This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp

Reviews of Chongwe River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

112 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chongwe River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chongwe River Camp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

53% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

89% success

Spotted Hyena

74% success

Zebra

44% success

Aardvark

24% success

Eland

6% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 112
Duration
Arrival date
Mr RVM
Sintra

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"Unforgettable! Above the best expectations. Everything was wonderful from the location to the facilities, bul specially the warmth of the people (manager, staff and guide). We've felt great.

After the first night we had a very kind accommodation upgrade in a private tented suite called "the Albida" (with two-bedrooms, as me and my wife Maria traveled together with my sister Célia and my brother-in-law José, and a common area for meals, leisure and rest). We cannot forget all the support and care received from Fossie (manager), Given (room service), Watson (meals), Steve (our guide) and the rest of the staff. And there was a lot of other surprises, including a birthday cake (and party) and a superb lunch on a boat on the Zambezi River!

Many animals visited us at the Albida during the day or the night - elephants, hippos, waterbucks, baboons and lots of birds. A waterbuck got trapped in our external bathroom on the second night but with the help of the night watch guys it eventually joined the herd. Unexpected adventure...

Canoeing activity was great. We loved the tours in Chongwe and Zambezi rivers and the other activities conducted by Steve as well. We saw a lot of animals although their diversity was not very large.

An aspect to improve: the lack of communications, including the internet, although it is great to keep you focused in your job (walk and drive safaris) can be a serious limitation if you are in need to hear from your family very far away...

Putting it all together: it was an unforgettable stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms D
Ireland

"Cassia suite at Chongwe River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Sunrise at Cassia suite is spectacular and magical!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Marvellous Chongwe River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Still my favourite camp after 6 visits because of its superb location, the range of activities offered and the wonderful welcoming and friendly team.

The guides (Hugo and George) went out their way to be flexible and ensure I had another perfect stay at Chongwe. Once again, I really enjoyed fishing (Tiger Fish, Vundu and Bream).

I had great sightings of a half collared kingfisher while canoeing, and for the first time I saw Klipspringers and a Leopard Turtoise while on a game drive. Will be back next year!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

The B family
Swindon

"Wonderful Change of scenery at Chongwe"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"It was lovely to have a contrasting environment for this part of the trip. The team were absolutely first class and you were treated like one of the family. All aspects of the camp were superb.
The guides were a very high standard and made sure that you had a variety of activities.
It was wonderful to spend time in a canoe and on a boat in the Zambezi. The opportunity to see wildlife from a different perspective was exciting.
They helped us celebrate our anniversary with a special meal on a pontoon which was incredible!
What else can we say - it was amazing!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Wonderful views of the river and hills beyond"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Arrival at the camp by river is a safari in its own right, so much to see in the river and on the banks and in the air.

The camp is in a great position on the river bank with all tents having great views of wildlife that wander through the camp and in the river. A choice of game drives or on the river in the boats, always so much to see as found by the guides and trackers.

With no moon, the night drives were spectacular with views of the planets and stars that are just not visible in populated parts of the world, and a first for me, three sightings of satellites and the International Space Station - the wildlife was good too!!

The camp staff and food were superb - a great stay. Thanks to Tom, Hugo and owner Chris." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr P.
Chilterns

"Chongwe River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Mr P.
Chilterns

"Chongwe River Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Excellent camp and great safari"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"An excellent camp with very friendly management and staff. Good food and range of excellent activities - drives, canoe, walking safari and hide. Elephants were frequent visitors to the camp and around our tent.
It can take some time to drive into the National Park (at least about 30 minutes depending on where the Chongwe River can be crossed), however, the route to the park along the riverside is interesting for birds and water fowl. On one occasion we returned to the camp from the Park by boat across the Chongwe which took only minutes.
Excellent general guiding from Sam: highlight, one evening, was seeing two leopards with an impala kill being dispossessed by hyenas. Excellent walking safari with Bright, especially learning about the life of termites and some of the history of the park." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs. KCW
DC

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"We loved the location of this camp, right on the river! The tents were spacious and very well maintained. We loved the bathroom. We had so much activity right outside our tent and around camp! Elephants daily sweeping up "elephant biscuits" all over camp, poking their trunks around the tent was really fun! Listening to the sounds of hippos, leopards, lions, and hyenas at night was wonderful. Friendly camp staff always trying to surprise us!

We didn't get to fully connect with our guide but enjoyed most all of our activities!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Maryland

"Chongwe River Camp review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"We previously reviewed Chongwe. [Ed: see below]

We had a one-night stay here before flying home, and the highlight was an afternoon canoe trip followed by a night drive on which we saw 2 leopards. The next morning our guide took one of us on a short walk before going to the airport.

As we commented previously, their flexibility and willingness to accommodate everyone's requests was greatly appreciated." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 112
96%
112 reviews of Chongwe River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
92
17
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa