This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp
Chongwe River Camp

Reviews of Chongwe River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

118 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chongwe River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chongwe River Camp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

4% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

76% success

Zebra

54% success

Aardvark

18% success

Eland

10% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 118
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & D
Australia

"Picturesque location, nice tent"

5 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2022
"Too many staff, didn't feel sincere, staff robotic, yawning, bored. We changed our guide on 2nd day.

This camp suits first time visitors to Africa - not for photographers or experienced safari travellers. The camp was very large, tents very luxurious and comfortable. We just didn't feel the vibe here. wished we had only stayed 3 nights and 5 nights at Old Mondoro.

The food was adequate - not great. Staying outside the NP was a waste of travel time each day. Too many elephants, impala and baboons in this part of the park.

We spent a day fishing - that was a good break from the jeep." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr C
EBMATINGEN

"Chongwe - Great stay at a great camp"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"Our second visit to Chongwe and very happy we made the decision to go back to this excellent camp. Location is perfect and this gives a range of activity options outside of the game drive.

Tent was very well laid out and facilities were all spot on. Clean, tidy, well stocked and nothing to fault.

Being critical, the food was somewhat basic compared to other camps, but it was all extremely well prepared and presented, tasted excellent, and there was plenty of it. Getting a menu choice and having somewhat flexible eating times made the whole food experience very good indeed.

Perhaps the very best part of the camp is the wonderful staff, from the managers to the night guard and gardener, they were all friendly, helpful, efficient and made this a wonderful stay.

A special mention to our guide Sam - nothing was too much for him, no question too small, and his knowledge is widespread." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

N & J Lancs
UK

"Chongwe River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2022
"Beautiful view - river, mountains and into the national park.

Elephants walking in to camp and past our tent! Great close up shots. Elephant in musk charging the jeep as we somehow we got between him and some females hidden in the bush.

Saw lioness with cubs and two juvenile males. Also saw 6 wild dogs, they ran past the jeep and then later we caught up with them as they were sleeping.

Our guide here was Hastings and again he was very knowledgeable and experienced. Very expert reversing down a narrow 800 metre track to get away from the big bull elephant!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

NJK
Manchester

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Really lovely place - great setting on the river, great rooms and food. Felt 'busy' after my previous two stays but enjoyed chatting to fellow guests nonetheless. A bit disappointing to have wi-fi so I pretended it didnt exist (but at least one other guest was thrilled) and have to admit it was useful. Ate well, slept well, and generally was very well looked after. Would happily return.

Several visitors in camp - a fractious elephant, Albert the hippo is a regular, some shy warthogs who were keen to graze. A slender mongoose and water monitor lizard passed barely 6ft away as I sat on the verandah. Often lots of activity on the river bank opposite my chalet - elephants, crocs, baboons, various birds.

Bob was a great guide and covered lots of ground to ensure we saw all the different aspects of the park and its inhabitants. Our canoe trip was a definite highlight - genuinely an amazing experience (if slightly tense at one point, passing a grumpy elephant! We were in safe hands with Hector and Bob though). Really enjoyed how peaceful it was in the beautiful landscape, and closer to the birds/smaller animals who were less disturbed by us in a canoe than they would have been by us in a jeep." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr F
Hampshire

"Chongwe River Camp review"

10 nights Arrived 25 May 2022
"Everything about this camp faultless.

Our guide Ronald was one of the very best that we have had on our several visits to Africa.

The food was excellent and every member of staff extremely pleasant and efficient. the accommodation suits us, we are not looking for hot tubs etc and the camp is very well managed in every way." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs E
Yardley, PA, US

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2021
"This was my fifth visit Chongwe River Camp, and each visit is better than the last. The staff and guides are friendly, knowledgeable and just wonderful people. The camp's location, set at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi Rivers, is truly beautiful. I particularly enjoy the view from Tent #4 as one can view both the Chongwe River and escarpment to the north and the Zambezi to the south. Activities include not only game drives and walks but also boating and fishing activities. Food is very good too. Elephants and impala were frequently wandering in camp, searching for winterthorn pods which had begun to fall. There is always some kind of wildlife to watch right from the tents." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr RVM
Sintra

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"Unforgettable! Above the best expectations. Everything was wonderful from the location to the facilities, bul specially the warmth of the people (manager, staff and guide). We've felt great.

After the first night we had a very kind accommodation upgrade in a private tented suite called "the Albida" (with two-bedrooms, as me and my wife Maria traveled together with my sister Célia and my brother-in-law José, and a common area for meals, leisure and rest). We cannot forget all the support and care received from Fossie (manager), Given (room service), Watson (meals), Steve (our guide) and the rest of the staff. And there was a lot of other surprises, including a birthday cake (and party) and a superb lunch on a boat on the Zambezi River!

Many animals visited us at the Albida during the day or the night - elephants, hippos, waterbucks, baboons and lots of birds. A waterbuck got trapped in our external bathroom on the second night but with the help of the night watch guys it eventually joined the herd. Unexpected adventure...

Canoeing activity was great. We loved the tours in Chongwe and Zambezi rivers and the other activities conducted by Steve as well. We saw a lot of animals although their diversity was not very large.

An aspect to improve: the lack of communications, including the internet, although it is great to keep you focused in your job (walk and drive safaris) can be a serious limitation if you are in need to hear from your family very far away...

Putting it all together: it was an unforgettable stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Ms D
Ireland

"Cassia suite at Chongwe River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Sunrise at Cassia suite is spectacular and magical!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Marvellous Chongwe River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Still my favourite camp after 6 visits because of its superb location, the range of activities offered and the wonderful welcoming and friendly team.

The guides (Hugo and George) went out their way to be flexible and ensure I had another perfect stay at Chongwe. Once again, I really enjoyed fishing (Tiger Fish, Vundu and Bream).

I had great sightings of a half collared kingfisher while canoeing, and for the first time I saw Klipspringers and a Leopard Turtoise while on a game drive. Will be back next year!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

The B family
Swindon

"Wonderful Change of scenery at Chongwe"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"It was lovely to have a contrasting environment for this part of the trip. The team were absolutely first class and you were treated like one of the family. All aspects of the camp were superb.
The guides were a very high standard and made sure that you had a variety of activities.
It was wonderful to spend time in a canoe and on a boat in the Zambezi. The opportunity to see wildlife from a different perspective was exciting.
They helped us celebrate our anniversary with a special meal on a pontoon which was incredible!
What else can we say - it was amazing!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 118
96%
118 reviews of Chongwe River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
17
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (108 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (78 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


100% (14 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


97% (6 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


93% (3 reviews)
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


100% (1 review)
Lolebezi

Lolebezi

A chic safari spot, luxurious Lolelbezi is the Lower Zambezi’s newest camp and offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by excellent guides.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa