This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire

Reviews of Kuro Tarangire

Wildlife sightings and reviews

15 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kuro Tarangire and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kuro Tarangire.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

86% success

Cheetah

29% success

Wild dog

20% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Eland

71% success

Hippo

43% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 15
Duration
Arrival date
Ms T.
Costa Mesa, CA

"Kuro Tarangire review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2021
"We loved the tucked away rustic nature of Kuro. Didn’t feel like we were compromising on anything.

Beds were comfy, room was beautiful and spacious, food was excellent. Staff were phenomenal - present and helpful but not overbearing.

Loved hearing the animals at night!

Joel was an absolutely spectacular guide - it was clear he was experienced in knowing what to look for.

All of our drives were amazing - we had. Four separate lion sightings in one day, and a great up close leopard sighting as well!

We were also able to get super close to giraffes and elephants." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Elephant heaven"

5 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2020
"The camp is well placed in the centre of Tarangire National Park for exploring and during our five-night stay we had terrific sightings every day. The area round Silale swamp is specially beautiful and attracts lots of wildlife. We saw hardly any other jeeps and at the camp there were only a handful of other visitors.

Highlights included:

A family group of lions by the swamp who had recently killed a buffalo. One young male was so full he had to go in the water for a swim to cool off.

A magnificent male lion defending his buffalo kill from more than 100 vultures. After our bush breakfast that same day our brilliant guide Raj said "All we need now is a leopard up a tree" and within minutes he spotted one!
In line with Tarangire's reputation, there were more elephants here than at the other camps on the trip, lots bathing in the swamp.

At camp the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful under the guidance of manager Mollel. Food was plentiful and varied. For the moment there is separate dining unless guests request to be together. Quite a few animals wander round the camp even during the day including dik dik, bushbuck, waterbuck and lots of birds.

A slight downside is tsetse in parts of the park. Bites can be ferocious but, as we can attest, not everyone is a target. The camp is remarkably free of them." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Tarangire more than met our expectations. Well appointed camp and excellent tent. Nomad staff as everywhere were excellent - extremely friendly and attentive. Nomad's policy of staff training and development is clearly paying dividends and we appreciated all the efforts of the staff to make our stay enjoyable.

Game viewing was excellent and Joe proved a knowledgeable and astute guide. We had some great sightings not just of the 'popular' animals but also those shy and rarely seen game (incl: lesser kudu, aardwolf and common genet). Access to some potential viewing environments was restricted by the lack of road/track access." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B.
Basel

"Great Location and rooms"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"We loved Kuro, the family tent, attention to details, the animals coming right next to the room, the night safari, the apero next to the fire.
It was perfect first lodge" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The C family
Surrey

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Really enjoyed staying at the camp which was within the National Park. Quite a basic, rustic camp but not a problem for us.
Bucket showers were interesting but did the job. Very friendly staff and helpful.
Food could have been a lot better.
Had one of the best guides we have ever had, SenKoro, great eyes, and very entertaining, and great company. To our knowledge, he did not miss a single sighting!
Very flexible camp, we did full day Safaris, eating lunch in the bush. We did night drives and a walk on our last day.

Tarangrire National Park often gets a bit forgotten about/overlooked, due to Serengeti & Ngorongoro Crater. But this is a big mistake. I have to say the game viewing along the Tarangire Swamp was spectacular, very high Game densities some scenes were 'Biblical" when all the mixed herds converged on the swamp to drink. We had three sightings of tree climbing Lions (one with four Lions in the same tree!).
In my view less trucks and better game densities/ viewings than Ngorongoro Crater." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr Steve
Hope Valley

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2019
"We spent 3 nights at Kuro camp and we were astounded at the number of elephants, in particular how many young elephants there were. All the staff members were very welcoming and helpful. There were some Tsetse fly issues, but not in the camp itself, that seemed to be free of flies. The tent, the food and the game drives were all very good." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr. A
Canada

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2019
"Great experience over the 4 days we were there." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms TG
London

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"This camp is a delight. It's rustic yet immensely comfortable, the staff are so welcoming and helpful, the food is delicious and plentiful. My guide was personable and very knowledgeable. Game viewing was on the whole quite good, particularly once we crossed the river to the plains beyond.

However, the entire experience, which would have been close to perfect otherwise, was wrecked by the swarms of tsetse flies which plagued every game drive to the point of turning what should be enjoyable outings into endurance tests. I was in deep pain and hugely stressed my entire stay.

This was already a problem at Lake Manyana, and was all the more upsetting as I wasn't expecting it, not having been alerted to this hazard by Expert Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Drs C & C
Hove

"Kuro Tarangire"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2017
"Tarangire is an amazing park. There is such abundant wildlife particularly elephants and such a beautiful setting.

Our guide Rajabu was really excellent. He was knowledgeable clearly enjoyed looking at the animals also and was very patient with us.

The room at Kuru was large well decorated comfortable. The no air con might be an issue for some people. We ate with the temporary staff looking after the place whilst the usual manager was having time off. They were interesting, enthusiastic about Kuru and Tanzania in general about our age which probably helped.

The setting for the rooms could do with a bit of development as its currently just stubby bits of bush between them.

The walking safari was not that great...I think there are loads of animals around (certainly sounded like it at night!) but we didn't see any and the walk was quite short...it seems like the guides also don't really think this is a good thing to do. It was the only time we felt like real tourists doing something weird!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss RK
USA

"Great camp with very good game"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"The service at Kuro was excellent and the Manager Morrell gave us great personal attention. All the staff was outstanding and I would recommend this to anyone.

The highlight for us was the walking safari which we were surrounded by elephants, honey badgers, zebras and yes lions.

Also, the bucket showers worked well and if you ran out of water too soon, they were happy to bring more. I was also quite surprised how perfect the water temperature was. The room also came with shampoo, toiletries and wash powder and had a usb charger. It would have helpful to know this ahead of time as we wasted luggage space bringing it. We were told they did not have it but this was at no fault to Kuro.

The general notes of "what to pack" for Tanzania from Expert Africa is general across all the camps so be sure to ask your agent to verify with a direct email to the camp. I believe there was also internet but we did not use it so I am not sure the speed." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 15
97%
15 reviews of Kuro Tarangire by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp is a small, intimate, luxury tented camp in a great location in northern Tanzania's Tarangire National Park.


95% (48 reviews)
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (3 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa