This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp


13°19’0.4"S 31°38’30.4"E

Reviews of Chamilandu Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

5 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chamilandu Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chamilandu Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-5 of 5
Duration
Arrival date
The C Family
Ireland

"Chamilandu Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2019
"We really enjoyed our stay at Chamilandu, the rooms are enormous and completely open to the elements with just the mosquito nets between us and the African night. The rooms are raised on stilts so this is safe and helps with the heat. Faneul has a great personality as camp manager and guide and we thoroughly enjoyed our walking safaris as well as the evening when we went on a 'wild dog hunt', and did eventually find three even if the kitchen staff would not have appreciated the very late dinner." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs G
Herts

"Good game in nice green area"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"First time at a Bush camp Company camp. very impressed by the professionalism of the operation. Fanwell was an excellent guide and Camp manager. Walks however were short.

Rooms were very spacious and airy but not rustic. Did not really have the bush camp feel about it.

Sadly it did not have a river frontage as the river has changed course but the waterhole hide made a lovely venue for midday viewing. Area very different to the north. Felt quite remote. Good game.

Food excellent particularly the stir fry!" See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Return to Chamilandu!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"Our last 3 nights on this safari were spent at Chamilandu. Sue and I had stayed here before, 9 years ago, and we were hoping that our 3 friends would like it as much as we did. We needn't have worried - it was as good as ever.

Akim and his staff gave us a warm welcome and it says something about the camp that at least two of the staff (Doc and George the chef) were here last time we came. Indeed, I believe they have been at Chamilandu for over 20 years!

James guided us on some lovely walks each morning, accompanied by rangers xxxxx or xxxxx and Mulenga carrying the supplies. James deserves special mention as arguably being the most knowledgeable guide we have ever spent time with. This, together with his good humour and sympathetic approach to the wildlife made the walks and drives an absolute pleasure. The only flaw that James has is that he supports the wrong rugby playing nation!!

The food was delicious, the accommodation fantastic and the water hole at the camp is well worth spending siesta time at - too much going on to waste time napping!

However, it may not be a bad idea to try to provide some sort of cover for the bathroom area of the 'chalet' we stayed in, as a night time visit to the loo risked being spattered by baboons also 'visiting the loo'!

Our highlight was probably our last evening drive, where we watched a pride of 9 lions, including a large male, at the start of a hunt. We didn't stay to watch the almost inevitable kill (unlike lots of people, this is not our top priority) but it was a really special time. Add to that the fact that we had seen 5 other lions earlier in the day, including two small cubs, and it wasn't a bad last day at all.

Will we be back for a 3rd time? Well we certainly would not hesitate to visit again if the finances support it!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M
Oakham

"Chamilandu Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2009
"This was our first time in the South of the Park and with the Bushcamp company. During our transfer from Mwamba to Chamilandu we stopped in for brunch at Mfuwe Lodge. Here we were made very welcome especially by Ollie, Shelley and Ian (whom we knew from previous visits to Mwamba) and enjoyed a delicious lunch.

The transfer to Chamilandu was rather hectic and uncomfortable, partly due to the speed at which we travelled and partly the tsetses which seemed suddenly to have emerged. The driver Byron seemed unable to gauge the level of bush experience of his passengers which was bit irritating at times. However, he was very cheery and delivered us safely to Chamilandu where we were warmly welcomed by Zilla.

This was another very comfortable, small bush camp with the luxury of constant hot water, friendly, helpful staff and delicious food. The situation on the river bank is beautiful and makes for interesting wildlife viewing on both banks. A special mention goes to Doc who served our meals, including a private dinner on our deck one night. Our guide Gilbert was again very experienced and knowledgeable and went out of his way to provide extra information. He was also good company. David, our scout was a valuable addition to our excursions.

On balance the abundance of wildlife was not as good as around Mwamba, but we did have an excellent leopard sightling - two females up a tree with an impala kill. We had a great walk over to Chindeni, another bushcamp, with two other guests whe were transferring there. Again we were made very welcome, given use of a room to refresh ourselves and served an excellent brunch.

Chamilandu has a nearby hide overlooking a lagoon where we sent a fruitful siesta photographing a very playful troop of baboons including an albino baby. The downside in this area was the huge number of tstese flies. The weather warmed up as we arrived in this part of the park and they were out in force. Despite this we very much enjoyed our time here." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Northants

"A fantastic camp to finish our holiday"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2008
"A great , very well run camp. It was a great location and things were well organised by Wayne and his team. Particularly appreciated him putting an extra sunbed in our room for our siesta. I also enjoyed using the hide to watch at the water hole in the afternoon.

Fannuel was a great guide and took time to explain things. Plenty of animals and birds to enjoy.

Coming back the last night with a brei down at the hide was very special" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-5 of 5
100%
5 reviews of Chamilandu Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


91% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa