This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Singapore

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2021 trip

Zambia between 13 Oct 2021 and 26 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall a great trip, which was postponed several times. Camps and Expert Africa were flexible to accommodate the rescheduling requirements which I appreciate a lot. I had no issues with CoVID, the in-camp test was easy. All logistics worked smoothly. No problems whatsoever.

Compared to previous Zambia trips, this one rates slightly lower as the October heat, especially in the South Luangwa, was tough, in particular during Game Drives in the later morning and earlier afternoon. The heat was probably also a main contributor to a game viewing experience slightly below expectation, in particular leopards and lions were far less visible than in previous trips (during August/September). On the other site, sightings of Wild Dogs on four different days (even though it was always the same group of 21) was unexpected.

Hospitability in all camps and hotels was impeccable. Health (Covid) and safety (animals) protocols are in place and rigorously followed. Zambia is slowly recovering with international guests coming back. So there were days were I benefited from half-full camps, other days where I was happy to see camps full as it's vital for the camps. Zambia is definitely ready to welcome guests back. And it's also practical again to go on a safari."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2021
"Trip to Zambia started with a transit night in Lusaka. Gladly, I decided to stay in the Pioneer Lodge.

After a long flight from Singapore via Johannesburg, I was very happy to be reliably picked up from Lusaka Airport. The drive was nice. Staff at the lodge is very friendly and I could immediately start relaxing, enjoying bar, restaurant and pool area.

Had a great dinner and drinks and could peacefully rest in the room on a comfy bed. Immediately had the African feeling.

Transport early morning at 5am also no issue. Would always come back"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2021
"This was my 3rd visit to Sausage Tree Camp after 2017 and 2019. I was once again amazed that I was meeting the same friends for the 3rd time, Henry, Chris and Mike! That's absolutely awesome. And they are only getting better and better each time.

The private game drives are a main attraction. With the superb guide Henry, I had a private session with a rock python devouring a mongoose for a good one hour. What a start! The Zambezi carried unusually high water so the canoe tour turned into an absolute thriller with elephants and hippos.

During siesta time I enjoyed my favorite infinity pool, watching elephants wandering through camp or hippos grazing on land opposite the pool. The pool is definitely welcoming during the October heat. You can even have your lunch at the pool which is a regular thing for me.

I enjoyed Chris' impeccable butler service. He always knows what I want before I even know it.

Meals were amazing, they must be serving the best croissants in the country. The surprises organized by the camp are awesome. But won't spoil the surprise here.

I had little time to spend time in my massive bungalow. Slept well, appreciated the morning coffee brought to my door and the occasional plunge into the veranda pool.

Wished I stayed a few nights longer but now I have a good reason to come back again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

"Puku Ridge review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2021
"This was my second visit after 2017. Puku Ridge underwent a recent upgrade so I was very keen to experience the place once again.

The additions to the camp are amazing:

A secret hide to watch over the waterhole in front of the lodge is exciting for observing elephants, giraffes, warthogs, buffalos, pukus, impalas, zebras, kudos, baboons, birds including owls who regularly flock by.

A small pool is added on the veranda of each room. This came in very handy as the October heat exceeded 40 degrees Celsius in the Luangwa. Rooms are also equipped with A/C which makes the heat much more bearable. Of coz you can chose to switch it off and enjoy the breeze but that probably works in other months better.

The bungalows are now two-story. The upper floor not only gives you an elevated, even more amazing view of the plains, but it also features a bed so you can sleep under stars. Of coz it comes with a mosquito net so you don't need to worry about insects at night.

The most outstanding additions are the bush surprises...thanks Puku Team for these experiences. Very cool!!!

Meals are very tasty and of high variety. It was often difficult to chose from the options. They were all great.

Management and all staff are impeccable. There is really nothing that I feel could have been done better.

I highly recommend this camp. And spend a morning or evening in camp, and just enjoy the action that takes place around the veranda of your bungalow. It's Bush TV all the time.

Also, if your time permits, do a bush walk, the team is very experienced and does not take any risks. When we saw elephants, we detoured to give them ample space, same with hippos. Seeing hundreds of hippos from the riverbanks of the Luangwa River on foot is just cool.

Would always come back if opportunity arises."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2021
"Spent five days with Flatdogs Camp, for the second time after my first visit in 2017. Very happy to see that Jess, Adrian and Paolo were still around, entertaining, helpful and hospitable as always.

The addition of the new pool area is perfect. It's so good that I skipped game drives so I could fully relax in camp, especially when we encountered 43 degrees heat. Will also help you to cool down from hot nights. I found the nights still bearable even in October as there is a powerful fan in the tent. The camp is an awesome place to unwind and just chill. The restaurant has so much variety, you have to stay for a long time to finish the whole menu.

You regularly see elephants, pukus, impalas, baboons, bushbucks roaming through camp, occasionally also buffalos and hippos. Great safety measures are in place that everyone can happily coexist.

Jess and Adrian perfectly organized my Covid Test which can be taken in the camp. You get the result back and it just took 3 hours. So this is helpful, so that stop-overs in Lusaka just for the purpose of a Covid-Test are not needed. They print the test out for you, the QR code can be scanned with your mobile phone when applying for the GlobalHaven certificate (which nobody wanted to see at the airport anyway). The Covid certificate was accepted in South Africa, so it's all reliable.

The Game Drives were nice, the other travelers I was mixed with were a good fit. We actually had a lot of fun. Sightings wise, was a lucky week that the 21 wild dogs I have seen at Puku Ridge earlier moved on to the Mfuwe Lodge area and we could see them in two more game drives. Sightings of leopards and lions was less often than I experienced in 2017 (which was Aug/Sep), probably due to the heat. Still, we had some cool moments with leopards as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"Spent one night with Latitude 15. Like the vibe of the place. The restaurant was awesome, had a very decent steak and some really good cocktails. Room is spacious and clean and bed was comfy.

Initially, was a bit frustrated that I had to check out at 12pm as my airport pick up was only at 4pm. However, sitting in the lounge area was not too bad, eventually. WIFI was good so I could get some stuff done.

If a stay-over in Lusaka is not avoidable, I would definitely come back to Latitude 15."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Great return to Zambia

Zambia between 9 Aug 2019 and 16 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"High expectations exceeded."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Amazing return to Sausage Tree Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"Second time for me to visit Sausage Tree Camp (first in 2017) and first time after the recent renovation. Rooms are even better than before and now directly located at the Zambezi river banks. Happy that the infinity pool is still around and swimming so close to hippos, elephants and buffalos is still possible.

Was very surprised that we met 5 leopards in the first game drive (some before, others after sun set). Very decent size of buffalo herds and very large number of elephants around. Regular sightings of lions and occasionally of Hyenas.

Did the Canoeing and River Cruise, which is highly recommendable. Great highlights are the meal surprises.

It was also great to see that quite a number of Sausage Tree staff from 2017 was still around. I don't hesitate to return a third time, hopefully sooner than later."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

"Leopardmania around Lion Camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2019
"My second trip to the South Luangwa NP but first trip to Lion Camp and the northern part of the park. Camp is very lovely, in particular the rooms with an awesome veranda overseeing the plains. Made fully use of the outside bath tub overseeing hundreds of animals grazing around. Food was plenty with great variety and the bar well stocked. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and I felt well taken care of.

The area is very rich in wildlife. The amount of leopards and lions is hard to beat anywhere else in Africa. Lion cubs were a regular sighting and even a leopard cub on one occasion, allowing me to spend an hour with no other car. Very exclusive encounter indeed. Very laudable are the walks. Truly enjoyed walking, learnt lots about animal tracks and animal behavior: it definitely activated all my senses and I must have been the most skittish creature in the bush. During the night drives I also encountered plenty of leopards, lions, porcupines etc.

Great food, great accommodation, great scenery, great people and a quasi-guaranteed sighting of leopards and lions...not much more to ask for. Looking forward to returning one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Leopardmania in Zambia

Zambia between 26 Aug 2017 and 6 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip with more leopard sightings in a few days than in combined ten previous trips. Enjoyed the camps, experienced my first bush walk, my first canoe safari. Having lunch in the Zambezi river and dinner in the Lower Zambezi NP under moon light were exciting highlights of an already spectacular trip. Well taken care off by all camps and Expert Africa before and during the trip!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2017
"Felt like Nat Geo live! Elephants mud bathing in front of my tent. Consistent leopard spotting in every game drive and lots of lions with cubs. When in camp I enjoyed very delicious food, plenty of choice and a lovely Asian touch to many dishes. Management tremendously supported me when my luggage was 5 days delayed. Will never forget the shopping tour in the nearby village. Highly recommended camp!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

"Puku Ridge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Still captivated from the leopard kill we could observe from the veranda during the tea break. The plain's view creates an enormous bush experience. All meals served with a spectacular view. Tents are spacious, have a fantastic view as well. Camp is intimate, and game drives exciting. Leopards, lions, wild dogs and hyenas are around. Very few cars only. One camp where I truly like to return to. Meals very delicious. South Luangwa is such a great national park for cat lovers like me. Well done Puku Ridge family!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"Personal and private service is impeccable. I felt so well taken care off. Guests have great flexibility and variety when it comes to activities and their timings. You can go on game drives, including late afternoon well into darkness, canoe, go tiger fishing (catch&release), walk, do a sunset cruise or just laze in the infinity pool. I became a residential hippo staying their every day during lunch time enjoying a tasty meal with a local Mosi beer overseeing the Zambezi. So bring your swimwear! Special thanks to Chris and Henry. Big thank you to the whole team. Awesome camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team