This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr AJ & Mrs VA from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

June 2018 trip

Botswana between 30 May 2018 and 15 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"great

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

no"

Arranged By Megan Green


Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Sable Alley review"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2018
"Not sure why we needed a tracker as well as a guide - it was somewhat annoying when they were in conversation between themselves, quite clearly on matters not affecting us.

ie we didn't have the whole attention of the guide"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ghoha Hills

"Ghoha Hills"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2018
"separate feedback already given"
Average
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"This camp was the star of our previous trip and it didn't disappoint on this repeat visit - would go there again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2018
"Whilst the animal sightings below might suggest plenty of animals, the density of "lesser" creatures was not great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

"Duba Plains"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2018
"By far the best variety and density of animals

In addition to those listed, rhinos 4 sightings and pangolin 1"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2016 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 22 Aug 2016 and 7 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a delightful safari.

Mention should be made of Wilderness Safaris in Maun, who on learning of our loss of luggage immediately took over the task of locating it and produced within a matter of minutes two emergency bags for us. After nearly 24 hours of travel their "don't worry we will sort it" approach was most welcome.

Our road transport from Kasane to the border was in a safari vehicle - driving at 40/50 mph in an open vehicle, being blasted by the wind, was extremely uncomfortable. Fortunately the second vehicle over the border was a normal minibus."

Little Tubu

Little Tubu

"Little Tubu review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"It took BA/SAA 3 days to get our luggage to us. The lodge made a special effort to get our only clothes laundered in the midday break of our only full day there, for which we were truly grateful.

As with all of the lodges, the staff were excellent - constantly smiling and nothing was too much trouble.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2016
"As with all the camps, the staff were lovely.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"The guides at all four camps were excellent, but a special mention should be made of Ona (and one other) who was a delight to be with and to share his knowledge. We even had one evening lesson on how to find one's way using the Southern Cross!

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!

As at all camps, the staff were wonderful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau Camp

"DumaTau Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"This camp has a significant problem. The orientation of the rooms is such that the balconies are in full sun - without any shade - for that part of the day when guests would want to use them, from midday to gone 3 o'clock. The canvas walls are heating up during this time and the presence of small animals prohibits the door being left open to admit a draft. Two fans help a little, but only re-circle the air. The only relief from the increasing heat is to use the common areas which are open to the cooling breezes. The problem can be solved, as it has for the bar area, by installing wind-down blinds. As is stands at the moment, I would be strongly advising future travellers to avoid this camp, which would be a shame because in all other respects, it was lovely.

Our guide here, Lazy (Lazarus) was excellent and with Ona at Little Vimbura, was our other "10 out of 10" rating.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"It is a hotel - a very comfortable one - but if suffers in comparison with safari lodges in not having the companionship of common meal tables and meeting fellow travellers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team