This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge


3°17’11.8"S 35°42’50.8"E

Reviews of Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Do make time to visit the orphanage"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Rhotia Lodge is run by a Dutch couple who fund an orphanage on the same site. The orphanage also has a farm, and both the lodge and the orphanage benefit from fresh homegrown food. It is a wonderful experience to meet the children, aged from infant to teens. Use any space you have in your suitcases to take out items they need - the website lists their up to date requirements.

The tent is luxurious and very comfortable, and you can choose to sleep with the side flap down so you wake to the sunrise - very special. All of the staff are delightful - kind, helpful, and very interested in their guests. The food is superb. All in all a wonderful experience. We were on our way to Ngorongoro to stay at Sopa lodge so will list wildlife sightings there." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Highgate

"Great staff, nice location"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Really lovely location with views over the surrounding hills. Well located for the crater

Wonderful staff, great to see local young people being trained up.

Very good food.

Comfortable tents - the hot water bottles every evening were a very nice (and much appreciated) touch!

Nice, albeit chilly, pool" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Ms Donna H
USA

"Perfect conclusion to my safari"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"This place was a total surprise. I admit to not really knowing much about it before arriving. I had assumed it was more safari in a different location. It wasn’t, but instead offered me an experience so delightful, heartwarming—I can’t adequately describe how meaningful this stay was to me. It was built by a physician couple from the Netherlands, who also built a home for orphans nearby, complete with organic garden, and almost everything else needed to be self-sufflcient.

I had a walking tour of the surrounding countryside with a staff member of the lodge.

The lodge is beautiful, the tents have views of the valley, and there’s even a swimming pool for cooling off.

I can’t recommend this place enough!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
Oakland

"Rhoda Valley comments"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2017
"Beautiful location! The staff were great, the food was of excellent quality. The tents were well designed to be comfortable and the deck had a wonderful view into the valley. We spent two nights there.

First day was after the drive up from Arusha and spending a half day driving through Lake Manyara National Park. The second day we returned to Lake Manyara and did a walking tour of Mto wa Mbu, arriving back to the Lodge late afternoon.

We didn't end up visiting the school or doing any of the walking tours from the Lodge, though we had wanted to initially, with the two half days at Lake Manyara (a suggestion from our driver and a good one!) we just did not have the time." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Top Cat
bristol

"Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2016
"A wonderful family feel to the lodge - staff very welcoming and enjoyed he experience of the children's home - a wonderful vision which we will be continuing to support" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs JR
Australia

"Comfortable accommodtion and worthwhile cause"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"We enjoyed our stay at Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge. Our tent was comfortable with good facilities. It had an excellent view over the valley and up to the neighboring Children's Home.
The staff were friendly and obliging although the local manager at the desk was tardy about returning our change and in fact we never received it. We also thought this local manager was fairly relaxed about providing high quality service. Our only request was for ordinary black tea (as is found everywhere). He was out of these teabags on our first night, but still hadn't bothered to get any by the next night.
The food was good and the lounge chairs and fireplace added a homely aspect.
The lodge is situated about 45 minutes drive from the Lodware entrance gate to Ngogorgoro Crater, which necessitates an early start to an early morning drive into the crater. However, we still recommend a stay here as it is located in a pleasant valley and proceeds from the tented lodge helps support the very worthwhile children's home, which provided housing and education to orphans." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Nottingham

"A Lovely Stay at Rhotia Valley Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2015
"A fantastic place to start our honeymoon. The staff were very welcoming with little personalised touches for our honeymoon. A good distance from Lake Manyara and the Ngorongoro Crater.

By staying at the lodge you are helping a very worthwhile cause. We would recommend visiting the children's home opposite, it was great to be told the history of how the lodge and home developed and to see the ingenious solutions they have put in place to be more self-sufficient.

It does get cold at night due to the altitude however each night we were kept warm with roaring fire pits and hot water bottles so this was not a problem." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Seattle

"Two night visit"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2015
"Liked the connection with the Children's Home and ther visit there. Staff was really friendly and tried very hard in every respect. The pool was pretty bad - not clean!

Dining room and lounge were beautiful. Room had a beautiful outlook." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs F
Neterlands

"Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"We only stayed at the camp for one night.

Marcel took us on the very interesting village walk. Unfortunately, we arrived too late to enjoy the culinary delights of the local cuisine, but we were able to visit a local farm. Marcel was very knowledgeable about the area, the agriculture and the people. He was married shortly after we left and we would like to wish him and his wife all the best for their future married life." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Turkey

"Cool and and relaxing"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2013
"A lovely place away from it all...very friendly owners and staff and excellent service.

The only problem we encountered was no hot water in the morning despite frugal showers the night before.

The road into the lodge is very rough and needs maintenance, but this is evidently a problem with a cash-strapped local authority." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 14
94%
14 reviews of Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Gibb's Farm

Gibbs Farm

Located not far from the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Gibb's Farm has comfy rooms, homegrown food and strong community links


88% (41 reviews)
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


93% (38 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (28 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (28 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


90% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


87% (22 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


93% (15 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


97% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


89% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


90% (8 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (6 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa