This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kawaza Village
Kawaza Village
Kawaza Village
Kawaza Village
Kawaza Village
Kawaza Village

Reviews of Kawaza Village

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kawaza Village and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
SoCal Girl
USA

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2016
"Once in a life time opportunity. Really enjoyed myself, a definite authentic experience.

Everyone should visit this village, although must be prepared for the primitive accomodations if you choose to spend the night...I personally loved it." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Herts

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"The highlight of the trip.

Great experience seeing a real Zambian village.

Everyone was very friendly." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr H
USA

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2012
"The village overnight was such a wonderful part of our trip. The experience really made us feel a connection to Zambia that we never would have felt had we not stayed at the village.

We spent time at the school, medical clinic, traditional healer, and a church service. The church members sang for us and greeted us individually. I still think about the children who have so little but always had a smile on their faces!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"We have a mixed review for this stop on our trip. As an overnight experience, I found the "genuine traditional village experience" to be a bit staged.

Our hosts wanted to make sure we did a few things on the list of activities they offered, which included a must visit to the "traditional healer" (who had converted to Christianity for healing guidance), and sleeping on a rank foam pad with very dirty sheets and eating day old (or three) re-hydrated chicken and pumpkin leaves.

After much insistence I was allowed to visit the school and share some poster art and supplies with the kids, but it's not on their list of activities so it was going a bit against the grain. The villagers were very friendly and the kids allowed us to join their soccer match. Like I mentioned, it was a mixed-bag. One last note, it was the only place on the trip where something personal went missing." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Malawi; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Essex

"Fascinating insight into local village life"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2011
"Greeted by our host Constantino, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, plunged in straight away with helping with the meal and washing up, spent the rest of the afternoon chatting to our hosts, visited Kawaza School where we met the girl we have begun sponsoring and were surrounded by very excited children desperate to have their photos taken! Dancing laid on in the evening (no light after dark apart from the fire so take torches!)

Loved the interaction with our hosts, spent a surprisingly restful night in our mud hut (apart from the cockerel starting his day at 2.15am!) and were taken to meet other villagers before we left after our breakfast of noodles and sauce.

Staying overnight is probably not for everyone but we are very glad we did, it gave us a real taste of what village life is like and we spent a long time discussing the future of the village and particularly of the younger generation.

Thoroughly recommended." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
Worcs

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2011
"Kawaza is not a place where the emphasis is on the tourist - it is unspoilt and provides a true insight into village life. This was a wonderful addition to our trip and a great way to learn a little about the real Zambia. Half a day is for those who simply want to tick the box - stay overnight to really complete the experience.

The 'grading' given below is clearly not a comparison with any of the safari lodges. This is a no frills experience and for 'simple living' the standard is very good indeed." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Sweden

"Good insight of the daily village life"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2011
"Very difficult to rate, as we have nothing to compare with, apart from a few hours in Chiawa community at Tsika Island. The vey short stay took us around several villages, where we came upon different activities as pounding seeds, making gin and us giving medical advice.

We had the opportunity to visit the clinic and its only permanent staff, the laboratory assistant. We got a short but rather comprehensive picture of the conditions they work under, and also a glimpse of the main deceases.

Back in the village, evening dance and singing. Dinner, chima and chicken, and riddles, early to bed.

Morning, breakfast - rice - and of to the school. It was very impressing to see what they were able to do with the very minimal resources they have. The commitment of the staff was outstanding.

The visit gave us a very good understanding of the social structure in a Kunda village.

To conclude our impression is that the standard of room, the food etc was very good, far above what they normally would have for them selves. They sleep on the floor - we had mattrasses.

We very much enjoyed the stay," See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Fantastic visit to Kawaza Village!"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2011
"Our stay at Kawaza Village was a real highlight of our trip. Constantino and Constance were excellent hosts and showed us around the village and introduced us to many friendly people. What we enjoyed the most about this visit was that it provided a real glimpse of rural Zambian village life. Nothing was contrived or touristy about our stay. We ate what they ate, and slept in a small thatched hut similar to what they live in. Nothing fancy, no electricity, no running water, but definitely adequate.

Village women and girls entertained us that evening with traditional dances by the campfire, and many locals joined us in the celebration. The people we met seemed genuinely happy to see us there.

Any visit to South Luangwa would not be complete without a night's stay at Kawaza Village! Great people and a real experience!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Northumber

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Overnight visit was cancelled due to DSM illness on recommendation of doctor but we made a morning visit which was very interesting.

We found the visit to the village, the school and the local clinic of great interest. We were well looked after by Lawrence.

Because of cancellation overnight we were returned to Nkwali and given accommodtion there. Melissa welcomed us back and we had another good night in Nkwali. As the aspects below do not apply I have just completed the 'good' column." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Kingston

"Kawaza - informative and great evening 'show'"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"A really worthwhile trip. We visited villagers homes, met the headmaster of the local school, attended a church service, talked to a traditional healer, shopped at the local shop, fetched water from the well,..... In the evening they put on a show for us where the whole village seemed to show up. Drumming, singing and dancing with 'audience participation'! Ate 'local' meals, drank homemade brandy and wine - tasted pretty good!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 11
95%
11 reviews of Kawaza Village by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (275 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (203 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa