This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp

Reviews of Selinda Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs MW
W London

"Beautiful Selinda Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"A great camp with a beautiful location and a luxurious feel.

A good mix of water and land-based activities. A great guide.

We enjoyed every minute." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2018
"Whilst the animal sightings below might suggest plenty of animals, the density of "lesser" creatures was not great." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Liphook

"Safari in Selinda Camp Kwando-Linyanti "

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2018
"We were so impressed by our arrival at Selinda, being met on the airstrip driven to the water and whisked down the Spillway at speed through the waterlilies and past the hippos a bit like a James Bond movie. We were then greeted by a posse of staff offering us drinks and flannels to wipe away the dust- what a welcome!

Our stay at Selinda was great, lovely accomodation in a perfect spot with very welcoming staff gave the place a very homely feel. We were even visited by an elephant chewing the tree on the edge of our terrace in the early hours and the hippos grunts kept us company all through the night.

The dinners on the first two evenings we thought were fairly ordinary, but greatly improved and were more what we expected on the third night. We understand there was a temporary chef cooking on the first two evenings and the permanent second chef took over on he third night.

Our guide Matt was great and provided us with some super game viewing, he always seemed to know where the animals were and was so knowledgeable about everything in the bush. We followed four female lions hunting, saw a female leopard and her cub and the peak viewing was watching a male leopard hunting!.We came away with some great photos and even got the classic shots of the male leopard climbing a tree and the breakfasts, eaten in the bush were very atmospheric.

Altogether a great safari experience.

We saw hyena, hippos, lions, leopards, giraffe, zebras, wildebest, buffalo and numerous different impalas" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs U
Guildford

"Gem of a camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2018
"Were told by other travellers that this would be the most 'informal' of all the camps we stayed at. Was certainly very relaxed but not at all unprofessional. Food and service excellent. Little gem in the middle of nowhere!

The staff were passionate about their camp and their wildlife and it was infectious! Everyone seemed to know something about the area or the things that lived there and we learned much about the ecology of the place and how everything fitted together. Game drives great with lots to see, but it was the guides and the camp staff that made it special. Staff would join us for meals if possible and our guide was always with us. Made us feel like part of one happy family as well as guests. Had elephants and hippos in the camp at night, noisy but exciting.

Sadly no wild dogs in the area since end of last year but Matt our guide did find a Carmine Bee-eater. Saw a huge variety of animals and birds. Grass getting a bit tall this time of year so might be a bit restricting for spotting smaller critters!

We were a little rushed leaving camp because we had to take the jeep back to the airstrip instead of the boat so forgot to sign the visitors book. Have contacted Dorian at GP office to pass our thanks on to ALL the staff for a truly unforgettable end to our holiday in Botswana." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms S
Roswell

"Great camp and the best guide"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"Selinda is a wonderful camp. Service and food is very good (as it was at every camp). The setting is very scenic and the Selinda Spillway provides for some water activities not available at some other camps. The tents have sliding doors (vs. a trio of zippers). Ventilation is adequate. Selinda is the only camp with a ceiling fan - which I thought would be great, but it didn't produce as much air movement as I had expected.

We were fortunate in having our guide, Donald, as our private guide for our three day stay. (There are advantages to going during the hottest time of year). Donald is a photographer, as are my wife and I, so he was usually able to get us into the best position for great shots.

Donald found a pair of cheetahs who had been absent from the concession for several months. We were able to witness a couple of hunts with them (Warthogs 2, Cheetahs 0). There was a huge breeding herd of elephants (around 50) on the shores of the spillway. Donald found some purple gallinule. We saw the dominant male lions of the area, as well as two different prides of females and cubs. We found a leopardess with whom we spent some up-close-and-personal time (she walked right under the safari car). There were many red lechwe, some impala and waterbuck and kudu, and even a lechwe/waterbuck hybrid.

A hippo was out cropping the grass right on the front yard of the tent, and there were numerous hippos in the spillway." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Stunning camp in great location"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2017
"This was perhaps the most beautiful traditional camp we have stayed in on our various safaris, a fabulous design and a stunning location overlooking the spillway, and populated with many different animals. This was less like a luxury hotel and more of a fabulous upmarket traditional safari lodge.

The communal area was well laid out, large, open, with great views and fresh breezes, and included a lovely little swimming pool, a viewing deck, and a place to have afternoon tea and communal dining. There was also a boma and you can ask for private dining if you want (we did this on our last night, and the camp will come up with a surprise location!).

There is a very good wine list, and you can choose your own bottle direct from their cellar. The rooms are big, and airy and comfortable. The staff were delightful, and the temporary managers we encountered (Alistair and Jessica) were dedicated to ensuring everything was designed to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

The game was perhaps a little sparse for Botswana, although we had two outstanding sightings (over 3 days) - a pride of lion hunting (unsuccessfully, needless to say) and two six week old leopard cubs hidden in a fallen tree. Although these were amazing sights, there was very little other activity in the park while we were there." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
UK

"Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Excellent camp, friendly staff and Ben/Bianca (managers) had excellent knowledge - and gave everyone assurance despite elephant crashing into the camp at night. Rooms large but perhaps lacked comfortable sitting area inside. Swarovski bins a welcome addition and plunge pool a unique experience.

Guide and trips all very good, with particular mention to sundowners - was not expecting to be able to have cap classic in the bush. Cheetah spot was best part and ability to stay with it throughout with hardly any other vehicles makes all the difference. Only possible comment would be that the guides work very hard and ours seemed a little tired by the end.

Also, no books on birds available - we would have brought one with us but assumed would be one with guide/in camp somewhere." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Fulham

"Selinda is just magnificent"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2017
"One of the best safari lodges I have stayed at.

Perfect setting with wonderful decor. Game viewing was second to none.

Staff couldn't have been kinder and more helpful." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A, T & H
London

"Superb Wildlife Drives"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2017
"Selinda is a luxurious camp, attentive to the smallest detail. In the context of the camp itself this sometimes borders on the excessive and makes for a slightly ceremonial atmosphere, particularly if the camp is not full. But in terms of wildlife, there is a great deal of activity here with walking, boating and drives on offer. The guiding is knowledgeable and undertaken with professionalism and enthusiasm." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Beautiful setting at Selinda"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Selinda is a beautiful camp in a beautiful setting. The surprise outdoor dinner was amazing!

Although we didn't see a lot of wildlife, we were able to spend time with a pride of lions which was wonderful." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 66
96%
66 reviews of Selinda Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa