This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp

Reviews of Somalisa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Somalisa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Somalisa Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

25% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Zebra

88% success

Buffalo

75% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Eland

63% success

Oryx

29% success

Hippo

13% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
S.
Germany

"Somalisa Camp [11-2019]"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2019
"Travel intention: 9th trip to africa, looking for unique safari experience throughout Africa in a comfortable to luxurious Setting

Facilities: Located in an isolated area of the Huangwe park, you can fully emerge into the bush feeling you are looking for (no cell phone connection or WIFI). You have a nice overview on the surrounding plains both from your tent and the central area. The central area has a small pool and a nicely arranged shaded area overviewing the water hole where you can relax during lunch break. Very nice rooms with comfortable bed and both an indoor and outdoor shower, as well a stylish copper bath tub.

Service: Excellent food and drinks, attentive service. After being ripped open by baboons while we were away (fortunately, they just made a bit of a mess and obviously slept on the bed, but didn’t steal anything), the fly-net surrounding our tent was repaired immediately. We visited three camps from African Bush Camps during our trip. What sets these camps apart from other sites we have visited before: The common rule is that dinners are taken at a large table together with camp manager + one staff member. Thereby, you interact both more with other guests, as well as get to talk with local Zimbabwe guys enabling lots of interesting conversation.

Experience: Excellent location within Hwange park giving a representative feeling of its nature and animals. You will meet only few other vehicles during your game drive (due to Somalisa Camp having its own concession area and a limited numbers of visitors in the vast area of Huangwe). Huangwe is basically the most eastern part of the Kalahari desert therefore being unaible to sustain large numbers of permanent game. This was overcome early by drilling (now half solar/half diesel generator driven) artificial waterholes which provide the necessary waterholes to sustain abundant wild life. Unfortunately, the impact of the 2019 drought in combination with an overpopulation of elephants in the park were clearly visible as we saw a number of very thin and regularly also dead elephants, as well as many destroyed trees/bushes where even the roots were digged out. Our guide was Bee. Special sightings: Elephants (of course), Lion pack (descendants of Cecil) with several cubs playing around and one time gathering to go hunting in the evening (unfortunately it got dark and we had to stop following). Cheetah mother + son seen twice. Abundant roan antilope (rarely seen on other trips so far). Spring hares, african wild cat and nightjars during night drives. Numerous smaller and also larger birds (secretary bird, grounded and other hornbills, Kori bustard…)

Overall: Luxury bush-feeling camp with a limited number of the opportunity for great game drive experiences. Excellent camp management by Roland (always joyful and observant camp manager)." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Dr D
Salisbury

"Luxury, tented camp in great location."

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"Somalisa is a very attractive, tented camp with it's own water hole. The tents are actually luxury, tented rooms on a wooden base which have all the comfort of normal rooms. The camp is very eco-friendly, with solar lighting and water heating and use of grey water to top up the water hole.

The staff were friendly and food good, with an interesting take on 'do it yourself' wood fired pizzas and stir fries (you choose the ingredients and it is cooked for you). The camp supports local charitable initiatives and has a craft shop which profits the charity.

The guiding was excellent, especially if you ask the guides to show you everything, not just big cats.

Somalisa did seem to attract a different clientele from Hwange Bush Camp and Amalinda - older and more conservative and content to be drive around looking just for big cats; they missed out on a lot." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Wonderful experience"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"At first the number of staff seemed quite overwhelming but they were absolutely great and all came to introduce themselves to us as they came on duty, what's more they remembered our names.

The tents are very spacious with seating area, desk space and large bathroom and very large balcony with sofa, chairs and table and hammock. We were in tent 4 which is the nearest to the water hole, so we were able to watch the animals there as well as the comings and goings.

The food was excellent with a little DIY for stir fry and pizza. Breakfast by the fire was also great. Another bonus was the 5.30 delivery of a pot of coffee with our wake up call.

Game viewing was good - so many elephants swell as Cecil's daughters and grandchildren." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Sable antelope

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S.
Worthing

"Somalisa Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"less wildlife near camp than Somalisa expeditions but well laid out, excellent tent facilities, and great food ..

Staff very keen on providing best experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Andy & Karen
Hereford

"Large camp luxury"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Due to a booking error we got upgraded to Somalisa Camp from nearby Somalisa Expeditions so understand this type of luxury camp is not our first choice when reading this feedback.

The facilities are obviously outstanding - luxury tents, copper baths, a wood burner(!) in tent, plus small pool and high quality furnishings in private and public areas. Staff were delightful (a feature of all three African Bush Camps we visited) and guides excellent in quality vehicles. If this is what you like then you will not be disappointed!

What surprised us, however, was how close the sister camp of Somalisa Acacia was i.e right on top of it, enabling it to act as a single entity for large groups. Our tent #7 looked onto the back of Acacia and was certainly less than 100m from it. We dropped the curtains to give us a sense of privacy. This was no intimate Bush experience, and was therefore not for us. Other tents had more privacy but it is still a sizeable complex." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Ms K.
DC, USA

"Fabulous property and experience"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"This was the first Southern Africa safari lodge we stayed in and we got spoiled here. Not all lodges are equal and of the 3 on this trip Somalisa was the best. The area also spoiled us. Within the first 2 hours of arrival we had seen three (elephant, buffalo, lion) of the Big Five. By the time we left 3 nights later we added the fourth - leopard. On Fridays the camp has local culture and food which was great too. Love the oxtail! I highly recommend this property.

Exercise awareness of where the elephant are if you decide to use your private outdoor shower. Having your shower interrupted by an elephant is funny now but it required quick thinking and reaction - quite exciting at the time.

Extensive wildlife sighting notes will be emailed." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Carol M
Illinois

""Home Sweet Home" Somalisa"

8 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2018
"I had stayed at Somalisa for four days in 2016 and loved it so much I returned there for eight days in 2018. I enjoyed seeing old friends such as Chefs Sandy and Adam and guides Albert and Mike and making new friends including the charming hostess Tary and talented guide-in-training Carina. My own guide for the entire eight days was Babusi ("Bee"), who never gave up looking for the Cheetah and the Leopard I absolutely had to see. And did!

Bee also found the previously elusive Secretary Birds and a pack of Wild Dogs for me to photograph, and we enjoyed a half dozen close-up sightings of Sable Antelope and two Lion prides.

My tent (No. 1) was the one farthest from the reception/dining area, so it seemed like a pretty long walk back there late at night. However, during the day I liked being far removed from the crowd, and each afternoon I enjoyed sitting out on my back deck "alone" with the Elephants, Kudus and Zebras as they paraded by (oblivious to me) on their way for a drink at the Somalisa waterhole.

The food, as during my previous stay, was very good and there were many new and quite interesting additions to the menu. One evening at dinnertime we were given a very special treat when members of the staff performed a short program of traditional songs and dances for us. Outstanding!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 10n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Stefan
Memphis

"Over the top"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"Once you think the trip can't get any better ..there is Somalisa. I would have never thought to experience such close encounter with wildlife. Our guide Peter was the best, very knowledgeable, we had great evening discussions with him. What a treat this place is." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Africa lover
Rye

"5 star rooms, great guides, food just ok"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"We loved the rooms: luxurious bed, beautiful bathroom with outdoor shower, great views and a camp surrounded by elephants.
Our guide Calvet was one of the best guides we have ever had.
The staff were kind and Dophus, the camp's host was very good.
The only minus point was the food. We don't go on safari for great food so it was not a big issue. Overall food was ok but not great (trifle for example was not a trifle, vegetables served quite raw) but the worst was that at lunch time especially there was not enough food. We had a wonderful pizza but only a tiny salad to share between 7. The next day I asked for more salads and they did not seem to like that.
Asides from that we had a wonderful experience and would consider the camp again" See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Amazing sightings at somalisa"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"We shared a vehicle with a honeymoon couple on their first safari and after almost every drive I had to reassure them that this was not a normal game drive. So many extraordinary things happened.

Our guide Lewis was excellent, very keen to find things and enthusiastic. When he told us that we would walk up to 4 young cheetah, I think that the honeymoon couple thought that they had misheard him!

A lion kill outside camp, failed lion stalks, eles galore and lots of birds to boot. A fabulous start to the trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 33
91%
33 reviews of Somalisa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa