This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp

Reviews of Chitabe Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Prof & Ms M
Santa Fe

"Chitabe Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"Not as luxurious as Vumbura, but still a very nice experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs m
Glasgow

"cool chitabe!"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2014
"it was a well managed camp and very happy staff. we had some great sightings e.g. 9 wild dogs with a kill. B.B. was a great guide.

somewhat overwhelmed by the concentration of American guests. In fact we were the only non Americans!

The camp was 45 minutes from the air strip which made it tiring after a 24 hour trip.

Hot water bottles in bed and on early morning safaris were very welcome. Glad that we included fleece jackets, woolly hats and gloves in our luggage!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss D
Kensington

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2014
"We had a fantastic guide and saw lots of really good game (some amazing leopard and lion sightings). Nothing was too much trouble for him and he had a great sense of humour. All the staff at the camp were incredibly friendly and helpful.

I was disappointed that the camp did not know I was vegetarian even though I had specified that on the booking form. The food was ok, but there was certainly plenty of it. I did not feel that they made a particularly special effort on the vegetarian front compared to what was being offered to the meat eaters." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Berkshire

"Chitabe Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2013
"Much the same comment as Kwara.

Food a little better but not much.

Staff exceptional, friendly, helpful and efficient.

Saw full range of game ." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr E & Ms P
Spain

"Best Game Drives"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Lack of proper management. Great guide OTZ (he gave us very insightful lectures about environment and ecosystems; wild life, etc...).

The food was horrible; too spicy and always far from European or American taste. And the coffee was not filtered but just the soluble stuff; terrible as well.

It was extremely cold at night and in the morning drives; I still do not understand why we could not leave a little later after the sun had come out; it is not that the schedules were that strictly kept. We were on vacation and the time schedule was insane. You cannot finish serving me dinner until past 10pm and expect me to be up at 5:30 next morning. Meal times were not kept. These opinions were shared by most of the people we met with there.

As it happened when we arrived in Little Vumbura, we skipped lunch that day and got to the camp at 1:30 (breakfast had been at 7:00 and usually consisted of just toasted bread) and although we were asked and told them we had not had any lunch, they said that tea would be at 3:30 and so we were given no other option but to wait. I found that quite unwelcoming. The tent was considerably smaller that little Vumbura and the amenities were not as good (bath robe, slippers...).

The laundry service was unacceptable: clothes came back stained and unpressed. And one of my blouses got misplaced and had to ask for it many times before it came back completely wrinkled. The two other camps laundry service was first class compared to this one." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs LS
Hampshire

"Wildlife variety and abundance"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2013
"Probably the best overall Camp, yet again the Manager was not forthcoming, or warm. You must remember from whence we have just come. Our guide, Anthony was most enjoyable, able and attentive.

We were made aware of a Lion Pride of seven, who had a successful Buffalo meal on Wednesday. On our first drive we came upon them enjoying the afternoon and experienced forty minutes of magnificently executed strategy to have another kill, a Giraffe. Many may not wish to witness such, however it is natural and the strategy execution and dance and admiring of success by the pride is most interesting. I named them the Magnificent Seven, after the famous movie.

Facilities are excellent and the hot water, tea in room at wake up a must. The availability of Mammal and Bird guides in the room is a plus for those afternoon note taking and relaxing.

The night drives are good, however difficult to post process red lights out of photo's. The animals safety, without doubt, is more important than the photos.

Again, wildlife around the walk ways makes it a never ending opportunity to enjoy. A Wildcat on tour deck at 2400, scouting the area near the Lagoon was a nice surprise.

Disappointed that the expectations of our metal water bottles was not deliverable. Ran Out. A quality Wilderness Safari Group Camp?

Going to forward to us, I will not hold my breath." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wiltshire

"Chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2013
"There is no doubt from our second visit and from what other visitors were saying at other camps that Chitabe is right at the top of the game viewing stakes. In our first 24 hours we saw lions, Leopards, wild dogs, cheetah and a herd of buffalo about a thousand strong. It doesn't get much better than that.

The camp in terms of service is well managed (but see my overall trip comments for a major concern) - it is owned by a separate company and has a few touches beyond the normal Wilderness feel. Our dietary requirements had not reached them but once told they were fantastic." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Berkeley

"Amazing Game Viewing and Guiding at Chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2013
"3 days at Chitabe provided our quintessential game viewing experience -- in 21 days enjoying African game parks.

The game was present and the guiding was committed, determined and successful -- we even experienced a 10 hour all-day drive [we were met with a bush lunch served with tables and chairs -- amazing]. On this particular drive we witnessed a cheetah spot, chase and kill an impala, saw leopard brothers guarding their kill tied in a tree, followed a pack of wild dogs through the bush on their hunt, observed a pride of lions from 2 meters, resting after their kill ... and more. We really appreciated our guide's high motivation and ability to deliver -- the guiding here is serious, and each group of guests felt they had the "best" guide -- quite a testament.

Accommodations were luxurious beyond expectations, food was delicious and almost too generous, staff and guides were very sociable and sophisticated, and our cultural evening, which included dances, was really appreciated. Exceeded all expectations." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Another great trip to Chitabe"

4 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2013
"I love Chitabe for its wildlife. This was my 3rd trip to the concession and I met so many people on our trip who seemed surprised that I was visiting places I'd been before. I had no problem at all with going back to Chitabe and taking Mum for her first visit as we have enjoyed it so much in the past. We were not disappointed. 4 nights meant that we could relax and enjoy quieter drives as well as the excitement of times when we saw predators. We had amazing lion sightings including juvenile males who were play fighting so much that they disturbed their mothers on a hunt and a more successful hunt that ended with some very hungry lions getting a good meal. We also loved seeing and being with the wild dogs on several occasions, seeing leopard and also a cheetah (with cubs who I'm keeping my fingers crossed for).

Guiding was excellent. Our guide was Oats who was always keen to get out on drives and we were more than happy to be out in the landrover than spending too long in camp. Oats was a great guide who made sure we got an education as well as taking pictures. Tracks, droppings, termite mounds, trees.....you name it, Oats could explain it and would then quiz us on it! We loved it.

Camp was lovely as usual. Friendly staff (especially Kris and Masedi), great in a crisis (rescuing me from a very large spider) and made sure everything ran smoothly. Camp was busy in terms of number of guests but it still felt very relaxed. Food all very good, particularly carrot cake!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs & Mr M
Florida

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2013
"The management at this camp was not very visible. The staff performed well enough, however.

We saw a tremendous variety of animals here with our guide, Gordon, who had had a lot of experience tracking. We were able to watch lions on several occasions stalking but not succeeding in catching a Giraffe and a Kudu. We also saw more birds than you could imagine. At this time of year it is interesting to see the mating interests of various animals." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 63
96%
63 reviews of Chitabe Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa