortunate to witness the largest river crossing for about 3 years on our second morning - and Eustace made sure that we had good views and gradually moved the jeep as the current moved the Wildebeest downstream.

His knowledge of the technical aspects of the animals and birds that we saw was really outstanding. We saw all the big five virtually every day - and we also managed cheetah for the first time. His guiding abilities made the whole experience completely unforgettable. We were very touched when having mentioned on our arrival that it was our wedding anniversary that day, that a cake and a true African celebration took place at dinner that evening - it was these sort of touches that made it so lovely and so memorable.

We would certainly return to one of the Ubuntu camps when we return to this part of Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"The Highlands at Ngorongoro review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"This was a nice camp once you got here. The details on the website say 2 hours from Manyara airstrip - it took us 3, along the most atrocious roads which are often no more than dirt tracks - which was pretty exhausting for this length of time. The 40 min from Crater Rim claim was also optimistic, as it was at least 45 mins - more like 50.

The staff at the camp were still melding into a team, and there wasn't the lovely atmosphere that we found at Ubuntu, but they were always very friendly and helpful.

The food and wine was good. The accommodation was lovely - not sure whether they are tents/domes/lodges - but they were certainly interesting and had a wonderful bathroom - the best we had ever come across in Africa! Unfortunately we didn't have a great guide at this site - his timing predictions were poor, which led to rather a wasted last day.

The problem with the Highlands is that getting anywhere from the camp is very time-consuming and uncomfortable and that is a bit of a disincentive to go too far afield - there is really very little to do that is less than almost an hour away. However for a couple of days at the end of a busy holiday it was good to just sit and enjoy our accommodation and read a few of our books!"
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team