This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Somalisa Expeditions
Somalisa Expeditions
Somalisa Expeditions
Somalisa Expeditions
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions


19°3’13.5"S 27°2’49.5"E

Reviews of Somalisa Expeditions

Wildlife sightings and reviews

11 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Somalisa Expeditions and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Somalisa Expeditions.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

56% success

Cheetah

44% success

Wild dog

29% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Roan antelope

89% success

Sable antelope

78% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Hippo

22% success

Oryx

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 11
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Beds.

"Excellent in every way"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"As with Waterberry it is hard not to gush about this place. The quality of the safari guides here is extraordinary. Our guide, Abiot, knew pretty much everything. Again the accommodation was fantastic, all the staff brilliant and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Excellent safari at Somalisa Expeditions"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"Very comfortable and well-appointed tented accommodation, helpful and friendly staff and excellent wildlife sightings, including dozens of elephants, some at very close quarters. The camp is well situated for exploring an area full of a variety of animals and birds, with very few visitors, so sightings are never crowded. David our guide was excellent, diligent in seeking out the more rarely seen animals, and extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of wildlife. We were made to feel most welcome and would not hesitate to return." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S.
Worthing

"Somalisa Expeditions review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"fantastic camp, with fantastic staff.

The location is brilliant for seeing such a variety of animals, elephants, zebra, giraffe, either outside of your tent or nearby waterhole.

Food superb, guides very knowledgeable and the whole stay well organised and ensured I had the most amazing safari experience" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Andy & Karen
Hereford

"Perfect traditional safari camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"If you want to stay in a small, traditional safari camp with great food, guides and service then this is the place for you.

A good distance away from the glitz of Somalisa Camp this intimate 6 tent camp is set in amongst trees with simple but delightful facilities. The tents are spacious, the beds are super comfortable and the en-suite outside showers solar powered - a little bracing on a cold evening but refreshing at the end of your game drive.

Food was excellent, served in the main tent where an open fire kept off the chill. A pump fed pond attracts elephants to within feet of the deck.

Our guide David was very knowledgeable and because of the link to the nearby big sister camps had many eyes looking for game on the drives.

We would highly recommend this camp, our favourite in Zimbabwe.More" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"So many elephants!"

5 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2019
"In contrast to our stay at Camp Hwange in the west of the park there had been very little rain here so there were some large sightings round waterholes and solar-pumped pans, particularly elephant and buffalo.

Elephants played a very big part in our time at Somalisa (we saw several hundred in total), not least at the camp itself which is well known for attracting family groups to its water tank). It's amazing being that close. A couple of naughty younger males liked coming into camp to shake acacia pods of the trees for a tasty snack right by our tent. One pushed under our guy ropes and was photographed from the outside bathroom toilet seat just the other side of the canvas. You don't get much closer!.

Ray (Xoxindaba the storyteller) was our guide and great fun and generous with his 24 years of guiding knowledge. A highlight was seeing a lioness transferring her three cubs 500 yards from a waterhole to a day-time hideaway, carrying one youngster in her mouth. We also saw one leopard and one cheetah here plus sable.

All the camp staff, headed by Egania, were exceptionally friendly and helpful. For us, as vegetarians, the meals were the best of the three-camp trip. From our tent (number three ) we could see much of the action at the water tank." See all these reviews: 17n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Somalisa Expeditions: a lovely location"

4 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2018
"The camp was in a good location on the dry river bed and from our accommodation we had views of the waterhole. The elephants that came to drink from the plunge pool were always a pleasure to watch.

A very comfortable camp and well furnished. As our last camp of the trip it was good to have a few more comforts before our trip home. All staff were excellent and friendly, as was Martin our guide who would go out of his way to show us as much as possible.

