This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Yorkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2014 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 8 Sep 2014 and 29 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a great trip and Tracy helped us a lot with fixing it up and working out where to go. Thank you so much. I was slightly worried about not staying any longer than 2 nights in any place but this turned out to be right for the majority our trip. On reflection the only thing we found that we would have changed was in Etosha. The trip from Okaukuejo to Mushara was a long one considering that we had already done the main waterholes immediately east of Okaukuejo the day before and we basically bypassed them. By the end of the day we were very tired. It probably wasn't helped by the flat tyre we had. I would suggest thinking about stopping for 1 night in Halali camp. We didn't have time to do any waterholes north or west of Okaukuejo.

Sandstone trip from Swakopmund was a good trip. The driver had not long started working for the company. He was a good driver and was cautious driving along the beach. However he was a bit less good at the birds and all 4 of us knew more than him.

Swakopmund. We had two great evening meals. The first in the Jetty restaurant was superb and then at the Tug which wasn't quite as good but was enjoyable too. Great fish well presented, good service and a lively atmosphere. Highly recommend both. Neither very expensive by UK standards.

Driving. We had three long drives but set off early on all three and had arrived in time to do afternoon activities or just rest for a while. The drive from Swakopmund to Doro Nawas took about 6 hours. The coast salt road is a s good a tarmac with little traffic. The first 50-80 kms going in land on C35 were easy but the further we went the less good it became. There had been some recent grading work on some sections. We stopped in Uis. Petrol easy although one of the petrol stations was closed. Had coffee in the restaurant in town sorry forgotten its name. This was ok.

We didn't stop at Brandberg because of time really. The road was less good after Uis but ok. The D2612 was less good quality than before and needed a number of times to slow down. However it was in the process of being graded and the sections already done are in good condition. We got to Doro Nawas in time for the evening activity and this meant we had seen desert elephant really well that evening.

From Doro Nawas to Okaukuejo was a good trip. The gravel road was ok to Khorixas and then is tarmaced all the way. We stopped at the petrified forest which was good and worth seeing. We also stopped at the bakery in Outjo which was excellent as recommended.

The drive from Mushara to Windhoek was easy on the tarmac road with little traffic. We stopped at Otjiwarongo. The Kameldorn Garten had closed and we ended up in fast food restaurant.

Internal flights were excellent. All the pilots were helpful and friendly. The best flight was from Sossusvlei to Swakopmund. This went up the valley across Deadvlei and Sossusvlei, across the desert and then low up the coast past a couple of wrecks and many fur seals on the beach. Brilliant.

The internal flights in Botswana were all very good as well. All on time except when we had to wait for the other passengers to sort their luggage. We managed to find a bag which fitted the dimensions for the little planes. However it didn't seem to matter too much in Namibia but did in Botswana. We found a bag from Eagle Creek(American company on website but bought in Hathersage Derbyshire) a duffel bag which was the right size but quite expensive at £80. We also used some packing cubes for shirts, toiletries etc which made life very easy. the other passengers had a framed bag which was twice the recommended size and spent 40 mins arguing with the local airline and then having to put half their stuff in another bag provided by the airline.

We took a suitcase with us and it was easy to leave both at Windhoek and Maun airports with Wilderness. The only problem was we couldn't open it when we got back to Windhoek! Eventually opened at home.

Etosha. We really enjoyed Etosha. We could have done with more time. We in the end did not visit any waterholes to the west of Okaukuejo as we decided to do those east of there on our first day and then travel halfway on the second day before visiting waterholes. In the end we were very tired by the time we arrived at Mushara. The NWR map is useful. Waterholes:
Ombika Brilliant start. Many elephant, Oryx, Zebra, Springbok, Impala
Okaukuejo as stated elsewhere some great sightings. Worth visiting even if not staying. 8 rhino the highlight.
Aus Kudu, springbok, oryx, hartebeeste,
Nebrowni spotted hyena
Salvadora 3Lion with zebra kill, Jackal, lots of Wildebeest crossing Pan
Halali middle of day Giraffe, impala
Goas 53 elephant including many young in the middle of day. Really playing in water
Nuames more elephant
Near Springbokfontein Black rhino trying to mate
Dik dik drive many dik dik. Leopard seen by others
Klein Namutoni Elephant zebra giraffe kudu impala springbok
Most of the others were dry or had little game."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"This was an excellent camp. A great start to our safari. The accommodation was very good. The food was excellent with the best pancakes I have ever tasted and great lunches and dinners. The staff were very welcoming and always helpful. It was interesting to see the vegetable patch where they grow their own vegetables.

The guide was good showing us interesting tracks over the dunes and as there are few main animals making the most of every sighting and of the vegetation and scenery.

Our only concern was that the mosquito nets were for decoration and not function and it was the only place we got bitten!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Good accommodation and food. Location was good as close to the entrance of the dunes but there were a lot of people seemingly in the valley before us. Not sure whether there are camps within the Park etc.

The trip to Sousselvlei and Deadvlei was great as early and we were there before many others. Climbed Big Daddy which was hard but great for the views. It was very busy when we came down with many tourists. Good trip. Went to Sesriem canyon in afternoon which was quite interesting.

Had a good evening trip out for sundowners seeing an Aardwolf among other game. Very bleak landscape."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"This was excellent. The service when we arrived was brilliant - discussing and suggesting where to get a phone, booking dinner for us at restaurants for the two nights we were there and then taking us to the apartment. They also booked a restaurant for the following week in Windhoek.

Breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful.

Our booking here had been missed by Wilderness and we opted to upgrade rather than try a different guesthouse. This was to a 3 bedroom apartment on the ground floor of a block of flats with excellent sea views and a garage. It was extremely comfortable and although much more than we needed I would highly recommend it to anyone for a group of 6 people. Very close to the jetty and restaurants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"This was an excellent camp with great views. The room was very comfortable, the guide went out of his way for us to see elephants and took us on a long day trek which was great although we didn't see much he made a real effort to find some of the rarer big animals and we saw mountain zebra. Followed rhino tracks for about an hour and some lion too. The elephants were much easier to find than I expected (as they come to a village waterhole!) and we had great views of them on our own before other vehicles arrived. I believe that if the elephants are not around it would be a struggle to find a great deal to do here although the scenery is spectacular. Looking over the hills from a sundowner was fabulous.

We took ourselves to Twyelfontein on the second afternoon and enjoyed the trip around that with the local guide. It was interesting. We stopped at the petrified forest on our way north the following morning which was a pleasant and interesting stop too. Glad we did this in transit and not in the heat of the day.

This lodge was slightly disappointing in two respects. Firstly the staff (but not all) were not generally as welcoming and helpful as at most other places. We hadn't realised we were not full board before we arrived rather hot and bothered after the trip from Swapkomund, and thus there was a tricky conversation about the trips out. When we came to pay they really hadn't a clue about what we had had as extras and we could easily have got away with paying less than due. Having said that it was still a great place and would recommend it. As an aside it is an easy drive by 2x4 to the main lodge from the main road.

Secondly the food was very variable. Breakfast was excellent as was a barbecue one evening but some of the other meals were poor especially a spaghetti lunch. This was fed back there."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"We were very pleasantly surprised by this camp. It was much better than any National Park camps I have stayed in the past in South Africa (admittedly some years ago). The food, accommodation and location by the waterhole were great. Considering the numbers of people having dinner at the camp it was excellent food. The dinner was an especially good meal for just over £10. Wasn't so good so on service if you get there later in the evening compared to others. Food is effectively self service but the drinks were ordered (although probably better to buy at bar and take to table) and took a long time to come if you arrive later for the meal.

Room was comfortable with a fridge which was good to cool water for the following day. It was close to the waterhole and we were able to go down there for 10 mins easily if wished.

The service at reception was not particularly friendly and it struck me that they were tired and bored.

The real asset of this camp is the waterhole. We saw lots of animals here elephant, zebra, springbok, impala, giraffe, guinea fowl, sand grouse. At night we saw 4 lions the first evening and two the second, 2 rhinos the first evening and eight together the second: 1 white and 7 black including a baby . One of the rhinos came right up to the fence. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Even if not stopping here to stay it is worth looking at any time of day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"We enjoyed this camp with a good room which felt as if it was on its own, a very nice main building which was fresh and well maintained, a good location outside the park yet only 10 mins away and excellent service and food. The dinner by the boma fire was particularly good and other food of high quality.

The service was friendly and helpful. The meals were eaten together but at separate tables i.e. not communal like many other camps. Have to watch out for the tree squirrels pinching food. Also had Warthog and Common Duiker and various birds really close on the lawn and heard Lions roaring at night although they are in another concession.

We didn't do any of the activities arranged by Mushara as we drove ourselves into the park on our full day there."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2014
"This was a nice guesthouse. They were helpful when we arrived and telling us where the restaurant we had booked was and other requests. They provided us with a fabulous early breakfast.

The room was pleasant although it would have been nicer with a door to the toilet rather than a curtain. It was perfect for us in that it was close to the arrival spot from the north relatively easy to get out for the airport and extremely close to the restaurant which we went to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"Having had a slightly disappointing view of Wilderness camps on this trip compared to previous safaris, this camp restored our faith in them. I would say that it was almost faultless. We were lucky to have the best room (no.1) as it gave a great view, was slightly more isolated and faced the better side for wildlife. Saw elephant, red lechwe from the veranda and also wattled crane which I had never seen before.

We had a great time here. The staff were very welcoming especially the managers who I am aware have moved on now but also the rest of the staff. The food was great and service was never any trouble.

The guide was very good and he spent a long time looking for Pel's Fishing Owl for me with great effort unfortunately to no avail. We spent all our activities on the water which was a complete change from Namibia and very pleasant although we were happy to be back in jeeps at the next place. The mokoro does get a bit uncomfortable after a couple of hours! The guides were good at explaining more detailed wildlife and the okavango basin extremely well.

I would highly recommend this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"This camp was good but we were a bit disappointed by the guiding. The buildings and rooms were very good and comfortable. The food and service around the camp was of high quality.

The guide assigned to us didn't listen to what we wished to do at our arrival. We were the only arrival that day and the rest of the guests were leaving. We therefore seemed to get shooed into what he wanted us to do. We enjoyed parts of the water safari down to the heronry but the trip on the boat was too fast at times and coming back we just had flies hitting us in the face. It was too far in the time available.

One of the trips we had a different guide who was the manager of the camp. He took only the two of us out. We had a wonderfully interesting and good safari with a lioness and a lot of other game. The contrast was notable. The original guide did find some other game later and was pleasant enough but the first impression was not too good. Interestingly we met other people who went to both here and lagoon and they had similar concerns about the guiding feeling that it was the mangers fault."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Arriving at Lagoon camp was just amazing. On the deck overlooking the river, watching about 70 elephants with young cross over to the islands in the middle distance was just extraordinary. What a place to finish our holiday.

The camp and room were excellent and the food very good. The bedroom must be about the most luxurious "tent" it is possible to stay in with a huge room, large bathroom and shower an the external shower as well. A long communal table helped us chat with others and we had excellent company there. Heard many hippo around at night but none seen nearby.

The guides were very good and we had a great piece of tracking done by one of them looking for a leopard which they found for us. He also tracked a lion successfully. We had fabulous views of wild dog chasing warthog into a termite mound and biting a spotted hyena which got too close. On the final morning we were heading back to leave when they found another leopard 10 mins before we were due to leave and we were able to watch this one for another 30 mins before having to leave.

There was a very pleasant sundowner on the river where we able to watch elephant crossing the river from nearby and then see some birds and animals as we went slowly along. This was a much better trip than that at Little Kwara."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team