This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp
Jacana Camp

Reviews of Jacana Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jacana Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jacana Camp.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Sitatunga

100% success

Elephant

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Yorkshire

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"Having had a slightly disappointing view of Wilderness camps on this trip compared to previous safaris, this camp restored our faith in them. I would say that it was almost faultless. We were lucky to have the best room (no.1) as it gave a great view, was slightly more isolated and faced the better side for wildlife. Saw elephant, red lechwe from the veranda and also wattled crane which I had never seen before.

We had a great time here. The staff were very welcoming especially the managers who I am aware have moved on now but also the rest of the staff. The food was great and service was never any trouble.

The guide was very good and he spent a long time looking for Pel's Fishing Owl for me with great effort unfortunately to no avail. We spent all our activities on the water which was a complete change from Namibia and very pleasant although we were happy to be back in jeeps at the next place. The mokoro does get a bit uncomfortable after a couple of hours! The guides were good at explaining more detailed wildlife and the okavango basin extremely well.

I would highly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Herts

"Idyllic retreat at Jacana camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"It may sound silly but we need to be told about lack of hairdryers!!! A walk around the isalnd would have been nice but never happened.

display of basketware was interesting but a bit contrived and we felt we had to buy something.

Kenny was a superb guide and tracker and very concerned that we were happy with everythng. He had a lot of respect for the animals and habitat which not everybody else had in the other camps.

More detail about the transfer time from air to the camp and the logistics would be helpful. Guides tend to underestimate the times needed and this can cause problems." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"peaceful and beautiful location"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"So glad we had the one night at Jacana with super boat trip there from Tubu.

Very relaxing place and small - which we like." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Water-based safari in beautiful surroundings"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"Impala on Jao airstrip made for an exciting landing. We were met by our guide Moruti who drove us to the jetty for our onward water trip to Jacana. We stayed in Room 1 (the Honeymoon Suite) which had an amazing panoramic view across the water and islands and a copper outdoor bath.

This was a relaxing 2 days of bird and game viewing spent on mokoro or motor boat. Activities started later in the morning than at other camps to give the weather a chance to warm up before hopping on a boat. The camp was managed by a husband and wife team, Andre and Este, who had moved to the camp from Jao just days before we arrived. They were so kind to us and made special arrangements for Moruti to take us to the neighbouring Pelo Camp to see their resident Pel's fishing owl.

We were also lucky enough to see a male and female sitatunga, a Goliath heron, a giant kingfisher and a collared sunbird. It was a lovely break from waking at 5am and being bounced up and down in a Land Rover/Land Cruiser." See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs m
Glasgow

"Peaceful oasis at Jacana"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2014
"We were welcomed by an all singing all dancing staff as we glided up to the camp on the boat which was lovely.

The managers Angie and William were very friendly and welcoming and a special mention for Kathy, who looked after our room. She came specially to point out a baby crocodile floating on a small log just outside our room which we would never have spotted on our own.

It was a quiet interlude in a busy schedule, although Janet was nearly joined in the outside shower by a large elephant quietly passing by! Janet also received another birthday cake with yet more candles and singing! A memorable day!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Jacan - Also Visit Two"

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2014
"This was also a second visit but our first since the rebuild. The new rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. As a break from the dryer camps Jacana is a gem, offering great water activities in addition to game drives on the Jao flood plain.

We had a wonderful 3 nights here largely due to the hugely successful management team of William and Angie combined with the amazing skills of our guide TH. We also met Renco again for whom nothing is ever too difficult. Although the team made great efforts to show us Pels and Sitatunga, we only managed a fleeting glimpse of the elusive fishing owl and not a hint of the even shyer water antelope. However, there is always something new; we saw and photographed Temmincks Courser which neither we nor our guide had seen before.

More importantly, after 12 years of trying, I managed decent pictures of the extremely shy Rufous Bellied Heron. Hooray! Despite the emphasis on water activities we also managed wonderful lion sightings of the Kwetsani pride with 5 cubs and a whole range of antelope and fantastic birds. Jacana is a very special and beautiful camp. Try it." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Wonderful camp, beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2014
"We loved this place. Wished we had booked for 3 nights rather than two. Disappointed we didn't see the Pel's fishing owl but the guides gave it a good try. This is a great place for bird sightings.

The manager was very personable and the guide extremely good, esp with bird ID. Sunsets and sunrises on the lagoon were spectacular." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Jacana, still one of my favourite locations"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"This is still one of my favourite places in Botswana. One of the most beautiful locations and wonderful for birdwatching.

Water based activities make a lovely change from game drives. Wonderful sunrises from the main area of camp.

The new bathrooms are lovely.

We were a little disappointed with the guiding there which was not up to Wilderness' usual high standards. Our guide was a really nice chap, but It seemed that we and our fellow guests, were more likely to spot things and we missed being able to watch several interesting events because we did not stop in time." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Newton Abb

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2012
"24hr power and hot water. Enjoyable island setting.

Water excursions made a nice change and were very relaxing." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
RP
Guildford

"Two days at Jacana"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2012
"Jacana island on which the camp is situated is a 15-20 minute boat ride from the 'mainland'. The water is why visitors would choose to come here. The staff were singing a welcome song for our arrival as the boat drew in and was tied up. This set the tone for our stay here. The service was excellent in every respect and all the staff were happy to fall in with our needs. However, after being escorted to our rooms to freshen up after our journey, we were prevented from going back to the communal area for tea by the arrival of three bull elephants placidly demolishing the vegetation around our rooms. The camp structure they did not touch however. In our previous camp, the policy was to keep the big game out with an electric fence. At Jacana, being an island where the only big game in daytime were elephants, the policy was to let them roam. It seemed to work. One must remember that the elephants were here long before Jacana Camp. We did get our tea, but half an hour later once the elephants had moved off.

The activities here included game drives, after the aforesaid 15-20 minute boat ride but, as we were to spend only two days here, we stuck to boat rides in the mornings (further afield) and mokoro trips in the afternoon/evenings (more romantic). Consequently we saw very little game (apart from the camp elephants of which we saw plenty) but we did see a huge variety of birds, many very close up! When we got home we bought a copy of Birds of Southern Africa just so that we could identify our photographs of them. Although our very knowledgeable guide had told us their names at the time, one quickly forgets ... We had the guide all to ourselves for the full two days because there was only one other couple at the camp during our stay. This made a huge difference to us, allowing us to choose the time and mode of our excursions, and could be said to have made our holiday.

Our room was of a very high standard with separate spacious bathroom/lavatory and plentiful hot and cold water. The food was very good, even lunch. Throughout our stay, there was careful attention to detail, but the whole atmosphere of the camp was very relaxed.

We would strongly recommend a short stay here to anyone who can appreciate the very beautiful watery location but we suspect that, beyond three or four days, some visitors may tire of the constraints of location and activities." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 26
98%
26 reviews of Jacana Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa