This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp

Reviews of Shinde Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Camp.
Lion

83% success

Leopard

40% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

40% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

71% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Buffalo

33% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Louise & David
UK

"Shinde Camp surpassed all expectations!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our first trip to Botswana and the Okavango Delta and we fell in love with this place! Everything was absolutely first-class, from the immaculate accommodation to the attentive service and from the delicious food to the exceptional guiding but above all to the beauty of Shinde and the people who work here.

On our first morning our wake-up call at 5.30am was a ‘Hello Good Morning’ before a woman in African dress came into our room balancing a tray on her head carrying a tea pot, cups and saucers, milk, biscuits!

In spite of the heat (36 to 40 degrees!) we joined in every activity: mokoro, motorboat, fishing, guided walk, game drives - we made the most of every moment at Shinde and enjoyed the company of other guests as well as many of the guides and managers who joined us for meals when we exchanged tales and experiences. On return from our mokoro trip two elephants had wandered into camp and were barring our way. The Guides assured us all was fine and that they would browse on the Amarillo tree fruits for a while and move on, we were more than happy to wait and enjoy their company!

The birdlife here is incredible, we noted down more than 60 different birds but there were many many more we didn’t have time to record. The lion sightings were remarkable, lions in trees, a lioness with cubs, elephants and hippos happily crossing the water in front of our little boat and so much more.

A paradise! It was very hard to leave!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Great Safari at Shinde Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2019
"The camp is in a lovely setting by the lagoon. It has a lot of similarities with Dinaka (both are owned by Ker & Downey). The staff is very attentionate and always happy to share a dance and a song..

The game drives with my eternally smiley guide Simon were great - he was incredibly patient when we decided to "follow" a cheetah for a few hours... to witness a kill.

I also went fishing on 2 occasions and the chef kindly prepared the breams that night to share at dinner with the other guests. During the boat and mokoro excursions, I was very lucky to have 5 sightings of the elusive sitatungas! Overall, a lovely camp with varied activities and great sightings." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

AS.
Northwood

"Beautiful site by the lagoon."

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2019
"A delightful camp, in a lovely setting by the lagoon, and with very attractive communal areas. Relaxed and friendly staff, led by the manager, Thuso. Excellent food, and the tea with our wake-up call was most welcome.

Our guide, Lucky, was outstanding, with great knowledge of the flora and fauna, which he shared extensively with infectious enthusiasm. He also talked freely about life and society in Botswana. We very much enjoyed the time we spent with him.

Good for wildlife, and our mekoro trip was enchanting. Our paddler, BT, succeeded in spotting a sitatunga (not on your checklist for this camp). Lots of lechwe, reedbuck, tsessebe, a side-striped jackal and many different birds." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Birdy
Cheadle

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2019
"Superb erudite guide kenny

Plane nearly,crash landed on arrival" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Canada

"Shinde"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"We enjoyed the Shinde Camp and were glad to have gotten there as there was no email from Expert Africa to let us know what time are flight was to leave on Oct 15. Very luckily for us the woman at the Maun guest house did the research for us & delivered us where we needed to be.
Great walking safaris with Simon." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J.
London

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Shinde Camp was the highlight of the trip.

The staff were wonderful, so friends and engaging. Their singing was wonderful. The camp is on the edge of the Okavango Delta so we had excellent trips in a mokoro and on the motor boat.

The guide, Sam, was also excellent and very informative. I felt quite safe when he took us on a walking safari and also a night safari.

Can't recommend this camp highly enough" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs
Carshalton

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Lovely location and staff were very helpful. Food delicious and plenty of it.Loved that there was a choice of land and water activities. The only downside I would have to say it that when sharing a jeep with other people is that you don't learn as much. One day we were lucky enough to have the jeep to ourselves and then the next day we had to share, so we found that we were being given the same information for the new couple that had arrived. Rather frustration when we have come all that way and didn't feel we had learnt anything new. It would be great somehow if each campsite did a short questionaire to see what knowledge visitors already had and would like so that they could put similar people together in a jeep." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Shinde camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2018
"Another good guide - Lucas.

A great place.

I was a bit disappointed that there was no staff recognition of my birthday." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr H
Richmond

"Wonderful camp on edge of delta "

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Amazing lodge - very well managed with outstanding guides / drvivers

Saw cheetah plus cubs twice , lion , hyena plus cubs , elephant and baby elephant , most antelope inc rare to see tsitatunga and one or two giraffe .Numerous birds .

Night drives excellent and saw numerous hippo plus rare civet and hyena and jackal .... plus the night sky

Power boat / fishing trip good but makoro not very interesting as reeds too high to see anything

Rooms were very well appointed and well serviced including laundry

Food was good but rather short of staff for its service" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms B
Victoria

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"It was a bit of a shock coming from the solitude of a mobile camp to a lodge with other tourists, however it was a great lodge and the rooms were fantastic - so spacious and comfortable.

In fact the whole lodge was designed really well - loved how it's been built to incorporate existing trees. Loved the staff and loved the fact that the managers and guides ate with the guests. Far more interesting talking to them rather than just other tourists 😊 Impressed too with how they remembered everyone's names! Food not as good as Andrew's camp but I'm not sure anyone could match that.

Our guide, Ezekiel, was fantastic and really knowledgeable - he also had the most amazing eyesight. Was so easy to arrange different activities through him. Felt that nothing was too much trouble for him - that goes for all the staff there." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 87
93%
87 reviews of Shinde Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
22
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa