This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire
Kuro Tarangire

Reviews of Kuro Tarangire

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kuro Tarangire and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kuro Tarangire.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

92% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

11% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

83% success

Spotted Hyena

82% success

Hippo

58% success

Striped Hyena

22% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Ms T.
OC, CA

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2023
"Kuro is the perfect place to kick off a safari!

We loved the camp and the room. Godwin was our guide and did a fabulous job - even tracked down a pair of cheetah!

Food was great but simpler than other camps (which was fine). We especially liked being able to dine out “in the bush” at night.

The night drive was another can’t-miss." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C
north London

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2023
"From the moment that we were picked up at Kuro airstrip, our experience of the Kuro Tarangire camp was excellent. On the journey from the airstrip to the camp we saw cheetahs, lions, elephants and many other animals.

Our guide, Ibrahim, was first class. He explained his plans for our game drives clearly in advance and adapted them according to conditions and information from other guides. The bush breakfast by the river was a highlight! Raymond, the manager, ran his team very well; the food and service in the camp was excellent. Our tent was very comfortable and beautifully situated with views across the valley.

The climate and topography at Tarangire are quite different from the other places that we visited in Tanzania and we highly recommend including it in an itinerary." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2023
"Kuro Tarangire is an excellent tented camp. The "Kuro Family" were warm, welcoming and helpful. The camp had a relaxed vibe but was well managed and run efficiently.

The tents are spacious and well appointed and look out across the grassland with elephants, various antelope and other animals wandering into view close by the tent. The water for bucket showers arrived on request and provided plenty of hot water.

Meals were excellent, nicely presented and served. The camp manager was around to speak to guests at meal times.

We went on a night drive and walking safari. The latter was extended as we had to negotiate round elephants blocking our route. Our efforts were rewarded when we reached the bush bar that the camp staff had set up for a welcome drink. Top tip for walking - have a pair of socks long enough to tuck your trousers into as the grass was long.

Our guide Felix was excellent. He was very experienced and had an engaging manner and ability to time our drives perfectly to see the action.

In summary, Kuro was our idea of a great camp and got our holiday off to a flying start." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
St. Louis

"Kuro Tarangire review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2022
"We had an incredible stay at this camp! This felt like a "proper" bush camp to us. The setting was right in the middle of the wildlife with elephant, baboon, and bushbuck roaming through our camp on a daily basis.

The tents were well appointed with a king size bed (complete with a good mosquito net - although we didn't really have issues with bugs during our beginning of October stay), proper flushing toilet, bucket indoor and outdoor shower, sink with vanity, and closet space to store baggage. WiFi was available in each tent which was a plus. No WiFi in the common areas. The sunrise views were spectacular from bed and deck.

The food was good, but the food at some of our other Nomad camps was incredible, so we would maybe say the food was the only thing we didn't enjoy quite as much at this camp. The location is in the heart of Tarangire National Park which made the drive to see wildlife very short. We were just a few minutes away from the main source of water in the area so wildlife was abundant.

We did a walking safari from camp and hiked about 3km away to beautiful vista for the sunset and sundowners. Following the gorgeous sunset we continued by safari vehicle in to a night game drive. We saw many more animals than expected on the night drive - both were totally worth it! We felt safe the entire time on the walking safari having a Masai guide and park ranger both with weapons just in case.

The staff was very attentive, kind, and service-oriented. We were welcomed back after every safari with refreshing cold towels and a smile! The staff was also there to say goodbye every time we left.

Overall, incredible camp with FANTASTIC staff!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
New York

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2021
"Kuro Tarangire was the last stop of our trip to Africa. We drove in from the Ngorongoro Crater which took about 4 hours. We stayed at two Nomad camps prior, the Serengeti Safari Camp and Entamanu and we knew we were going to be in good hands once we arrived at Kuro. We weren't disappointed. As with all Nomad properties, we were warmly welcomed by the camp manager and staff upon arrival where we were debriefed on how the camp works.

It was bucket showers here but 30L instead of 20L like in the Serengeti and you had both an indoor and outdoor shower option in your tent. The tents were very nice and provided great views where you can see animals coming by from time to time. Because it was so warm during our time there, the staff would leave the tents open (with netting, of course) so that we can experience nature throughout the night. Interestingly, Wi-Fi was available in your tent but not at the main area. There's one outlet to charge electronics in the tent as well but you're advised not to draw too much power from it as it'll trigger the circuit breaker, which we did a couple of times.

The staff, service, and food were excellent. Know that Nomad serves food on a schedule/rotation such that if you stay at their properties over a weeklong period, you won't be eating the same food twice. During our three nights there, we had meals in different spots in camp which was nice. We had dinner under the stars a couple of times too.

Compared to the other Nomad camps we stayed at, we definitely felt that more animals came by camp. Animals were abundant and elephants! Oh so many elephants. It was also amazing to see animals make the trek to the swamp area each morning for water. Tarangire is known for the large number of species of birds here and we encountered so many as well. Note that there were also more insects, including a lot more tsetse flies. Tsetse flies were more of a problem in the Tarangire than they were in the Serengeti or Ngorongoro Crater (we didn't encounter any at either).

We did a bush walk and night drive at Tarangire which were both cool experiences that we recommend. After spending so much time in a safari vehicle, the bush walk was a good change of pace and allowed us to see and experience things on foot that we couldn't have otherwise. Rowland, our guide, alongside a park ranger and a Kuro staff member who was also a Maasai, provided a lot of knowledge and insight during the walk that ended with a delicious bush breakfast. The night drive was also a unique experience where we got to see a couple of leopards by a zebra carcass that got chased away by hyenas who then were startled by a charging elephant. We saw some nocturnal animals that we wouldn't see during the day and a lot of stars.

Our stay at Kuro served as a nice ending to our trip to Africa and would happily recommend it to other travelers." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms T.
OC, CA

"Kuro Tarangire review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2021
"We loved the tucked away rustic nature of Kuro. Didn’t feel like we were compromising on anything.

Beds were comfy, room was beautiful and spacious, food was excellent. Staff were phenomenal - present and helpful but not overbearing.

Loved hearing the animals at night!

Joel was an absolutely spectacular guide - it was clear he was experienced in knowing what to look for.

All of our drives were amazing - we had. Four separate lion sightings in one day, and a great up close leopard sighting as well!

We were also able to get super close to giraffes and elephants." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Elephant heaven"

5 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2020
"The camp is well placed in the centre of Tarangire National Park for exploring and during our five-night stay we had terrific sightings every day. The area round Silale swamp is specially beautiful and attracts lots of wildlife. We saw hardly any other jeeps and at the camp there were only a handful of other visitors.

Highlights included:

A family group of lions by the swamp who had recently killed a buffalo. One young male was so full he had to go in the water for a swim to cool off.

A magnificent male lion defending his buffalo kill from more than 100 vultures. After our bush breakfast that same day our brilliant guide Raj said "All we need now is a leopard up a tree" and within minutes he spotted one!
In line with Tarangire's reputation, there were more elephants here than at the other camps on the trip, lots bathing in the swamp.

At camp the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful under the guidance of manager Mollel. Food was plentiful and varied. For the moment there is separate dining unless guests request to be together. Quite a few animals wander round the camp even during the day including dik dik, bushbuck, waterbuck and lots of birds.

A slight downside is tsetse in parts of the park. Bites can be ferocious but, as we can attest, not everyone is a target. The camp is remarkably free of them." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B.
Basel

"Great Location and rooms"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"We loved Kuro, the family tent, attention to details, the animals coming right next to the room, the night safari, the apero next to the fire.
It was perfect first lodge" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Tarangire more than met our expectations. Well appointed camp and excellent tent. Nomad staff as everywhere were excellent - extremely friendly and attentive. Nomad's policy of staff training and development is clearly paying dividends and we appreciated all the efforts of the staff to make our stay enjoyable.

Game viewing was excellent and Joe proved a knowledgeable and astute guide. We had some great sightings not just of the 'popular' animals but also those shy and rarely seen game (incl: lesser kudu, aardwolf and common genet). Access to some potential viewing environments was restricted by the lack of road/track access." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The C family
Surrey

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Really enjoyed staying at the camp which was within the National Park. Quite a basic, rustic camp but not a problem for us.
Bucket showers were interesting but did the job. Very friendly staff and helpful.
Food could have been a lot better.
Had one of the best guides we have ever had, SenKoro, great eyes, and very entertaining, and great company. To our knowledge, he did not miss a single sighting!
Very flexible camp, we did full day Safaris, eating lunch in the bush. We did night drives and a walk on our last day.

Tarangrire National Park often gets a bit forgotten about/overlooked, due to Serengeti & Ngorongoro Crater. But this is a big mistake. I have to say the game viewing along the Tarangire Swamp was spectacular, very high Game densities some scenes were 'Biblical" when all the mixed herds converged on the swamp to drink. We had three sightings of tree climbing Lions (one with four Lions in the same tree!).
In my view less trucks and better game densities/ viewings than Ngorongoro Crater." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 20
98%
20 reviews of Kuro Tarangire by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp is a small, intimate, luxury tented camp in a great location in northern Tanzania's Tarangire National Park.


96% (60 reviews)
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (18 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


95% (11 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


96% (5 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (2 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Olkeri Camp

Olkeri Camp

Olkeri is a comfortable tented camp, located in the Randilen Wildlife Management area, bordering Tarangire National Park; ideal for those looking for pristine wilderness.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa