This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge


3°46’13.0"S 36°1’14.8"E

Reviews of Tarangire Safari

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tarangire Safari and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tarangire Safari.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

67% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Hippo

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"We were in one of the built cottages but thought we were to stay in a tent cottages. Our cottage was just fine, but a tent would have also been just fine. Tarangire Park is terrific, lots of animals with interesting terrain. It felt like a ore condensed and manageable Serengeti. The view from the Lodge on the rift edge overlooking a big area of the Park is great.

Food and service were fine. But here we started to miss having a communal table to meet and share the day with others. We wish all the lodges could have offered a communal table option at dinner.

I am not going to do animals by lodge, we were 11 days on safari, the details by lodge blur" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dip & family
Cardiff

"Tarangire Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"Beautiful location overlooking Tarangire river." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

D & S
NZ

"Big lodge - great river view "

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2019
"Accommodation:
We had the end tent in the row, so felt closer to the "real world" of wildlife. The view down to the river outside was great; when we arrived late morning it was full of elephants, and in the afternoon it was full of buffalo, though the next day it was quiet. During the first night David woke to find a giraffe feeding just outside our tent, and a resident pair of duikers popped in and out of the bushes nearby.

Lodge:
Definitely bulk safari territory; hotel-style stacks of luggage as large groups came and went. Pleasant but impersonal - it was good to have our own guide travelling with us, though he didn't eat with us here as he did elsewhere. Plenty of places to look over the river, though it felt very "drive-in" public just outside the restaurant.

Tarangire NP:
Plenty of sightings in the park, particularly of elephants (as expected), giraffe, zebra and buffalo. a couple of sightings each of spotted hyena, eland and wildebeest, and one of hartebeest. Also jackals, banded mongooses, lots of birds, other antelopes. On the night drive, which we ordered separately but which was very expensive, we saw bat-eared foxes and springtail hares." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Tim
USA

"The Best Ever"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"This lodge exceeded all expectation. The lodging and rooms were excellent.

The common space and patio were spacious and the view was spectacular. The service was very good and the help was loving and enthusiast.

Will go back again soon." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
Burke

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"The lodge has lodge rooms and tents. We stayed in the later. The tents are well equipped with plenty of hot water, especially in the shower.

The location is excellent. It is located on a high bluff, and all the tents have a good view down into the Tarangire valley.

The restaurant serves western style food. Dinner was unremarkable except for very good soup.

Breakfast buffet includes omelettes to order." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J
Woking

"Great stay at the Tarangire Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2016
"The Tarangire Safari Lodge has the most amazing view overlooking the valley with baobab trees, river and animals.

The tents themselves were a little tired and could do with some TLC. There was no electricity in the tent until 6.00 pm which wasn't a problem, but if we wanted a shower before that time, it was almost in the dark.

We had some great cocktails here and probably had the best food here. Lots of choice, especially for vegetarians, and had a great packed lunch.

There were animals all around the tents, dikdiks, antelopes and vervet monkeys. Great experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
M family
Weybridge

"Fantastic view on Tarangire park"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"Mangustes and impalas around out tent.

Tents on top of cliffs facing river with elephants and zebras and girafffes in the mornings." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Caymans

"Treetops at Tarangire"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"We stayed at Treetops Tarangire. It was super, attention could have not been better, food excellent.

We were given the closest cabin with a ramp, so I did not have to climb stairs. It was wonderful to watch the animals at their water hole below the pool. They had a wonderful Massai BBQ dinner with singing and dancing one evening.

Here we got a guide, who would be with us here and at The Manor. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved Treetops." See all these reviews: 34n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Otley

"Tarangire Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"We really enjoyed the Safari Lodge and its superb view over the river. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the setting was fantastic with plenty of wild-life and birds around the tents.

It was quite busy but this was compensated for by the excellent game viewing in the vicinity." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr &Mrs H
UK

"Tarangire Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2009
"Excellent location and superb views of the wildlife (elephants buffalo, gibbon, giraffe, wildebeast....) at the river from our tent. The location was very good for being amongst the wildlife with several animals (elephant and giraffe) just a few meters away (giraffe droppings outside our tent one morning!). As birdwatchers, we also appreciated views of several species from just outside our tent.

Staff were pleaseant and helpful and the Masai were vigilant in escorting us after dark. The tent and contents were very clean, comfortable bed, and the lodge organisation overall was good. This was a good first camp for us in a quiet and peaceful location and we enjoyed the experience of staying in a tent.

It was a pity we couldn't eat with our guide in the evenings - we would have liked to do this. It appeared that his accommodation was rather basic and he found it uncomfortable" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 10
94%
10 reviews of Tarangire Safari by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp is a small, intimate, luxury tented camp in a great location in northern Tanzania's Tarangire National Park.


94% (47 reviews)
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (14 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa