This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp

Reviews of Sausage Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sausage Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sausage Tree Camp.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Guildford

"Luxury on the Zambezi"

4 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"Sausage Tree Camp is an extremely well run, luxury safari camp on the banks of the Zambezi and it delivered all that we expected of it.

The combination of land and water activities, supported by an efficient camp manager (Ruth) and her entire team, made it a perfect end to our Malawi/Zambia safaris." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Mr B
Singapore

"Amazing return to Sausage Tree Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"Second time for me to visit Sausage Tree Camp (first in 2017) and first time after the recent renovation. Rooms are even better than before and now directly located at the Zambezi river banks. Happy that the infinity pool is still around and swimming so close to hippos, elephants and buffalos is still possible.

Was very surprised that we met 5 leopards in the first game drive (some before, others after sun set). Very decent size of buffalo herds and very large number of elephants around. Regular sightings of lions and occasionally of Hyenas.

Did the Canoeing and River Cruise, which is highly recommendable. Great highlights are the meal surprises.

It was also great to see that quite a number of Sausage Tree staff from 2017 was still around. I don't hesitate to return a third time, hopefully sooner than later." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Macclesfie

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2019
"Best managed, most enthusiastic, most activities, great facilities, most friendly of the three camps we visited.

Even though we were the only two guests the four nights we were there, no effort was spared in making us welcome and we had the added advantage of getting some of the staff to join us at meal time --- it made it feel more like a family gathering than a guest/host relationship." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Mr A
Marford

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2018
"A modern and luxurious camp with more rivr activities than th e previous camps" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Another excellent stay"

6 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"This is our fourth stay there, and everything was up to the usual standard.

Slight disappointment that the Chifungulu channel was closed for canoeing, but that's down to low water levels and nothing the camp could do." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Singapore

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"Personal and private service is impeccable. I felt so well taken care off. Guests have great flexibility and variety when it comes to activities and their timings. You can go on game drives, including late afternoon well into darkness, canoe, go tiger fishing (catch&release), walk, do a sunset cruise or just laze in the infinity pool. I became a residential hippo staying their every day during lunch time enjoying a tasty meal with a local Mosi beer overseeing the Zambezi. So bring your swimwear! Special thanks to Chris and Henry. Big thank you to the whole team. Awesome camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
New York

"Great"

4 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Everything was great" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Budapest

"Amazing three days at Sausage Tree Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2017
"We had a truly amazing time at Sausage tree camp and I can only warmly recommend. We visited in mid-July and the natural beauty was absolutely stunning. Just three highlights: we had elephants cross the river very close to the camp; we saw lions on three separate occasions during the game drives; and we came incredibly close to hippos and birds (white-fronted bee eaters) during a canoe ride down the river.

The lodge itself is very luxurious (the bathrooms!) and offers an exceptional level of service, yet still feels like a family setting. The lodge manager has been a guide for many years and the lodge owner also spent a few days at the lodge during our stay.

Activities (game drives, walking safaris, canoe rides, motor boar rides) are offered twice a day and during your stay you have a personal guide who organizes these only for your party. If you are participating in both daily activities then stay of three days is sufficient to see most things.

The whole trip was seamlessly organized by ExpertAfrica. Many thanks again!" See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Extraordinary. Sublime. Perfect."

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"Everything about our stay at Sausage Tree was extraordinary. The facilities – both the rooms and the main lodge – are exquisite, with a particular attention to detail of finishings and accessories that give it a truly special feel.

The setting is beyond words, situated on the banks of the Zambezi with hippos in the river, elephants wading through, vervet monkeys in the camp, and opportunities to see a huge variety of animals without even going anywhere. There are lots of activities – day and evening game drives, power boat and canoe trips, fishing and walking safaris.

The guides are knowledgable and the entire staff are extraordinarily friendly. The food was great. The staff also surprised us with meals in different locations and other things that made it a once-in-a-lifetime, remarkable experience.

If I could give it 8 stars, I would still not think that was enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"A very well run camp"

6 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Sausage Tree is a very professionally run camp. Knowledgable guides, and attentive staff. The owner, Jason, has made a few changes since out last visit two years ago, all for the good so far as I can tell.

The guaranteed private guiding (i.e. just you and your guide in each vehicle) is new, and works well (of course, you need to decide if that is what you want).

One suggestion to the camp. There are a number of places which have fairly steep concrete steps: from the main area of each tent to the bathroom, and around the main communal area. For guests who are a little unsteady on their feet, like me, simple hand rails would improve safety and security." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 33
97%
33 reviews of Sausage Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa