This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Tubu
Little Tubu
Little Tubu
Little Tubu

Reviews of Little Tubu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

12 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Tubu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 12
Duration
Arrival date
Ms V
USA

"Little Tubu review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2018
"A wonderful camp in all respects. Wonderful staff. Beautiful rooms, and relaxing decks with a fantastic view.

Fantastic food with meals individualized for each guest's preferences (and the only camp that managed to create truly vegan meals).

Dinner was served under the stars in a different location each night, and each arrangement had a magical atmosphere. " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Little Tubu review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"It took BA/SAA 3 days to get our luggage to us. The lodge made a special effort to get our only clothes laundered in the midday break of our only full day there, for which we were truly grateful.

As with all of the lodges, the staff were excellent - constantly smiling and nothing was too much trouble.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Shattock
UK

"A lovely intimate and relaxed camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2015
"Little Tubu was the perfect way to end our safari trip, the small size means everything is be flexible and relaxed.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and as the team is small you really got to know people. The welcome was very warm and friendly and this continued throughout our stay.

The rooms are of a very high standard and very spacious and comfortable." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & P
Belgium

"Truly memorable stay at Little Tubu !"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"We had chosen Little Tubu as last safari camp for our trip, and it absolutely delivered, in any possible way, as a "grand finale"!! Everything was perfect: truly stunning rooms and views; inventive, extremely varied and fresh, and always seriously good food (!); extremely high service level, genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff... all were the best we have experienced on this trip, and on many previous holidays!

We were a group of five, and as such, had the camp to ourselves, which made it an extra special experience, one we shall never forget! We absolutely want to thank everyone at this lovely camp, because they all went out of their way to make us feel genuinely welcome and to not want to leave at all ! We honestly can't think of anything that could have been improved. Keep up the extremely good work guys, we would definitely love to return to Little Tubu !

Finally, a special note goes to our guide, Dennis. He did an absolutely fantastic job! Always enthusiast, positive and humorous, and very knowledgeable ! We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives - loved the leopard-mother-with-teenage-son-sighting - and boat/mokoro trips (saw some beautiful birds during the latter!). Finally, we also very much loved the walking safari: we found it exciting and perhaps a bit frightening at first, but learned everything we always wanted to know about termites, and bush men hunting/firemaking techniques!

Top marks for Wilderness Safaris, for having sent Dennis to be our guide, as he is a qualified walking safari guide, and there aren't that many around in Botswana. As we had indicated beforehand that we were interested in doing a walking a safari, they specially transferred him from the camp he usually works at (Kwetsani) to Little Tubu for us. That is what we call splendid customer service ! Thank you !!




" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Switzerland

"Great intimate experience"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2015
"Wonderful tent, luxurious with great view and lovely outdoor shower.

From the 3 days on 2 we were 4 guests and one day we were just with our hosts and enjoyed a very intimate atmospere! The staff and the guide were outstanding. Their services were excellent in every respect and detail as was the food.

Safari: wonderful landscapes, successful game driving. Highlight was to stay an hour 3 meters from a lepard mother with her cube.

" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Chile

"Excelent Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"Staff very welcoming and hospitable.

All meals were excellent. Best of the four camps we stayed at.

Elevated walkways give a sense of safety in evening and morning.

The guide was extremely good." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Chile

"Little Tubu"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"The location, staff, facilities and activities were outstanding. This camp, our last, made us desire to stay even longer than our three nights. We had the "place to ourselves" and we were pampered beyond belief.

Since we were the only guests - just three tents - we had a chance to talk freely and ask the questions that we had gathered during our stay in Botswana. We are so impressed with government programs and management of their country. In this camp we were introduced to a large variety of Africans from places nearby and from other countries who were articulate about their lives and their choice of professions and the training that was required. Each individual staff member at this camp were outstanding individuals yet managed to work as a highly skilled team.

Our deep appreciation to Botswana, the concessions and above all, the people that have been selected to run the camps." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T
California

"Little Tubu review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Little Tubu, our last stop, proved to be somewhat of a surprise. There were some less than glowing reviews on Trip Advisor when it first opened, but what ever problems there might have been are no longer. We weren't expecting terrific game viewing and yet that is what we experienced. Johnny, our guide, was wonderful, and almost met the extraordinarily high standards of our guides at Dulini and Savuti. The lion sightings at Tubu were truly memorable. We also thoroughly enjoyed the bush walk with the elderly bush man who showed us how to make an animal snare and to make fire in a matter of seconds. All of those participants on the TV program, Survivor, should take a few lessons from him!!

As previously stated, the tents at Little Tubu are extremely spacious and comfortable. Both indoor and outdoor showers are delightful. The food and service were amazing. Although a bit separated, the three Little Tubu tents are really not very far from Tubu Tree and its twelve tents. We were not expecting the two camps to be quite so close together, although Little Tubu is definitely run as a separate camp with totally separate dining facilities. The boma dinner the last evening of our trip, held under a magnificent full moon, left us with memories of a lifetime!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"great place and great safari"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Enjoyed the company of Philly - fun manager from Kwazulu" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss D
Kensington

"Little Tubu review"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2014
"Little Tubu was simply fantastic. Our host, Gerad (?), was outstanding and made it so much fun. The service is personal and you get the feeling that every single member of staff is working like crazy to make sure the guests have the best possible experience. It was nice to be in a small camp after Chitabe. It had a much more authentic bush feel to it, especially as we were away from the tourists dressed head to toe in khaki carrying enormous camera lenses!

The location of the camp is beautiful and I am really glad that we stayed in both a land based and water based camp. I'm also glad we stayed at Little Tubu last as I don't think I would have enjoyed Chitabe so much after the magical experience we had at Little Tubu.

Our guide was also excellent. He was patient and even zipped off and found a leopard while we were waiting at the airport for our departure flight.

I cannot praise Little Tubu enough. However, they also did not know I was vegetarian when I arrived. Not only was this on my booking form but I had asked Chitabe to radio this message through to Little Tubu to make sure they knew. It was very disappointing that this had not been done. As a result, I think Little Tubu were unprepared and one day I had the same dish (vegetable curry) for lunch and dinner.

I think the camps do need to up their game a bit with vegetarian options as they are not anywhere near the standard and variety of what is on offer to meat eaters. Having said that, the food was always of a high standard, plentiful and beautifully served so it feels a bit petty to complain!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 12
100%
12 reviews of Little Tubu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa