This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp

Reviews of Sayari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sayari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sayari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Oryx

67% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

20% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Steve Steph
New York

"Most Amazing Trip We Have Ever Had!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"Our stay at Sayari Camp was the best trip / holiday we have EVER had.

The team at Sayari led by Goodluck, including Baraka, Chris, Daudi, Samson, and Sidiki are among the best hosts we have ever had! They tailored everything to our needs and planned amazing camp meals for us. Goodluck went out of his way to connect with us on a personal level and we exchanged many experiences over dinner and drinks. The food was fantastic and we had a really nice "traditional" meal one evening.

The camp itself is excellent and has everything you could ask for. The location is perfectly located near the Mara River and has access to an amazing portion of Serengeti National Park. Our guide, Baraka, was highly skilled and took time not only to answer our questions on the wildlife but extended those discussions to the flora, insects, and environment. This man has a true passion for the outdoors and nature.

We would definitely do this again. Thank you so much for a great memory.

Steve & Steph" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr F & family
Belgium

"Sayari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Wonderful camp in an amazing setting. There was a lot of resident game in February, and being the quiet season it felt you had the entire area to yourself.
Ebenezer was an excellent guide with great knowledge and great feeling what your interests are.

The camp is very well run and the staff was very helpful and welcoming.

Great food with a lot of salads and vegetables.

Maybe the (beautiful) tents are in need of some refreshments..." See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

two professors
Albany

"Sayari"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"All of our trips usually just had the two of us in a land cruiser. But occasionally we had another couple with whom we formed a great friendship. Here the managers ate at the tables with us and made us feel like welcome friends rather than hotel guests. (Here I forgot to mention that at Manyara Tree Lodge we ate at separate tables; we much preferred the group settings elsewhere.)
We saw the famous Mara river crossing here, with the loss of one Wildebeest to the crocks--a gruesome sight as it took the wildebeest some long to succumb. Again the food was great as were the drinks around the firepit." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Mexico

"Wonderfully organised fantastic guide food OK"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"This is a brilliantly organised operation which runs like a smoothly oiled machine.

Our guide, Elia, was phenomenal and hugely enhanced the whole experience.

The food is so so, but they catered wonderfully for my gluten/dairy free diet, when my special foods were often better than the regular offerings!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Best Camp, best food"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2018
"This camp was exceptional. Superb, room, pool, and the most delicious food, with excellent salads and vegetables which are often missed when travelling.
Safaris were great, huge variation each day, our guide was superb. We loved our breakfasts in the wilderness.
Saw lots of game, Cheetahs, Lions, elephants etc.
Finished with a romantic dinner on our deck." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Herts

"Perfect safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We couldn't fault Sayari. The accommodation, the staff, the guide and the food were of the highest level. We would be happy to return there tomorrow!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Superb Sayari"

5 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"Our last camp was Sayari where we spent five nights and were delighted to have the nearest tent to the spacious communal area (some are so far away that you need a ride). The tents are large, comfortable and very private with a welcome shady verandah with table, chairs and bean bags and a good view over the bush. Staff were very friendly and attentive and the food for vegetarians was the best we have eaten on any safari.

The wildlife viewing was extremely varied because of the nearby Mara river and the different habitats of surrounding countryside including very rocky areas, dense bush, open plains and rolling hills. Highlights for us were three separate close-quarters leopard sightings plus a couple of breakfasts on the spectacularly lovely border watching the Kenyan rangers watching us. An amusing moment was being with two splendid male lions who were totally relaxed until they suddenly became aware of several rangers on foot in the distance!

We really didn't expect to see so much and in such quantity (in many cases) at this time of the year. Special thanks to manager Jen, Freddie the chef and our guide Godson for his infectious enthusiasm." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Hong Kong

"Stupendous Sayari!!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2017
"After the huge let downs at SOPA and KUSINI, I was praying for salvation at Sayari and found it!

Jen and Richard lead and run a superb world class camp -- engaged smiling staff eager to please, a family atmosphere, a soul, a vibrancy, a joy, a confidence that was refreshing to say the least. Food, service, tent all exceeded expectations in quality, presentation, comfort, and design. The game viewing was also terrific: leopard, hippo pools, lions...amazing! When I departed for the airstrip, the entire staff whom I had got to know on a first name basis, came out to wish me farewell. I was choked up, it was beautiful. My Sayari guide, Lenard was great. Knowledgable of the area in great detail -- unlike Albert who did not know Kusini district as well as Lenard knew Sayari. Lenard was eager to please, very accommodating and pleasant -- he was mine exclusively which was terrific." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
R & C
Atlanta

"Amazing wildlife and luxurious ammenties "

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2016
"Sayari camp is beautiful with outstanding amenities. Due to some weirdness with the rains, this was also the best wild life viewing on our trip (in late December).

Our game drives were outstanding - we saw all of the big 5 and a river crossing! Everywhere we looked there were herds of animals. It was truly breathtaking. Watching herds of zebra frolick in the rain was so neat. My favorite moment was watching a giant herd of elephants cross around us, including several very small babies, as we shared sundowners and watched the sunset.

I only wish we could have cloned ourselves in order to spend more time enjoying the amenities at the hotel. We visited the pool on our last morning but wish we had more time. The rooms were lovely as well.

All our meals were delicious and the staff were so kind responding to individual requests from various guests. The New Years Eve party was a lot of fun - it was nice to have some time to get to know our guides and the other staff. We particularly enjoyed chatting with Jennifer and Richard. Elizabeth and David were so kind in teaching us Swahili and about the culture in Tanzania." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Dorset

"Great Camp and Great Game Viewing"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"Sayari camp in the northern Serengeti was a fourth and final camp on our northern Tanzania safari, organised by Expert Africa. Our 3 nights here was a fantastic finale to an amazing trip.

We arrived at Kogatende airstrip after a short flight from Seronera in the central Serengeti. We were met at the airstrip by our guide Lucas. On the drive to the camp as well as seeing elephant and giraffe we witnessed our first wildebeest crossing of the Mara River. The wildebeest were returning south to the Serengeti from the Maasai Mara, unfortunately one became lunch for a waiting crocodile.

On arrival at the camp we were warmly welcomed by Jen, the manager. Sayari camp has 15 ‘tents’ but is in fact run as two separate entities one of nine tents and the second with six tents. We stayed in the larger camp which was managed by Jen and her husband Richard assisted by Germana. Each camp has its own dining facility and lounge but a pool is shared by both camps. Service at the camp was impeccable and both management and staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

The tents are luxuriously appointed with sliding glass doors leading to a large verandah with views towards the Mara River and Kenya. They are well spread out in the camp and hence very private but quite a long way from the camp facilities. This is not a problem as the guide will pick you up from the tent in the morning and there is a ‘taxi service’ in the evening to take you to and from the dining room.

The food at all the meals was excellent with a good choice and was always served with a smile.

Our guide, Lucas, was brilliant; it was very enjoyable spending the day with him. We did four game drives with Lucas and had some wonderful sightings including three more wildebeest crossings. On one game drive we crossed the Mara River and drove to the Kenyan border and stood one foot in Tanzania and one in Kenya. Although we did not find the elusive rhino we saw plenty of all three of the big cats, including one pride of 17 lions, plus buffalo, wildebeest, zebra, giraffe, elephant, warthog, hyaena, jackal, topi, hartebeest, eland, klipspringer, impala, oribi, dik dik, baboon, mongoose, steinbok, gazelle, hyrax, Nile monitor lizard, crocodile and hippo.

The northern Serengeti is a fantastic place to see lots of different wildlife, although it is busy (many other vehicles) at the migration crossing places it is much quieter away from the river. A great luxurious camp set in a wonderful location." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 58
98%
58 reviews of Sayari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa