This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp

Reviews of Shinde Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

94 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Camp.
Lion

77% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

40% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

92% success

Wildebeest

83% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Buffalo

58% success

Roan antelope

11% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 94
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H.
Salt Lake City

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2022
"Astonishingly good. This was our first actual stop in the bush, thanks to EA, and was perfect. I simply can't say enough good things about the camp, from the airstrip to superlative "tents" (nicest hotel rooms I've ever been in) to the open-air stilt-perched lounges and dining room, the deck above the ponds where hippos chuckle at night, the game drives, makoro, boat trips, and amenities. Truly 5-star, with personal, warm, friendly, constantly attentive staff, amazing food, fabulous hospitality, in perfect comfort and safety.

A subtle electric fence keeps elephants out of the camp, and the beautiful walkways through a forest garden lead to nicely spaced tent chalets (staff walk with you at night in case you turn up other animals -- we met a startled, beautiful little bushbuck just outside our tent on the first evening).

The game drives in particular are world class. With only the very few Land Cruisers from the lodge on the roads, you are going to see everything (no "you saw a leopard? I wish we had" at dinner) but never in a crowd. Our truck would pull up next to another, or call in another, and then gracefully move off so everyone gets a great view. And the guides are superb -- intelligent, cordial, and vastly experienced. They know their patch superbly, and they know the animals -- where to look, where to turn, where to stop, and the backstory of each mother leopard or lion pride.

The habitats here are a perfect and varied microcosm and introduction to the delta, with grassland savanna, isolated and clustered stands of beautiful marula and kigelia (sausage) trees, open bush, beautiful pond and hillock pans, and lots of varieties of swamp, river, marsh, pool, papyrus, and reeds. This leads to amazing views of birds and beasts, with huge variety.

Again, I could go on and on, but let me distill it to this: If I had only a few days to spend in Botswana, I would spend them here." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr&Mrs T
Biggleswade

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2022
"We enjoyed our stay at Shinde where there was a good variety of activities. We had a really good guide (Chachos) who certainly went the extra mile for us. The setting of the public areas was delightful overlooking the water, but the tents looked out onto a lot of growth , so you barely had a view at all. However the rooms were well equipped and furnished, the bed was comfy, and the bathroom and shower were good. Laundry was done efficiently and quickly.

The Game Drives were very good, and Chachos and his fellow guides knew where to find lions and leopards which we saw several times. I was keen to see wild dogs, and when a pack made an appearance for the first time for many weeks, we got there and saw them, and tracked them across the plain for a while - it was an unforgettable experience. This was where Chachos went the extra mile, as once one of the other jeeps saw the dogs, he came and found us on our mokora ride, with a faster boat, and took us back to the jeep and drove fast so that we wouldn't miss them - as this was our very last afternoon - last chance saloon to see them - we were delighted that he did this for us.

We did an excellent walking safari, and enjoyed the Mokora and the big boat ride where we saw lots of hippos. On the ride back - James Bond and a speedboat in the Everglades came to mind - but it was a great experience.

Although much is made of being able to do three activities a day, this was only the case on the day you could do the night drive - otherwise it was just the standard two events a day.

The food was mostly good, although some of the meat dishes were not such good quality. The wines served here were very good.

The Camp is just 3-5 minutes from the airstrip which was great." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs I
Henley

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"Lovely to be by the water. Staff and guide excellent.

Boat trip disappointing as very little seen. Less birds than expected.

Game drives very good. Fishing trip well worth doing." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr W.
Henley on Thame

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"This is a beautiful location and the camp is both smart and comfortable.

The staff were delightful and the service was excellent. We saw lots of great game with some magical moments such as watching a family of elephants crossing the river.

We had a lovely sighting of a leopard and her cub which went on for over an hour.

Simon, our guide was very patient and gave us a wonderful experience on and off the water.

Our kids love catching fish!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

LDB
Vancouver

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2022
"Shinde provided very comfortable accommodation, excellent food and service.

I was unhappy with management's choice of guest pairing for game drives and requested a change which was kindly accommodated, however, this meant I had to sacrifice a couple of game drives.

Sightings were not exceptional, but my guide, Salani, was excellent, and a couple of night drives were particularly special." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2022
"This was our 3rd stay at Shinde, which tells it all. It is a adorable little intimate camp situated at a permanent lagoon which allows an authentic safari experience.

Every possible comfort is being catered for. Each tent offers all luxury needed and further allows splendid views across the Delta. The staff is always there, fun to chat with and makes you feel at home from the very first moment.

The Shinde concession is huge, so you will not get any vehicle traffic. Special thanks to the legendary Mr Bee for his excellent guiding. Spotted three leopards in just one day (morning, evening, night) and this despite the high grass during March.

Hope to be back soon. Shinde and K&D will simply never disappoint." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Texas Don & Cindy
USA

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2021
"We arrived at Shinde the day after Botswana had initiated a "no alcohol in public places" order due to covid. This had us a bit concerned but we were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown where the adult beverages were kept so that we could help ourselves.

I believe the camp has nine tents and it was less than half occupied.

The amenities, food, guides, staff were all top notch. Everyone was so happy to have us and did a great job of making us feel at home.

The wildlife was plentiful and our guide Kenny had an eagle eye, spotting a cheetah at least a km away." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Louise & David
UK

"Shinde Camp surpassed all expectations!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our first trip to Botswana and the Okavango Delta and we fell in love with this place! Everything was absolutely first-class, from the immaculate accommodation to the attentive service and from the delicious food to the exceptional guiding but above all to the beauty of Shinde and the people who work here.

On our first morning our wake-up call at 5.30am was a ‘Hello Good Morning’ before a woman in African dress came into our room balancing a tray on her head carrying a tea pot, cups and saucers, milk, biscuits!

In spite of the heat (36 to 40 degrees!) we joined in every activity: mokoro, motorboat, fishing, guided walk, game drives - we made the most of every moment at Shinde and enjoyed the company of other guests as well as many of the guides and managers who joined us for meals when we exchanged tales and experiences. On return from our mokoro trip two elephants had wandered into camp and were barring our way. The Guides assured us all was fine and that they would browse on the Amarillo tree fruits for a while and move on, we were more than happy to wait and enjoy their company!

The birdlife here is incredible, we noted down more than 60 different birds but there were many many more we didn’t have time to record. The lion sightings were remarkable, lions in trees, a lioness with cubs, elephants and hippos happily crossing the water in front of our little boat and so much more.

A paradise! It was very hard to leave!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Great Safari at Shinde Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2019
"The camp is in a lovely setting by the lagoon. It has a lot of similarities with Dinaka (both are owned by Ker & Downey). The staff is very attentionate and always happy to share a dance and a song..

The game drives with my eternally smiley guide Simon were great - he was incredibly patient when we decided to "follow" a cheetah for a few hours... to witness a kill.

I also went fishing on 2 occasions and the chef kindly prepared the breams that night to share at dinner with the other guests. During the boat and mokoro excursions, I was very lucky to have 5 sightings of the elusive sitatungas! Overall, a lovely camp with varied activities and great sightings." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

AS.
Northwood

"Beautiful site by the lagoon."

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2019
"A delightful camp, in a lovely setting by the lagoon, and with very attractive communal areas. Relaxed and friendly staff, led by the manager, Thuso. Excellent food, and the tea with our wake-up call was most welcome.

Our guide, Lucky, was outstanding, with great knowledge of the flora and fauna, which he shared extensively with infectious enthusiasm. He also talked freely about life and society in Botswana. We very much enjoyed the time we spent with him.

Good for wildlife, and our mekoro trip was enchanting. Our paddler, BT, succeeded in spotting a sitatunga (not on your checklist for this camp). Lots of lechwe, reedbuck, tsessebe, a side-striped jackal and many different birds." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 94
94%
94 reviews of Shinde Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
22
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (202 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (127 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (84 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (74 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (71 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings.


96% (66 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


96% (59 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


98% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (37 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


95% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (36 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game-viewing area.


92% (34 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (20 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (18 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


93% (16 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (14 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


94% (13 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


95% (11 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


98% (8 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


84% (5 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa