This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S from Burke

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2017 trip

Tanzania between 18 Sep 2017 and 27 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa was quite helpful and knowledgeable in helping with our planning. I believe we got very good advice in planning our trip, including decisions on depth vs breadth, Central vs Northern Serengeti, preferable places for bird watching.

Later, when one of our party dropped out, and we had to substitute another, the change was handled quite smoothly.

Asilia, the operator has a great reputation in Arusha, and it is obvious why. The vehicles are great - our guide, Harry was professional, and very experienced. He didnt break any rules chasing sightings, or harassing the animals."

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Nice quiet location"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"The inn is located in a very good place. My room backed onto the Usa river, and the gurgling of the water in the background was nice and soothing.

The staff is polite and friendly, but were not always efficient.

The restaurant offerings are aimed for the western palate - it is good, but not great.

The rooms are clean and well appointed. Plenty of hot water in the shower."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"The lodge has lodge rooms and tents. We stayed in the later. The tents are well equipped with plenty of hot water, especially in the shower.

The location is excellent. It is located on a high bluff, and all the tents have a good view down into the Tarangire valley.

The restaurant serves western style food. Dinner was unremarkable except for very good soup.

Breakfast buffet includes omelettes to order."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"They treat you well"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"We chose this camp for its great location. It is the only camp that gives you a decent shot at getting down to the crater before the crowds arrive.
But we were also very pleased by the courteous and helpful and efficient staff. We were greeted when we arrived and they all gathered to bid us farewell when we left. During our stay, their service was great, including the talking shower.

We needed packed breakfast at 6AM, and they cheerfully obliged.

Dinner was communal. and fixed course. The food was well prepared."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Simple and good"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Kati Kati is a mobile camp located conveniently in the centre of central Serengeti. Service and facilities are simple, but adequate. We had good hot water for our showers despite rumours that the camp was facing water shortage problems.

Some of the staff were not very helpful, though they did indulge all our requests.

Food though smple was very well prepared. Of all the places we stayed, this camp had the best variety and quality of food.

The surroundings are also very good - we had Hyenas roaming in the vicinity, and there was a pride of lions not too far away - in fact, our dinner was interrupted one night by a fracas between the lions and hyenas fighting (presumably) over a kill.

Dinner is at a fixed time, though all parties sit at separate tables. They could improve on how they serve dinner. Each item is served individually. Since there is limited staff, it takes time for all the items to be served. Secondly, they dont announce the items that will be served, so you are left to guess at how big a helping of each item to take. It would be simpler if they simply served the dinner buffet style."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

"More than an airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"The primary clientele of Kia Lodge consists of travellers arriving late or waiting for their flight. Which is a pity, because the lodge is set in great surroundings. The grounds are landscaped with a variety of exotic plants.

The rooms have good facilities with hot showers - grealy appreciated after a week out on safari.

Staff is friendly and efficient."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team