This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp

Reviews of Jacana Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jacana Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jacana Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Sitatunga

100% success

Elephant

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2020
"We were initially disappointed with Jacana although not through anything they were responsible for. Despite being listed as surrounded by water and offering mainly water activities they had not had any water around the supposed island for over a year. Their boats were all beached some distance away and not operating so the activities were only game drives - not what we were expecting. The delta had suffered from lack of rains last year and Jacana is surrounded by seasonal flood plains so in such an exceptional year can be left a bit dry.

Nevertheless our guide, Mr Bee, did his best and we had enough excellent sightings to make up for this. He too was a good birder. Memorable is the Pel's fishing owl in camp actually eating a fish. We drove to the permanent water of the Jao river near Jao camp where there was at least some remaining water and were rewarded by good views of sitatunga in the open due to the lack of their usual haunt amongst the marshy reeds.

We were also blessed with a long sighting of a lioness moving her three one month old cubs from their birth den across what should have been lagoon to a new den over a mile away" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Jacana was a great experience"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Jacana was surrounded by water at the time we visited and a deliberately chosen as a water based safari. To be honest we didn't really know what to expect and it was difficult to set any objectives. The wish list was really a Pels Fishing Owl and a Malachite Kingfisher. On arrival the team said they hadn't seen a Pels for three weeks! Great start. We saw a Malachite on the first boat trip along with some great elephant viewing in the water and a wide variety of birds.

The highlight of the stay was probably the trip in a Mokoro, so peaceful and relaxing and a great opportunity to quietly get close to birds, animals and frogs. The highlight was a great sighting of a Pels Fishing Owl but the birds and frogs were fascinating as well.

The camp was really good with friendly people and a great guide but on balance three nights was probably enough because there is a limited number of things to do. However we really enjoyed the experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

2 sightings

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2017
"Great place for water-based activities.

It a smaller and more basic camp than the others we visited in Botswana, but staff service was really great, and the activities were great, so recommended" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Always my favourite"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Even after 4 visits, dawn from the deck in front of Jacana is still a breathtaking sight, as are the sunsets over the water.
A fabulous spot for bird watching and we added a couple of kingfishers we hadn't seen before (the striped and a really excellent sighting of the giant). Our guide found the Pels fishing owl for us, both good sightings of a juvenile, and a fleeting sighting of the adult.
This is such a peaceful place and floating around in a mokoro or a boat makes a pleasant respite from bouncing around the bush on a truck.
We had an excellent guide (Broken) who, as a keen photographer himself, was excellent at getting the right positions for photos and for getting up close without disturbing the birds.
Our poler Gee also proved to be very knowledgeable and helpful.
On a night when we were the only people in camp they laid a beautifully decorated table for us for dinner, right by the water's edge.
This camp had the best staff 'choir' that we have ever encountered. It was a pity that, in order not to spoil the surprise of the boma dinner, we hadn't been warned to bring cameras.(Lesson -never go anywhere without one!)" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
A, T & H
London

"Pure Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2017
"Arriving here is a magical experience. The camp is small, relaxed, familial and an intimate part of the surroundings. A very special place. Guiding here was superb--done with sensitivity and quiet expertise." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L
Basingstoke

"Jacana Camp is in a beautiful location"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"A special camp, surrounded by and accessible only by water.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A beautifully decorated birthday cake was made for my husband and accompanied by staff singing Happy Birthday which was very much appreciated.

Our guide, Mr. Bee, was excellent and very knowledgeable. We had really enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Jacana Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2016
"Another small camp surrounded by water and a glimpse of paradise within a natural wonder. We love Jacana and although it is undoubtedly a water camp we saw a wonderful array of game and wading birds during several game drives onto the Jao floodplain.

We had the most wonderful sighting of a pair of leopard cubs and wonder of wonders not one but two otter sightings; the first of a family of spot necked in the channel to the boat station and the second of a group of Cape clawless fishing in one of the permanent channels. The camp was run wonderfully well and one could not fault the enthusiasm and efficiency of the staff. Our guide Mr Bee produced everything there was to see and more.

A memorable third stay in a highly recommended camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2015
"The setting and rooms were the prettiest of all our camps but only two days are needed because of limited activities.

Highlights: TH(guide) was fantastic in every way! Mokoro and sundowners was magical. Great birding. Close encounter with elephant at our deck. Paul was new (only two weeks) but very accommodating and had great stories regarding his previous life experiences.

Only low was that the food was less fresh than at other camps" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Middlesex

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, right from leaving the aircraft to the end of our stay. The location of the camp was excellent for both water based and land trips with a huge variety of wildlife "on-tap". How our guide found his way through all of the narrow reed channels remains a mystery to this day!

The bird life in the reed beds was spectacular and the excitement on being challenged by a very large bull Elephant along a narrow reed channel cannot be described!

On land, the highlight had to be the encounter with two lionesses and their four cubs, just feet from our Land Rover. What a safari!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Fabulous birds, game and lions in the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"To be met by the staff singing to us as we arrived from our long drive and boat trip from the airstrip was delightful. Our large, comfortable tent had lovely soft towels in the big bathroom and a magnificent outdoor shower.

We chose mainly water based activities, both by boat and mokoro, seeing a wide variety of birds and many hippo, but also enjoyed two game drives to see the variety of game and the resident lion pride.

Our guide and all the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, the food was excellent enjoyed around a large communal table with the other guests and guides." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 26
98%
26 reviews of Jacana Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa