This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp

Reviews of Chitabe Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.
Libertyville

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chitabe. The camp staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to enhance our stay. Immediately on arrival, we were served lunch set out on the deck for just the two of us. The room was extra large, with both a fan and portable air conditioner, and even a hair dryer. The extra outside shower was very refreshing. The charging station in room included all plug types, including two Usb ports. Although this camp did not have wi-fi, they mentioned that it will be installed in the future, as they are losing business by not having it. One note concerning laundry of personal items – several of the lodges provided mesh laundry bags for personal items, eliminating the need to wash those ourselves.

We were lucky to arrive on a Monday, when they have a weekly cultural dinner in the Boma. The staff sang 3 native songs during our dinner.

Wildlife was abundant despite the very dry conditions. Our guide was excellent at tracking the predators. Of note was the lion pride with cubs, a hyena den with cubs, and especially fun to watch were two lions stalking warthogs, with one narrow escape after a long chase. Unfortunately, we failed to see any wild dogs again as the breeding female had been killed the year before.

The camaraderie of all the guests was excellent, with drinks around the camp fire and dinner at a communal table including guides and manager. The food and service were excellent, with the afternoon tea an outstanding highlight.

Due to a late morning flight to our next camp, our guide made sure we were still able to go on the early morning game drive. On our account, the early morning game drive was brought forward 30 minutes for everyone. We were dropped off directly at the airstrip where our luggage awaited. The service, food and rooms were impeccable at this camp.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Family R.H.S.
Zürich

"Very rich wildlife in Chitabe Concession"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"Chitabe Camp is a beautiful location in an area with an amazing wildlife and its staff is very friendly. Our guide (Tank) was very competent and showed a great passion to show us a maximum of wildlife and the diversity of the Chitabe landscape." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Chitabe is superb"

5 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"We had four objectives at Chitabe - Wild Dogs, Cheetah, Cats with Cubs and Leopards - and saw all four in our first 2 days out of 5. The variety of wildlife and habitats is excellent and although 5 nights is a long time to stay in one camp, we could quite happily have stayed longer. The guides were excellent and the people incredibly helpful and friendly. A superb experience and seeing a white rhino was an unexpected bonus." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wild dog

4 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr K & Ms S
Roswell

"Chitabe revisited - excellent again"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"In 2009, Chitabe was the first camp we visited and was the only one we chose to visit again on this (our second) trip to Botswana. I was very happy that we visited again - it was as good as we remembered, yet provided a very different experience.

The tents are very nice - I like the ones with sliding doors as at Chitabe much better than others with zippers. Greater ventilation would have been nice on those 100 degree (F) days. The food was excellent and provided in great quantity as always. The staff was always attentive and helpful. This was all as it had been on our first visit too.

What was different this time was the wildlife experience. Our first trip saw few elephants and many buffalo - on this trip it was the opposite. Bushbuck were in camp every day, and I think an elephant came to visit every day as well.

Gordon, our guide, was excellent - he could spot animals without even looking at them. (For example, on two occasions, he backed up after passing under a tree to show a giant eagle owl that he hadn't seen "directly" - just realized after going by "wait, that wasn't a branch!")

We had numerous elephant encounters, spending time with large breeding herds, including one large group spread across the road in front of us. We saw a female leopard both in and out of the tree where she had cached her kills, and a male leopard whose path through a large thicket Gordon successfully predicted. We saw some lions. Wild dogs had been out of the concession for a few days before we arrived, but Gordon found them on our last evening drive and the next morning as well. We also spent some quality time with a trio of spotted hyenas.

Gordon informed us that there are now (sometimes) white rhinos in the concession. That was immediately high on our list, but they were apparently out of the concession during our visit. We did encounter some people who were there just after us who did see the rhinos, so the possibility exists.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs T
Kent

"Amazing luxury at Chitabe Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"Our stay at Kalahari Plains was cancelled due to fire risk and Chitabe was substituted.
This camp was extremely luxurious with great location in a huge reserve. The game was brilliant! including a white rhino! Our guide was very knowledgable and the staff could not have been friendlier. The view from the room was super and the outdoor shower really great. The feeling of peace and pristine wilderness is what we really love about Botswana. The level of luxury was if anything OTT but a great thing to experience.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Inverness

"Chitabe Camp feedback"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Extremely welcoming, hospitable, friendly and efficient staff who made our stay a delight.

We cannot fault the accommodation or food.

Outstanding in every respect." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"Chitabe Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"The tents were perfectly positioned to get the worst heat of the day. They were designed so that their was no cross breeze, so even if there was a little wind, it was blocked by the canvas. No ceiling fan, just a cheap floor fan and one swamp cooler, which quit working the first night. Our safe didn't work and we found out it hadn't for some time and our neighbors found a broken toilet on arrival.

The management is unengaged and the attitudes made me a little uncomfortable. Any problems brought up to the management were answered with, we'll take care of it, but then nothing would happen. I heard there are plans to re do the common areas and to put in a new pool. Time and money would be better spent fixing the guest tents.

Scheduling for wake-up, drive start time and end time, meals, cocktails, allowed for no flexibility. Heaven forbid you were watching an interesting animal encounter on the afternoon game drive. You had to get back to camp. It just wasn't a welcoming place and it was due to how the camp is managed. I experienced this at the other Wilderness Safari camp where we stayed, and I will avoid them in the future.

The staff outside of management was very nice and our guide OD was knowledgable. Game viewing was good." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
London

"Fabulous animal viewing "

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Fabulous animal sightings.

Camp has a relatively small communal area and is due a facelift which is booked next January and all the comments we had about the noisy walkways and general areas are being addressed .

All meals were on one large table . " See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sds & Kss
London

"Chitabe was spectacular"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"On the edge of the delta, after a short flight from our previous camp, Kwara.

The Camp is not a water based camp but there are areas of water close by, shallow waters.

A truly luxurious experience in the wild. The lodges are on stilts as are all the walk ways, The amazing experience starts when you are collected from the airstrip. The person explains who they are, how long it will take to get to the camp and although he is not a guide will point out animals as we drive towards the camp.

All staff are friendly, courteous and welcoming. At the bar, Jay and his team were always smiling and made us lovely mocktails. Food was lovely not always our choice of vegetarian meal but we could see the effort made with limited bush ingredients to make it interesting for us.

The sightings were truly amazing, we saw 4 lionesses on a kill just outside the camp one evening. the same lionesses on other days with 10 cubs and another day where 2 male lions had joined the group in eating another buffalo carcass. Ebs our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate. On some morning drives ,as it led to interesting sightings. we were out from 6 to 12. Ebs would always ask if everyone was ok to extend as it was an exciting sighting. We saw most of what we had on our wish list and even more but it was truly a great experience because of the guide's engagement with everyone on the jeep. Even having a flat tyre became an experience where we helped.

As one of the higher cost camps, we had high expectations. I can say they were met and exceeded. All managers talked to all the guests, welcomed back after each drive and joined the dinners. Well done Chitabe and thank you Expert Africa for the recommendation. We will be back one day!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wilts

"One of the best!"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"Ultra friendly staff, professionally run, wonderfully knowledgeable guide who was always went the extra mile." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 63
96%
63 reviews of Chitabe Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa