This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge


3°20’15.5"S 35°39’30.9"E

Reviews of Bougainvillea Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bougainvillea Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J
Woking

"Very nice stay at Bougainvillea Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2016
"Nice stay here, the rooms were basic but nice and there was a welcome swimming pool.

Throughout their time in Tanzania, we organised a private driver-guide and 4WD for these travellers. They commented:

What can I say about Fazo? He was the most amazing guide I think anyone could have had. He was patient, pleasant and kind and his driving was extremely safe and sensible. He seemed to know everything about every animal in Tanzania, without exception. He also seemed to know where all the animals were and within 2 hours of arriving in Tanzania we had seen 4 of the big 5.

We saw 4 leopards, three cheetahs, dozens of lions and cubs and we even saw a pack of wild dogs, twice, which hadn't been seen in the Serengetti for 10 years. I don't know whether we were just lucky or not, but Fazo just seemed to know where to go to see the animals we wanted to see.

One day he took us to a remote part of the Serengetti where there were few other tourists. It was great to be out on the planes and we saw lots of different animals there which we didn't see around the touristy areas.

Fazo was genuinely superb and we would definitely like to use him again if we ever went back to the Serengetti." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Carter Caravan
USA

"Bougainvillea Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"This is a great value for the money. It is close proximity between the crater and Lake Manyara. It is boutique in nature with a lovely pool. The staff is excellent. Food good. Lobby has internet and a fireplace. The rooms are individual bungalows with a fireplace, The bathrooms are clean, no mold...In-room safe not available. So make sure you have a lock for your luggage for important items. There is as small refrigerator for drinks. Good value for money. They will do your laundry for a very nominal fee." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
PA, USA

"Extremely friendly staff and lovely lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"After a VERY long day of travel we were quite pleased to arrive at Bougainvillea. The grounds were beautiful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The food was good and in hindsight we appreciated that the menu incorporated traditional dishes as well as more western food.

The boxed lunch ( not sure if this came from Bouganvillea or Asiliia were" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Rochester

"Excellent Ngorongoro crater safari"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"A really excellent hotel as an introduction to Africa. Comfortable with a good restaurant and food.

Fairly close to the crater to enable us to have a full day safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
C family
UK

"Bougainvillea Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Dec 2010
"An excellent first stop after an overnight flight from London followed by a 4 hour drive. The Staff and Management were very welcoming and helpful.

The food was top notch." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
N London

"An excellent base for the Ngorogoro Crater"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This lodge was a little oasis off the dusty main road and a perfect base from which to visit the Ngorogoro Crater. The beautiful gardens and pool made it a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day.

The cabins were very comfortable with the only negative being that the lighting around the wardrobe area not good enough to find things easily at night.

The food was slightly different and delicious and we enjoyed the staff coming around offering us dishes from which we served ourselves. Some of the staff lacked the polish of other places we stayed but I felt the lack of smiles was often shyness." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
PA

"Bougainvillea Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This lodge was very nice - compared to Impala it was more like staying in a motel - albeit a vey lovely motel. The rooms were quite comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool was a plus as we had some extra time to enjoy it.

We liked that the Lodge was Tanzanian owned and operated. The chef was quite outgoing and friendly and provided outstanding breakfasts and dinners. It was an ideal location between Lake Manyara and the crater and very reasonable." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
89%
7 reviews of Bougainvillea Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa