This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Neterlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Tanzania/Zanzibar Trip Autumn 2014

Tanzania and 1 other country between 23 Sep 2014 and 10 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had the most wonderful trip and saw so much more than we ever expected. We particularly enjoyed living in the tented accommodation being surrounded by nature and learning so much about the wildlife. This was largely due to the skill of the guides, notably Silvanus who drove us around and acted as our guide for several days in different locations of Tarangire, Lake Manyara and The Ngorongoro crater. His knowledge was amazing and his patience with two novices was truly boundless.

We like to mention how impressed we were with the safari outfit used by Expert Africa and would highly recommend this company to anyone. Their operations were run smoothly and efficiently with a constant desire to improve their services and environmentally friendly camps even further. Their training policy and opportunity for further development seemed to be very much appreciated by their employees. All their staff were happy and proud working for them which we felt speaks for itself.

The balloon trip over the Serengeti at dawn was an unforgettable experience, which we would highly recommend. The pilot was very experienced and his expert handling of the balloon allowed us to fly extremely low. Gliding across the Mara River and seeing the sun rising over this amazing landscape was truly magical.

Zanzibar offered a completely different type of holiday. We were especially interested in the history and culture of the island. The 'Princess Salme' tour was particularly fascinating and took in several different experiences: a very informative visit around the Mtoni Palace given by the project manager of the restoration project, followed by a Dhow trip, a coffee ceremony as well as a fascinating spice tour led by a guide with real knowledge of the subject and finally a delicious meal provided by the plantation owner. We would highly recommend it as it is designed for very small groups and provides a real insight into what made the island what it is.

A special mention should also go to Nick at Unguja Lodge who is a very competent and professional diving instructor who enabled me to fulfil my long held wish to complete my diving certificate.

Expert Arfrica did deliver exactly what we had asked for in our original brief and more. They enabled us to choose companies and lodges, etc which benefit their local communities and this had been one of our priorities. It also allowed us to see some very well run local projects during our travels which are all equally worth while supporting in the future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A suggestion might be that while on safari, to consider having a day in camp to digest what had been experienced. This could take the form of a walk with guides followed later by an evening drive. Having some time to just sit in front of our tent for a few hours and to watch the wildlife from there or reading a book was rather enjoyable especially after several days of non stop action. We think people should be made aware of this option."

Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"Very welcoming comfortable and very good food. After a long journey it was a good choice.

We were only there for the night, arriving in the evening and leaving early the next morning. There was no time to explore the area."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

"Kuro Tarangire Review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"The camp was extremely well organised and well run by Emmanuel and, without exception, the staff were cheerful, friendly and always ready to help. We enjoyed the intimacy of the camp the close relationship with the staff and not least the fantastic food. The chef at the camp produced the best muesli that we have ever had - delicious!

We had a wonderful time. We saw much more wildlife than we had ever expected. This was largely due to our guide Silvanus. His knowledge of the land, plants, birds and animals was quite incredible and we learned so much from him. There was not a question he could not answer. It was a pleasure to have been with him for those days.

Of particular note was a night drive where we had the wonderful and unique experience of witnessing a pack of wild dogs as they followed a herd of zebra and buffalo. In addition we would recommend to anyone the opportunity to go on a bush walk. Silvanus really brought the land and environment to life as he took us around.

If it is possible we would like to contact Silvanus, to whom we would like to send a small booklet about where we live and also Emmanuel who ran the Kuro camp so efficiently as I would like to follow up on a conversation he and I were having about ideas for walks etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

"Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"We only stayed at the camp for one night.

Marcel took us on the very interesting village walk. Unfortunately, we arrived too late to enjoy the culinary delights of the local cuisine, but we were able to visit a local farm. Marcel was very knowledgeable about the area, the agriculture and the people. He was married shortly after we left and we would like to wish him and his wife all the best for their future married life."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Rhino Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"We were welcomed to Rhino Lodge by the resident Marabou Stork who looked like a grumpy old man. The room had a lovely wood burning stove to take the chill off at night - much appreciated. The food was also very good and an excellent location for visiting the crater. We did not make use of any of their activities.

Again, our marvellous guide Silvanus made the trip into the Ngorongoro Crater an unforgettable experience. The views from the rim were breathtaking. Silvanus seemed to have eyes like a hawk and without him we would not have noticed the Black Rhino for instance. We also saw numerous lions and hippos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"The second Nomad Camp we stayed at. It was also very well run and well organised by Joseph. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The chef produced some wonderful meals which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Philip was another exceptional guide who took us on some amazing game drives, notably to witness the migration of the wildebeest as they crossed the Mara river. We very appreciated his sense of humour, which took us in every now and again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge Review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Unusual design of the individual lodge, comfortable and with excellent views of the sea. Delicious food and extremely willing and helpful staff.
Professional and well organised diving instruction by Nick and his team.

Very interesting village walk with Aziz which we can thoroughly recommend. Unfortunately, we could not visit the ancient mosque because of an unforeseen event."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Dhow Palace Hotel Review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Superb location in the middle of the old city, very old restored merchant's house dating from the 16th century with wonderful views from roof terrace.

Might not suite guests looking for a very modern set up i.e. no lift etc , but for us it was perfect and just what we liked. The staff were very helpful and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team