This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Sweden

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

The best vacation ever

Zambia between 11 Jul 2011 and 29 Jul 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was worked out around our wish of spending 3 weeks in Zambia including North and South Luangwa, doing as much walking as possible plus Kawaza village. On Maruska recommendation Lower Zambezi was added. We also asked for camps/lodges were game viewing was the main focus.

Hence we had quite a few camps and lodges that we stayed in, all in all 9. The logistics between the camps, including the flight connections were as one would say in modern consultancy terminology seamless. The only mishappening was our luggage to Kawaza village, but Proflight worked it out.

The mix of camps was very good as well as the choice of areas, it gave a very good insight in what is available on the eastern side of Zambia. This must have been one our best trips/vacations ever.

As we do quite extensive research ourselves in beforehand we knew what we had to expect, at least to some extent. we understood that this was not the case for all and every one.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

As you know we missed our first day due to Lufthansa delay in Johannesburg. The delay was due to the aircraft, the new Airbus 380 with more than 500 passengers. It took more than 30 minutes to get off the plan. Apart from 15 min late arrival. 1h50 was not enough to make the transfer. We had booked the flight, this is more for you to be aware of the potential risk of delays with these immense aircrafts."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Most genuine bush camp. Excellent guiding."

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"Intimate camp, well kept. Very nicely situated at the Mwaleshi river. Very diverse habitat.

Excellent walking, guided by Alexander. We were the only two guests. The interaction between scout, guide and special was among the best we had. Enjoyed the "examination" before we let to fly back to Tafika. Walking pace gave room for discussions on all various aspect of the walk that came up. "Le chef" was the best of them all.

A good and healthy breakfast before safari. The idea with a "tea man" or special was very appreciated during the walking safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"NP shared with one camp is a great advantage"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2011
"We had all the top guides, hence excellent guiding. The guides were very persistent during the drives, they never gave up. No lions but 3 leopard spotting, one cat chasing after pukus.

Tafika retained the feeling of Bush Camp, by being straight forward and unpretentious. A very relaxed atmosphere.
The staff was very accommodating.

We also enjoyed the "close" contacts with the hippos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Great walking in a very intriguing habitat."

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2011
"Very good walk to Chikoko. Excellent guiding (Stephen). Two storey "huts" gave excellent view. Everything well kept, clean, plenty off hot water for the shower. Food very good.

Afternoon walk brought us to a heard of some 200 buffalos and an open grassland of pukus, impalas, warthogs, elephants, elands, kudus and baboons, not to mention all the birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Relaxed and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"Very relaxed two days with Isaac. And we learnt a lot, never a dull moment. We were looked after like royalties. Special could go through fire to serve out tea. Maybe the best scout we came upon. Isaac and and scout had full control at all times, even on the evening walk when we went "hunting" the leopard almost stumbling on a 14 feet croc on land and came back just a few minutes before it got dark. No leopard. The hyena laughed just behind us.

We had very interesting talks in the evening at all Remote Africa bush camps with the guides about Zambian culture, social pattern, family life etc. They were very open in sharing their beliefs and their lives with us. As we were going to Kawaza Isaac had some chima made for us to try and to learn how to eat.

Another characteristic of the guides was their joy of being out in the nature, big animals - small animals, big trees - small plants, big birds - small birds, or just sit still for an hour looking at was coming and going. And so as we sat there a heard of 600 buffalos approached us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Great hides"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"Very short stay. Very mixed guest.

We had an excellent guide, young British guy, Ian (born in Malawi) who was doing what he loved, and he was very good at it. He could actually pass on his love of the environment birds-animals-trees etc to us. And we had a "peeping Tom" experience with a lion couple mating.

Food was of good quality but a bit international/british.

Breakfast before the morning drive/walk was very light, tea only. Not much to walk on. Brunch when we came back. The walk was "a transport" of one guest to the bush camp. We were told 6 km in 2,5 h. No time to stop - look - listen etc. We brought it up with the guide and asked him to slow, which he eventually did.

Hides were of course super."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

"Good insight of the daily village life"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2011
"Very difficult to rate, as we have nothing to compare with, apart from a few hours in Chiawa community at Tsika Island. The vey short stay took us around several villages, where we came upon different activities as pounding seeds, making gin and us giving medical advice.

We had the opportunity to visit the clinic and its only permanent staff, the laboratory assistant. We got a short but rather comprehensive picture of the conditions they work under, and also a glimpse of the main deceases.

Back in the village, evening dance and singing. Dinner, chima and chicken, and riddles, early to bed.

Morning, breakfast - rice - and of to the school. It was very impressing to see what they were able to do with the very minimal resources they have. The commitment of the staff was outstanding.

The visit gave us a very good understanding of the social structure in a Kunda village.

To conclude our impression is that the standard of room, the food etc was very good, far above what they normally would have for them selves. They sleep on the floor - we had mattrasses.

We very much enjoyed the stay,"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Stunningly situated at Zambesi"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2011
"The first evening we went out for an evening cruise, very odd feeling after more than 10 days in the bush. We had a very nice evening with a French couple, who hardly spoke any english. As we speak French we had no problem and we had indeed a very interesting evening. In most of the camps (apart from Remote Africa) the evening conversation was a social event and not very interesting.

Very relaxing camp. The atmosphere of the lodge was very much family like, something we appreciated. We were picked up for a short, very short drive to a leopard chewing away on a baboon. The red light did not seem to bother her at all.

To wake up in the morning with the raising sun shining into the tent listening to all the birds was an experience never to be forgotten.

The food lacked a bit of imagination."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

"Relaxed and peaceful setting at the riverside"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2011
"Long river trip to Tsika Island, rather windy, beautiful scenery. Tsika island is perfect for a day or two of complete relaxation (apart from the 45 elephants in the camp the morning we arrived), between different activities.
We went up to Chiawa culture village as well as the village itself. Went to the school and the orphanage and had the opportunity to talk to some of the representatives of the village.

Once again deeply impressed by the work performed by the teachers and head master at the village school. As we have understood the schools lack recourses and yet they are able to make "miracles".

Relaxing evening, with sundowner, a nice dinner in candle light and early to bed. And as always hippos walking around the house during the night, only this time the elephants were there as well.

We did the 35 km canoeing back to Chongwe the following day. Partly bumpy due to strong wind, unusual for this time of the year. The logistics around the canoeing was very good. After we had done two thirds of the distance it was time for warm and very good lunch, and some discussions on the various tracks on the beach. Further down during the canoeing we had elephants coming down to drink. We had hippos and crocs also during our entire trip. When we were almost at the the camp Caroline waved welcoming to us from the top of the riverbank

The guides were very good, knew what they were doing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Stunningly situated at Zambesi"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2011
"We had a very nice evening drive with Patrik, he had a very good sense of finding nice spots for sundowner or lookouts for wildlife. Next morning Patrik drove half way to Old Mondoro, through the park. The scenery partly outstanding.

At the end we came upon a pride of some 11 lions, we also came across a rather big male elephant that wanted to tell us that he owned the "road"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"High class bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"We did all but fishing. Walking, driving and canoeing.
This was again a different camp, a bit more upmarket than the others.
Started off with an evening drive, not so much wildlife but a habitat completely different from what we had experienced, and a very beautiful one.

Our guide,Levy, was yet another very experienced, knowledgeable and committed guide. We had a good morning drive with him as well, afternoon was set for a trip in the canoes. We went into what they call "discovery channel", close up with most animals including hippos. It all ended by one hippo attacking and taking two bites of the leading canoe. The incident went very well thanks to the competence of Levy and Peter (the other guide). This goes for the camp management as well. We would not like to have the canoe trip undone.

A very good walk in the morning with elephants on their back legs going for the green branches high up in the trees.

Last day we, all 8 guests, had a surprise lunch out in the bush, very much appreciated. And coming back to the camp we had some 13 elephants around the houses for several hours. Last evening drive we had an exceptional 1 hr spotting and very close up to a leopard - walking and climbing trees, very professionally conduced drive.

The coal boxes under the table during dinner was nice and warm, as the evenings in Lower Zambezi were much colder than in the Luangwa area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team