This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs E from Yardley, PA, US

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2021 trip

Zambia between 9 Aug 2021 and 28 Aug 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had the most wonderful time! It was a time of total de-stressing, relaxation, wonder and renewal of old friendships. All staff at the camps were vaccinated, and all guests that I spent any time with were too. Of course everything was outdoors, so I really didn't worry about covid very much.

Sightings were varied from camp to camp. I usually visit Zambia in June so I was particularly interested to see the carmine bee-eaters and other migrants as well as so many flowering trees.

This was my ninth visit to South Luangwa. I will continue to return to this fabulous park and all the friends I have made with guides and staff during that time. It is a magical place!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2021
"This was my fifth visit Chongwe River Camp, and each visit is better than the last. The staff and guides are friendly, knowledgeable and just wonderful people. The camp's location, set at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi Rivers, is truly beautiful. I particularly enjoy the view from Tent #4 as one can view both the Chongwe River and escarpment to the north and the Zambezi to the south. Activities include not only game drives and walks but also boating and fishing activities. Food is very good too. Elephants and impala were frequently wandering in camp, searching for winterthorn pods which had begun to fall. There is always some kind of wildlife to watch right from the tents."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Spectacular camp and wildlife sightings"

5 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2021
"My eighth trip to Kaingo is a testament to how much I love this place. The camp itself overlooks the Luangwa River and each chalet has it's own viewing deck above the river. The remodeled chalets are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Wildlife sightings and guiding here are just the best! Multiple sightings of various predators in one day are not uncommon. Food prepared by Chef Catherine and her staff is unusual, inventive, varied, and delicious. The guides know the behaviours of many individual leopards and lion prides and put you at the right place at the right time to optimize your viewing and photography."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Mfuwe Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2021
"(I was actually at Mfuwe Lodge for one night 18 August instead of two at this point in my trip.)

I always enjoy staying at the Lodge at some point during my visit to SLNP because the staff are wonderful and the wildlife viewing right from the chalets is great. Wildlife sightings in this area of the park are abundant and varied. Unfortunately this is the busiest part of the park due to its proximity to the main gate, but Mfuwe Lodge guides do their best at staying away from busy areas if you ask them to. The Lodge offers luxury in the bush - AC, limited WIFI, a gift shop, outdoor exercise area and spa. The recently refurbished chalets are bright and well appointed. The staff pay careful attention to covid protocols but still manage to put guests at ease."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

"Kuyenda Bushcamp 3 nights (19 Aug - 22 Aug)"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2021
"Unlike the other camps I visited on this trip, Kuyenda is on a sand river rather than next to water. The four new chalets and common area are very attractive and tastefully done without any frills but just what one needs. The thatched rondavels have roofless bathrooms attached, providing running hot and cold water, WC and shower with a view. I love their simplicity. Staff and guiding, as at all Bushcamp properties, are friendly and excellent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chindeni

Chindeni

"Chindeni 3 nights 22 Aug to 25 Aug"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2021
"Chindeni's setting and tents couldn't be more beautiful! The tents are spacious and attractive with viewing decks overlooking the lagoon. There was a lot more water in the lagoon this August than I have ever seen in June visits and wildlife sights there were fewer, but game drives provided lots of sightings in varied terrains. The highlight during this visit was sundowners sitting in camp chairs in the Kapamba River. What luxury!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team