This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp

Reviews of DumaTau

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited DumaTau and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Ms V
USA

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2018
"Our guide was quite good, and the boat activities are excellant. And an excellant masseuse.

The view is lovely from the room. The rooms are on 2 levels, necessitating mindfulness when coming and going.

Duma Tau appears to rely on its reputation as a premiere camp, rather than striving to be a truly premiere camp. We missed several of the pleasing attributes of other Wilderness camps. For example. we were greeted by the manager and a cold washcloth, rather than the customary assemblage of the entire staff with beautiful singing and introductions. And when we entered the room it was clean but undecorated - at all other camps the beds are artistically decorated with towels shaped like birds and flowers and leaves strewn in beautiful arrangements. And we felt limited connection with the staff, in surprising contrast to our other camps. However, when staff realized that our anniversary was just a week away, we were surprised with a lovely decorative arrangement, including champagne, fruit and cheese - an unexpected delight.

Lunch on the boat was a wonderful experience and the best meal we had during our three day visit. Otherwise, meals were uninspired and the selections were very limited. There appears to be a bit of cost-cutting in both food and beverage selections. Both breakfast and dinner buffet are unlit so it is helpful to bring a flashlight. We several times asked to have a private table (and were assured this would be available) but at every meal we were seated with 3-6 other guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Ms H & Mr S
CA

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"I thought the staff wasn't super friendly and that it was more important for the staff to be accommodated than the guests.

I asked our guide to please talk about everything we were seeing but it seemed he was very ready for his break to go home, which really disappointed me. We repeated the same drives several times, I think because it was easy.

Wildlife viewing was OK. Highlights were a leopard with his aardvark meal up a tree, and a place with hundreds of carmine bee eaters who return each year to nest." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
London

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2017
"Lovely accommodation and general area .

There were options of seating arrangements although mostly you were sat with the people on the jeep and often the guide as well." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Nearly a mistake."

4 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2017
"Duma Tau was recommended as a combination of semi-luxury, (as we had begun our trip on a more rugged private mobile safari), and excellent wildlife viewing. We knew from past experience that Wilderness Safaris camps can be a bit "corporate" for our tastes, so we asked Expert Africa to communicate our wishes to Johan, the camp manager, in advance. We arrived to learn he was on "sabbatical" and had failed to pass along our message. Fortunately, the interim manager, "Momma Bee", interviewed us carefully and then tailored our four day stay. She took great pride in delivering an experience beyond the ordinary.

One caution to "seasoned" safari travelers: Duma Tau attracted the most obnoxious Americans we encountered on our trip.

The camp is in a beautiful location which combines water, mopane woodlands, and exceptional terrain along the Savuti channel. The wildlife this year was largely absent at Duma Tau, but because Wilderness has three properties in the concession we were able to roam into both King's Pool and Savuti Camp territories where we had exceptional viewings of lions, leopard and even a male cheetah." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"still one of our favourite places"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"Once again, our visit to Duma Tau was excellent. The camp is in a lovely setting and the main area of the camp is quite magical at night. We had Mocks again as our guide and he did not disappoint, finding things we had never seen before , for example, lions mating.
Lunch on the river makes a really nice change" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"DumaTau Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"This camp has a significant problem. The orientation of the rooms is such that the balconies are in full sun - without any shade - for that part of the day when guests would want to use them, from midday to gone 3 o'clock. The canvas walls are heating up during this time and the presence of small animals prohibits the door being left open to admit a draft. Two fans help a little, but only re-circle the air. The only relief from the increasing heat is to use the common areas which are open to the cooling breezes. The problem can be solved, as it has for the bar area, by installing wind-down blinds. As is stands at the moment, I would be strongly advising future travellers to avoid this camp, which would be a shame because in all other respects, it was lovely.

Our guide here, Lazy (Lazarus) was excellent and with Ona at Little Vimbura, was our other "10 out of 10" rating.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R&U
Northwood

"Great Start at Duma Tau"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Our 2 days at Duma Tau 25/6 to 27/6 were a fantastic introduction to the Linyanti Reserve. Duma Tau team were really lovely and our guide ' Name ' was very patient and thorough.

Having been on safaris before in the kruger, we knew that the ' big five ' would always be there so best time was when we spent a whole morning tracking a pride of lions and our guide's expertise led us to them and what an awesome sight. The game viewing here was generally excellent and the camp very exclusive and friendly. Lovely scenic pool which my kids enjoyed and elephants came up to them from the lagoon right up to the pool.

Food excellent and out lodges were lovely too - only issue was no hot water in our lodge for the 2 days and only had hot water on the final morning. It didn't effect my our overall experience but my wife was not best pleased! They did try to fix the issue twice to no avail.

That not withstanding, it is a lovely camp indeed and the staff and manager very friendly." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
PA

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"Wow, what an introduction to Botswana! We absolutely loved the camp, the experience and the team.

Our exceptional guide, Mocks, met us at the airstrip and from the first offering of an ice cold washcloth, we knew we were in heaven. The amount of game and the ability to get close was phenominal. I had hoped to see leopards - no problem. We watched spellbound as a leopard snacked on its impala kill high in the tree. Pure magic! Following the wild dogs around for 2 days was exceptional. We loved the background knowledge that Mocks had regarding the local wildlife.

The only drawback was the amount of excellent food versus the noncaloric output unless you count bouncing around in a safari vehicle." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs FP
London

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2015
"What a stunning setting. The room was wonderful and delightfully different. We had an excellent guide called Godfrey who was on loan from Kalahari Plains, as they were short staffed.

The terrific diversity of things to do, outweighed the low diversity of game. No Tau for starters!! A name change may soon be necessary!! That said we saw 2 packs of wild dog at war.. probably one of the most shockingly disturbing spectacle we have ever witnessed. Every guest from all the landrovers wanted to go back to camp afterwards minus sunset drinks - which tells you a lot. Despite being a bigger camp, it is not surprising that they were full." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Guidford

"Grew to like it"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"The larger size and more commercial feel of Duma Tau contrasted with the more personal nature of the first camp.

We were assigned a guide who was initially pursuing the agenda of another guest. As we adjusted to the camp and our guide to us, we started to enjoy the facilities and the large amount of game that is attracted to the channel. Flame, our guide, really pulled the stops out for the last day and managed to find a leopard and wild dogs.

The food at Duma Tau is excellent and the tents comfortable and well furnished. We enjoyed our stay and the contrast with the Kalahari." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 47
95%
47 reviews of DumaTau by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
3
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa