This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp
Shinde Camp

Reviews of Shinde Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shinde Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shinde Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

60% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Buffalo

43% success

Roan antelope

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B
Victoria

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"It was a bit of a shock coming from the solitude of a mobile camp to a lodge with other tourists, however it was a great lodge and the rooms were fantastic - so spacious and comfortable.

In fact the whole lodge was designed really well - loved how it's been built to incorporate existing trees. Loved the staff and loved the fact that the managers and guides ate with the guests. Far more interesting talking to them rather than just other tourists 😊 Impressed too with how they remembered everyone's names! Food not as good as Andrew's camp but I'm not sure anyone could match that.

Our guide, Ezekiel, was fantastic and really knowledgeable - he also had the most amazing eyesight. Was so easy to arrange different activities through him. Felt that nothing was too much trouble for him - that goes for all the staff there." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Aboyne

"Wonderful start to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2018
"A very knowledgeable, experienced and enthusiastic manager led an equally knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly team. Cleanliness, comfort and catering were of a very high standard. We loved the surprise bush dinners and sundowners.

Wilson was our very friendly, helpful guide who rapidly picked up our interest in birds as well as animals and local history. The mokoro polers were equally forthcoming. All had excellent spotting skills.

There many great game sightings but we all particularly enjoyed watching the fish eagle and saddle-back storks catching and devouring fish.

Our time in Shinde was too short. Safaris included early morning and evening drives of very good length. No opportunity was wasted.

Checklist booklet of birds and animals is a great idea. Thanks

Only minor criticism: no wi -fi connection for BT users" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Stefan
Memphis

"Very attentive staff"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"On our last night we were treated to a private candlelight dinner...unforgettable
great food, loved the attentiveness of all staff" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
Altrincham

"Great place - one of my favorites "

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"Beautiful place. One of the nices lodges in Africa that I know.
Location, service , attitude , game viewing, rooms, food - all was first class." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Kathy
Tucson, AZ

"Excellent camp, great food, lots of animals"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2017
"We traveled in late March. This is an excellent camp. The lodgings/food are a step above the other camps we stayed at (which were also excellent). Very comfortable, large rooms.

They had a commercial style kitchen, and the meals were outstanding. Lots to see on game drives. Highlight was a pack of wild dogs that lived nearby - we saw them every day, often while they were hunting. Hippos, elephants, lechwe - excellent variety of game. Guide was excellent, and we only had one other guest join us on game drives.

Few downsides to report. The mokoro boat ride was peaceful, but not that interesting. Should have done another game drive. Compared to other camps we visited, it seems like we traveled the same roads over and over again, rather than explore further - probably because of reserve size. The floors in the bathroom are lovely varnished wood - and extremely slippery when wet. My husband had a very bad fall near the shower.

Would love to come back here again." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Horsham

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"A very good camp and again our guide was very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Orpington

"Shinde Camp - Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We found this camp to be exceptional and our decision to return after five years was fully justified.

Accommodation is in a lovely tented room with spacious bathroom including excellent hot showers.

Stafff were all of the highest quality - a pleasure to deal with and all on permanent contracts.

Our guide was Mr B. Bee is an excellent safari guide, a lovely human being - a very impressive man.

Highlights:-

Seeing a cheetah walk slowly towards us out of the bush. A lion sleeping in the afternoon.

Private dining by candelight - a lovely surprise!

Lunch in the bush - another surprise at beautifully set tables.

Lots of activities - mekoro, motor boats, walking safaris, Off road varied game drives.

Never more than four sharing often a private game drive.

Only one slight disappointment now no longer able to visit the island that has the amazing colourful birds that we remember." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"A wonderful comfortable camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2016
"The warm, friendly and helpful staff all made us very welcome at this delightful camp. Hot water bottles in our bed and for the early morning drives was a touch of luxury.

Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and the general areas gave plenty of different areas to enjoy. We were treated to a very enjoyable quiet dinner in the Enclave on the first evening as we were only three guests and swapped stories with our guide under the full moon afterwards. The second evening was a fun barbeque in the bush to celebrate Botswana President's Day.

Our guide Tony was first class, very knowledgeable about his area and the game and a good tracker - giving us close encounters with a lion and a leopard. Our walking safari with him was another highlight as he shared his wide knowledge and bushcraft.

Minor disappointments were the mokoro outing where our poler did not show the same level of enthusiasm or knowledge. We were a little unsettled by "surprise" changes in arrangements at meal times but the manager Ursula was accepting of our gentle complaint." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms TG
London

"Shinde: Luxury in the Delta"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"A luxurious camp in a lovely location.

Extremely pleasant and welcoming staff.

Game not plentiful but steady and some splendid sightings." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Chris & Ammi
USA

"Great Safari at Shinde Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"Game drives were over the top. Lions, Lions and more lions. Leopards. Its fairly open terrain, so spotting the cats was maybe a little easier than in Moremi.

The lodge is well kept and "tents" if you can call them tents not 5 star rooms, very nice. Staff was very attentive and food was good. There is a mixed bag of guides at Shinde Camp, some very experienced and others less seasoned.

Your guide can make your game drive experience. Not making any complaints about the game viewing. Ours was exceptional. What the Shinde camp lacked in cultural experience, was made up for by the abundance of big cat experiences." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 88
93%
88 reviews of Shinde Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
22
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (190 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (124 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


97% (80 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (69 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (65 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (41 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (31 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


99% (27 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (13 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


93% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


100% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa