This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kati Kati Camp
Kati Kati Camp
Kati Kati Camp
Kati Kati Camp

Reviews of Kati Kati Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kati Kati Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2019, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kati Kati Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

86% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Buffalo

71% success

Eland

33% success

Oryx

29% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Jonathan
bronte

"Kati Kati camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2019
"Great staff and a really special feel to this camp - a real Serengeti experience.

Food was surprisingly good, given we were in the middle of the Serengeti staying in tents!

Hot showers were a treat after dusty game drives, and sitting around the fire pre-dinner was really awesome watching the sunset.

Staff were great with our young children." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Very nice"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"We enjoyed the Kati Kati tented camp. Hyenas in in or on the edge of camp both nights, we liked that. Being able to do fame drives from right outside your tent is great. Hot water delivered for showers was easy and adequate. Tents are big and comfortable. It took us no time to feel fine with hearing lions and hyenas close by at night.
Sitting around a big bonfire before dinner every night was very nice." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dalys
London

"Best safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"We absolutely loved this camp! unbelieveably comfortable with superb food and the best wifi on the trip!

It felt so authentic and romantic to be in this camp in the Serengeti with animals moving through and around the temporary camp. Sitting by the fire with a sundowner watching the sunset is a moment we will all treasure. It is fabulous to just drive out in the morning looking for animals.

The service was excellent and the bucket showers brilliant. I was a little nervous about taking my family there - but we all adored it and felt that it was a really special experience that you just don't get with the more permanent lodges." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

D & S
NZ

"Good central Serengeti camp."

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"Arrived in pouring rain, so muddy, but later on and next day fine. Tent with mesh sides - a favourite style - at the end of the row so good open feeling. Took quite a while to drive in with the state of the road after the rain, but good central location.

On our second night, after a nearby lion roar, a "horse-race" sound of zebra galloped between our tent and the next. Apparently lions slept overnight near the campfire area, but no-one had seen a kill when we left.

We had a good sighting of a female leopard, though not of her cub which we'd seen briefly the previous day, on our way out of the park.

We were glad to be in the company of our driver guide, and sad to see the jam-packed crowd of cars around the koppie where the leopard and cub were. Regulations about the number of vehicles clustering round a particular animal are obviously widely ignored. We also were disturbed to see 3 vehicles from 1 company leave the road and drive right up to a magnificent lion sitting in the grass, previously undisturbed by several vehicles photographing it from the road. The lion was forced to move.

This situation is apparently common, usually caused by tourists pressuring their driver to disobey the rules, either by offering bribes, or to pay any fines, or by threatening to with-hold tips or complain to the company if the driver tries to stick to the rules. Consequently the authorities apparently now, instead of imposing fines (which they know will be paid by the tourists), attack the driver by banning him from entering the park again. The driver thus risks his job and his livelihood if he succumbs to the tourists' demands, causing extreme stress for him.

We think it is important that Safari Tour Operators stress to their clients the importance of not pressuring their guide to disobey rules. The "entitled" selfishness of this behaviour is obviously hugely detrimental to both the guides and the animals on which safaris depend." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

9 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Prof W
Queensland

"Giraffe!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"We arrived at Kati Kati late in the day to find several giraffe strolling through the camp- brilliant!

Kati Kati camp was neatly set up, the tents were clean and tidy, whilst more basic than other sites. The staff very friendly and the food great.

The animal life in the central Serengetti area was amazing while we were there." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

JS
Vancouver

"Kati Kati Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"Sarah and I enjoyed our stay here and the trips out from it. Again saw lots of animals, including a giraffe just 10 feet away from us when we were at the main tent for breakfast. On the safari from here we saw a leopard and her cub. Harry was able to find multiple animals for us to view - also went to see the migration from this camp.
Staff were fantastic and they spent a lot of time making our stay memorable" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Lisa & hubs
Nashville

"Just what we like!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"We knew this was the most "basic" of the camps we were to stay at, but as this was our first safari trip, we didn't have any expectations. We were very happy with everything here, and especially loved the ability to pick out ourselves what we put in our take away lunch boxes. We didn't realize how nice this was until we were at other camps.

All of the food was delicious, and service was super friendly and helpful. Cleanliness throughout the entire camp was great. Size of the tent and comfort of the bed were great.

The migration arrived 2 days before we did, so location was fantastic!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms Donna H
USA

"Kati Kati Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"Fantastic! The setting, my tent, the staff were all wonderful.

I loved this camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Burke

"Simple and good"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Kati Kati is a mobile camp located conveniently in the centre of central Serengeti. Service and facilities are simple, but adequate. We had good hot water for our showers despite rumours that the camp was facing water shortage problems.

Some of the staff were not very helpful, though they did indulge all our requests.

Food though smple was very well prepared. Of all the places we stayed, this camp had the best variety and quality of food.

The surroundings are also very good - we had Hyenas roaming in the vicinity, and there was a pride of lions not too far away - in fact, our dinner was interrupted one night by a fracas between the lions and hyenas fighting (presumably) over a kill.

Dinner is at a fixed time, though all parties sit at separate tables. They could improve on how they serve dinner. Each item is served individually. Since there is limited staff, it takes time for all the items to be served. Secondly, they dont announce the items that will be served, so you are left to guess at how big a helping of each item to take. It would be simpler if they simply served the dinner buffet style." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Family W
USA

"Kati Kati Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2017
"Loved this place! It was the perfect combination of comfort and ruggedness.

We felt like we were in the Serengeti (because we were) and yet we relished our time relaxing here.

Tents were well designed and comfortable.

Food was excellent." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 20
91%
20 reviews of Kati Kati Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
5
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

In the northern Serengeti, near the Mara River, luxurious Sayari Camp offers excellent wildife all year – boosted further by the wildebeest migration.


98% (58 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa