This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp

Reviews of Selinda Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

67 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

75% success

Spotted Hyena

75% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 67
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S & Mr K
USA

"Beautiful setting at Selinda"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Selinda is a beautiful camp in a beautiful setting. The surprise outdoor dinner was amazing!

Although we didn't see a lot of wildlife, we were able to spend time with a pride of lions which was wonderful." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss C
São Paulo

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"Wonderful place. The guide was not as incredible as in Kwara." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof J
Salt Lake City

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2017
"Tough to compete with Sandbibe, but the people were great and we really enjoyed it." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"Selinda a great camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2016
"Selinda was excellent and the sightings of animals was super, the highlight being a drive alongside a pack of wild dogs as they started out on their hunt.

A surprise special sundowner was a great way to finish our holiday.

Food and accommodation very good too, a choice of a main course at dinner was appreciated." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr S
Cambrai

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"Very nice camp,good food,very good guide." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Uli
Germany

"Selinda - amazing location, camp & wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Selinda Camp is located in the Linyanti area and can be reached by vehicle or boat (shortest way from the airstrip). The location is stunning with the perfect view at beautiful sunrises! The chalets are wonderful and the people of management and staff very friendly and helpful. The meals are excellent with a choice of 3 meals for dinner - served under the Botswana sky - amazing!!!!

The game drives were great and Joseph was a very good guide and an enthusiastic tracker with big endurance: one day he tracked lions and finally found 6 cubs almost perfect hidden under a bush - the other day he tracked the pride for a long distance and got them after 2 hours at a kill! Really impressive!!! We also saw 2 leopards, at a lagoon a crowd of 100 or more elephants and many more species! We haven't seen wild dogs but other guests saw them several times the days before we arrived (but that's claiming on a very high level!).

Besides the game drives we also had an amazing boat cruise with lots of birds, hippos, crossing elephants and finally one of the most spectacular sunsets ever (and we've seen many of them - even in Africa!): the colors reflected in the water were surreal and indescribable!!!

In conclusion: Although we've visited other wonderful locations and lodges - and although haven't seen the dogs ;) - Selinda was a fantastic experience and our favorite on this trip!!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Alderley Edge

"What a way to end our holiday!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"This was the only camp where we were offered tea and coffee to be brought to our room at the wake up call which made the 5.30 am start more enjoyable.

The camp is usually approached by boat which differentiates it from the other camps we stayed at. It was also the only camp where we had the jeep and guide to ourselves. This allowed us to spend one entire drive birdwatching with our guide Koops. Although I had been impressed by the guides at every camp being willing to address everyone's wish list and therefore give photographers their opportunities without ignoring our interest in birds, this was a treat for us.

I was also impressed by the way that if an interesting sighting was made e.g. a wild dog pack devouring a kill, guests were transferred in to other jeeps to minimise the number of vehicles.

The meals were extremely well presented and cooked. The cakes and ice creams were outstanding. It was the only camp where you ordered your main dinner dish in advance and it was served to you. In all the other camps the main dishes were served buffet style which I liked as it allowed me to try a little of everything, however it also encouraged over-indulgence!

But we will never forget our last evening when we returned to our room to find the verandah decorated with lights and messages wishing us a happy 46th wedding anniversary. A table was set ready for us to enjoy our dinner. This continued in the bedroom where towels had been twisted into amazing shapes and leaves used to spell out greetings. We spent so long trying to get flash to work on our cameras that it was only later that we went into the bathroom to find a bubble bath waiting for us with a bottle of bubbly to share! What a lovely experience!

The staff here, led by a good management team, were focused on making their guests stay as enjoyable as possible, and provided an excellent conclusion to our very special holiday." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
California

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Selinda was a totally different experience again. Beautiful site, common areas and tents.Lovely staff. Felt more remote than the other camps and in some ways more authentically African. The viewing was very different from Chitabe - far fewer animals, but what we saw was special and memorable (animals bathing, lion cubs feeding on a carcass, the results of a fight between an existing pride of lionesses and an "intruder" lion, etc.
Also, by the time we got to Selinda, was very hot (though tents situated in way that we could make ourselves comfortable.
Would also go back to this camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Kidderminster

"Selinda camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"This was a friendly camp managed by two young people who were very helpful. They were very gracious and always available to help with any query.

We didn't like the group in our jeep the first day so they arranged for us to go with another guide and jeep which worked out well." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Chile

"Luxurious Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Very well located. The rooms are excellent. The water in the bathrooms is supposed to be filtered however the one time we filled the bath it had a sediment of mud ! Reverted to the showers .

Books water colours and binoculars are great extras. Both lunch and dinner were very good . Continental breakfast round the fire could be improved.

Staff very hospitable and welcoming. The guide was very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 67
96%
67 reviews of Selinda Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
55
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


95% (269 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (199 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (52 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (29 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


90% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (2 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa