This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from PA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2015 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 8 Oct 2015 and 15 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was a highlight of our travel experiences.

Nick was extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for camp selection from a large number of options. The camps were a perfect balance to the remainder of our trip which was a horseback safari in the Delta.

This was our second trip to Africa with Expert Africa and we will not hesitate to refer you to friends (we already have) and contact you when and if we return in the future. I loved not having to worry about anything throughout the entire trip. We were well taken care of from start to finish. Thank you.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't think of a thing. Thank you!"

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"For a brief overnight stay this was just fine and fairly easy to get to. The room was comfortable but a tad stuffy.

The convenience made up for any drawbacks."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau Camp

"DumaTau Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"Wow, what an introduction to Botswana! We absolutely loved the camp, the experience and the team.

Our exceptional guide, Mocks, met us at the airstrip and from the first offering of an ice cold washcloth, we knew we were in heaven. The amount of game and the ability to get close was phenominal. I had hoped to see leopards - no problem. We watched spellbound as a leopard snacked on its impala kill high in the tree. Pure magic! Following the wild dogs around for 2 days was exceptional. We loved the background knowledge that Mocks had regarding the local wildlife.

The only drawback was the amount of excellent food versus the noncaloric output unless you count bouncing around in a safari vehicle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2015
"There were so many highlights to this camp, I hope I can remember them all: the team who sang to us upon arrival; the fact that we were the only guests which gave us the opportunity to get to know many of the team.

I loved that at both the camps we visited team members had name tags which facilitated getting to know them. Also at both we had meals with our guides which was a real plus.

The highlight of the entire trip ocurred here with our fabulous guide, Gordon. We followed 2 lionesses for 2 days and watched them interact with their cubs. One set of cubs was about 4 months old and the others were about 6 weeks old. Finding them was a magical although bouncy experience and watching them for at least an hour was a lifetime experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Brilliant!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 23 Sep 2010 and 9 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"What we loved about the trip was the variety of locations, living arrangements and geography. It was a nicely mixed bag. The entire trip was seamless. We never had to worry . Someone else was in charge and we transitioned from plane to plane, camp to camp, etc. without a worry. It was brilliant and you will be dealing with us in the future as we are hooked on Africa.

The only downside to the entire trip was Lake Manyara. After the solitude of Selous, it was a culture shock and something we could have taken a big miss on. The Ngogoro Crater was also difficult with its traffic jams but the crater more than made up for that. In the future we will steer clear of "busy" spots because they simply aren't our thing.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I really cannot think of a thing. Claire Scott did a fabulous job and we will recommend her and Expert Africa to our friends in the US. Sadly, people in the US do not travel nearly enough and can't be counted on for much business."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"The staff we spent the most time with were outstanding. Ezra, our guide, and Rajibu, our driver were an excellent team. In retrospect, Ezra was the best guide of entire trip and we had excellent guides throughout. His knowledge of the birds and wildlife went far beyond identification and general knowledge. They were both personable, helpful and endowed with a great sense of humor as was our meal attendant, David.

It was a bonus to have both a guide and driver which wasn't always the case in other locations. It allows more focus on finding wildlife.

The location of Impala with access to both the river and bush and the camp itself with its comfy tents made it the perfect introduction to an amazing country. There isn't one thing I would change about the place or the experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

"Bougainvillea Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This lodge was very nice - compared to Impala it was more like staying in a motel - albeit a vey lovely motel. The rooms were quite comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool was a plus as we had some extra time to enjoy it.

We liked that the Lodge was Tanzanian owned and operated. The chef was quite outgoing and friendly and provided outstanding breakfasts and dinners. It was an ideal location between Lake Manyara and the crater and very reasonable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Mara Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"This place was just amazing. From the time our excellent guide, Esto, met us at the airstrip with coffee & tea and delicious chocolate brownies until we arrived at the camp (this word hardly applies), we were bedazzled.

The views of the wildebeest crossings were one of the highlights of the trip and shouldn't be missed. Having wildebeest and hippos eating outside our tents (hardly a tent - our bedroom at home doesn't come close) at night was magic. The wildlife viewing was overwhelming in species and sheer numbers. I can't imagine that there is another time of year when the herbivores and carnivores are more numerous and eat better.

It might be an improvement to have a driver on safari. I imagine that it is a challenge to drive and navigate as well as look for animals. That said, Esto didn't have a problem doing both.

We loved relaxing by the beautiful pool perched over the Serengeti. The staff were all outgoing, helpful and friendly.

We began our afternoon safaris at 4 when it still seemed fairly hot and not much animal activity. Starting at 4:30 is just a suggestion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Nduara Loliondo Camp, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Nduara Loliondo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"We loved our yurt and our bucket shower. This was a very unique and different living experience. The visit to the Masai village and school was one of the highlights of the entire trip. Everyone should experience this. We loved that the camp is involved in local projects and that our tourist dollars are helping to support them.

The walking safaris were new for our trip and it was great to finally get some exercise. Unfortunately we did not see much game. It was explained that the Masai had recently moved their cattle into the area which tends to move the game out. Our night safaris were incredible and gave us great views of lots of smaller nocturnal animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"What a jewel this little eco camp is. We loved our eco hut which was very stylishly decorated and quite comfy. However, the beds on the floor and the nighttime trip down the stairs to the bathroom were a tad challenging for the 60+ set.

A few more beach chairs at certain peak times would have been nice. The snorkel trip and the tidal pool walk were excellent and shouldn't be missed. Here, as at most places we stayed, I was glad to have my own tea bags and instant Starbucks (I hate instant nescafe) which came in handy for the early morning coffee/tea room service and sometimes at breakfast.

It was a bonus to know that our tourist dollars support the educational efforts of the not-for-profit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"What a delight to stay at our first and only owner-operated lodge. Ralph and Elise were both delightful and very hands-on but not overbearing. The lodge is drop-dead gorgeous and I could have spent several more weeks there. Our "hut" was so spacious and comfortable and lovely with a view of the ocean.

The dive operation is first-rate and the equipment was excellent. We had not necissarily planned on diving but after meeting the dive master and looking at the operation, we signed on and had three of the most spectacular days of diving of our 25 year diving lives.

We would return to Africa just to go to Unguja Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"This was a funky, unique and lovely building. However, it did not work for our last night in Tanzania.

Given that we had to go to the airport at 5 a.m., we were not able to partake in the breakfast part of this B&B. They said they would leave some fruit for us, but they must have forgotten as it was not in the fridge.

Maybe it was that we were in "go home mode", but we were not impressed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team