Maximum time game viewing is important to us, so it was good to go out on a long morning drive and not come back until lunchtime. Even on our last morning we were offered the option to go out on a morning drive for 4 hours, which we did. It proved to be very worthwhile, and then it was straight onto the aircraft!" See all these reviews: 21n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Bert
NL

"Somalisa Expeditions review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2018
"We regarded Somalisa Expeditions as a slightly more luxurious version of Zambezi Expeditions. Very skilled professionals on all levels of staff and guiding as well as just nice people. We had the camp to ourselves for a day and a half and enjoyed the full attention of everyone, without feeling crowded. The pool and sundeck in front of it make for a spectacular encounter with elephants. This part of Hwange was not as packed with animals as Mana Pools, but has a very nice variety of scenery and made us appreciate other things than just big game. Having said that; there's certainly no shortage of animals. It's a relatively small camp, located beautifully and with very comfortable permanent tents. Again, we were impressed by the high standard of guiding and the nice balance between professionalism and social skills, which lead, among other things, to very interesting conversations with different members of staff. The atmosphere is completely relaxed and made us feel that way. The same attitude of African Bush Camp towards animals, people and environment I described with regard to Zambezi Expeditions applies here. In every way it's a feel good experience and we were sad to leave it." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Kingston

"Somalisa Expeditions review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"We stayed 3 nights in early September. Very much enjoyed the camp.

We were in Tent 1 which is the farthest from the main area and has a fantastic view of the nearby waterhole to its right. The tents are on raised wooden platforms, have a small front deck with 2 chairs, a comfortable bed, a writing desk with charger, a fan, tons of storage, cotton robes, a nice bathroom with flush toilet and a regular shower. The bathroom is through a door and is open to the sky.

Lionel was our excellent guide (very descriptive and easy to understand) and on the way to camp we stopped at the local waterhole to see cape buffalo and many zebra. Animals sighted here seemed more habituated to the vehicles, and we were therefore able to get a bit closer (especially the zebras).

Tonny was our Camp Host and he was wonderful throughout our stay. Thanks Tonny for the extra coffee! Siyabonga.

The food here was good but we found it was not quite as enjoyable as at our other camps. Some meals were average. One which was quite good was the BBQ served in the open. Some meals were plated, others were served buffet style. Refillable water bottles were used for the drives, we appreciated that.

One special experience here is that there is a pool in front of the open area and elephants often come to drink from the pool. Guests can sit quietly on the deck to watch them, only a few feet away. Very exciting! We saw the elephants coming to the pool from our tent (they passed in front of us) and made our way over to the pool. Sat for about 20 minutes observing them. A very wonderful experience.

Other interesting sightings included 2 groups of lions, roan, sable, wildebeest.

Would like to thank Lionel, Tonny, Gloria, Brian, Present and Guide David for their care during our stay. We apologize for not remembering everyone's name." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Miss J
Bushey

"Magical!"

5 nights Arrived 17 May 2018
"Room's were lovely, camp food also good, but very meat oriented, however Cook will do his upmost to cater for a Vegetarian.

Camp staff were attentive and a pleasure to talk too, special mention to David our guide, he taught me a lot, extremely knowledgeable, couple of worrying moment's with Elephant's, but David's calmness and experience made you feel in good hand's!

Best magical moment, being so close to the regular Elephant herd who came down to drink at the watering pool every evening, so close you could almost touch them, it was best at night after a glass of wine, and the starry sky's above, i will not forget it, magical!!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Absolutely fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"We truly did not want to leave this lodge. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. A special thanks needs to go to Hope who was a very special host indeed. She was warm, friendly, funny and extremely good at her job of making sure everyone had their needs met, which at times was no mean feat.

The tented accommodation was beautifully appointed and very well designed. The main lodge had a number of seating arrangements both inside and out. Drinks were readily available and you are encouraged to help yourself, if a staff member is unavailable. Lunch and dinner are taken around a large table with other guests, Hope, and guides. This we enjoyed and gave us chance to discuss experiences as well as get to know more about the background of staff members which we found very interesting.

If you love elephants then this place is a must. Sitting on the deck area directly next to the pool and water trough was a highlight of the holiday. You see elephants so close up as they fill their trunks with water to drink. An amazing experience that we will never forget.

Robert our guide also deserves a special mention. Such a lovely, gentle, and knowledgable young man. We very much enjoyed all the game drives we experienced with him. The area is abundant with wildlife. As well as seeing hundreds of elephants highlights were observing a herd of around 250 buffalo.

We witnessed a pride of lions feeding on a recent buffalo kill and followed a lone male lion along the road for at least 30 minutes. He had no intention of moving over so we had to follow him until the road split. The animals in this area are used to seeing vehicles and appear very relaxed in their presence." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 11
100%
11 reviews of Somalisa Expeditions by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa