This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp

Reviews of Chitabe Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Dr K
Singapore

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2015
"Spent three nights here. Excellent facilities.

The drives are 'full-on' but then we saw so much too, including a leopard on two occasions and two prides of lions." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Guidford

"An absolute gem"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2014
"A more relaxed, gentler feel. Very welcoming and a great layout with the best tents of the trip. it was the only pool I enjoyed using, and the library is a great place to crash in between drives.

Each drive produced a surprise, from our only cheetah to a leopard making a kill and feeding her cub. Bush buck and monkeys move between the tents and we were woken on our last morning by an elephant snoring behind us.

The only negative comment was that the food was good but not great. This is however a camp that I would very much enjoy going back to. Absolutely the right way to finish the safari." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Middlesex

"Chitabe Camp Safari"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"A very comfortable camp in a location full of wildlife, if somewhat spread out. The camp staff were very helpful and extremely attentive and our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly.

The Land Rover trips were long and very bumpy at times but the rewards at the end of each run were spectacular. We thought the Lions and Leopards were thrilling but when or guide found a Cheetah, words cannot describe our excitement." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Kidderminster

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"This camp probably had the best game viewing. We saw everything - lions with cubs, leopards, cheetah, wild dogs, etc.

It was a very comfort6able camp and perhaps the most luxurious of all three camps." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"We met Anthony off our midday flight, and he took us to the camp, where we were shown our lovely room, and had a late brunch. During our stay here, we saw many birds, elephant, giraffe,monkeys, baboons, zebra, wildebeest and large herds of impala as well as kudu, bushbuck and tsessebe.

Our first sundowner was overlooking a lagoon area with hippo and many birds, and yet another fantastic sunset. Followed a large male leopard for a while, then found two large lions, and then tracked a cheetah to it's kill. Such tremendous viewings in such a short time, and so close to us. Wild dogs at an impala kill with the puppies eating whilst the adults looked on.

Close to our room, shown a bushbaby and a genet in the trees, and on another evening an elephant prevented some of the guests getting to dinner until the staff chased it away. Viewed the hippos and huge crocodiles from our position having coffee, and later on spent some time looking at a female cheetah with her two cubs playing in the open - wonderful. Found the cheetahs again on our short last morning, playing with their kill, and fantastic watching them so close. Driving around and saw many animals, and came behind two lionesses, one very pregnant, both watching tsessebe. Lovely camp and a good guide." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
California

"Chitable Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"With regard to facilities, Chitabe was a bit of a disappointment in relation to Little Vimbura. The tents were not as private (tho' outside shower was nice), and the placement of the tents made the heat almost unbearable in the afternoon. A ceiling fan would have helped a lot in this regard. The staff were generally nice, but nowhere near the personal quality at Little Vumbura.
We also did not care for our guide, who was almost indifferent to us. The food was O.K./good and liked where we ate (both outside and in very nice dining area). Connie - "the chief of staff" - was terrific, tho' she seemed to be doing too much herself.
That being said, the animal viewing was OVER THE TOP, and for that reason would recommend Chitabe and or the area to anyone and everyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Wales

"Superb service at Chitabe and Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"Chitabe Camp was an excellent choice to start our two week Botswana Safari - "Thank you Megan" (Expert Africa) for your suggestion.

The rooms/tents were very smart, spacious and comfortable and the camp well laid out with beautiful decor and furnishings. On our first night there we were surprised with an anniversary meal laid out for us in a private setting by the pool - so thoughtful and much appreciated.

The raised boardwalk to and from the rooms was an adventure in itself never knowing what you were going to encounter next - elephant, bushbuck, giant eagle owls not to mention the numerous, cheeky tree squirrels!

Drives were always eventful with plentiful wildlife around - highlights being the den of painted dog (wild dog) pups and the numerous leopards obligingly posing up trees - and Oats, our guide, had the experience to anticipate the animals intentions and manoeuver accordingly to get the best view/photos. Unfortunately we just missed out on seeing two tiny leopard cubs with mum who had been entertaining guests for a few weeks - c'est la vie - it just gives us something to return for.

Nobody wants to be ill/injured on holiday, but if you are then this is one of the best places to be!! Managers Connie and Chris, plus the rest of the team couldn't have been more efficient or helpful when my husband's back problem took a turn for the worse. Medication was flown in from Maun and Connie arranged for us to stay an extra three nights at the sister camp, Chitabe Lediba, for further recuperation time. Without this we would not have been able to continue with the holiday so a huge THANK YOU to Connie and Wilderness. Many thanks also to Nick and Expert Africa for rearranging the flights.

One final thank you to Moalosi, one of the managers of Chitabe Lediba, for being such great company for my husband when he was eventually back on his feet and I was off on game drives. We both loved Lediba; the same great rooms but with doors to the loo and shower instead of just a screen, excellent food (they obviously had a different chef to the main camp) and a more intimate feel being only five rooms instead of eight. Kay and Luke also deserve a special mention for their impromptu ballet display led by Moalosi - soon to be shown on national TV!!

We would return to either of these camps in a flash. Go if you get the chance." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mr L
New York

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"Much more varied game here than at the other camps we stayed at. Gordon, our guide was excellent - knowledgeable and with a warm personality.

Comfortable room and enjoyed the outdoor shower and abundant hot water (didn't like minimal privacy for toilet in room). Also appreciated the hot water delivered to the room in the morning.

Very accommodating staff - including camp manager Connie who made us feel very welcome and met all of our special needs requests (like separate dining for our group, special food for sundowners, etc.) Nice pool area. Game drives were wonderful and we saw all imaginable game - appreciated the hot water bottles and warm lined ponchos." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
New York

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"We saw a greater variety of animals at this camp than the others and it was wonderful. But we had to make a special request to have our own table at dinner time, which was a bit of a challenge.

See my suggention in my comments on Duma Tau that the morning rides should start at 8 am rather than 6:30." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
PG Wales
UK

"Chitabe camp"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2014
"Excellent in every respect. Fantastic range of game including leopard with very small kittens, lions with a giraffe kill and several sets of lions mating.

The guide was outstanding in finding game and also his knowledge and explainations. We appreciated the hotwater bottles and warm ponchos on early morning drives." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 63
96%
63 reviews of Chitabe Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa