This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp
Somalisa Camp

Reviews of Somalisa Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Somalisa Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Somalisa Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

25% success

Wild dog

13% success

Elephant

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Zebra

88% success

Buffalo

75% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Eland

63% success

Oryx

29% success

Hippo

13% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I & Mrs W
Dorset

"Great location and guiding at Somalisa"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"This is a difficult camp to review because our experience is coloured by specific circumstances. We found ourselves on arrival the only guests (except one other long stay guest) at the camp who were not travel trade representatives on familiarisation trips. In itself this may not seem a problem but it significantly altered the dynamic and experience.

In addition from the second of 3 days the owner of African Bushcamps was there with some friends, this is no criticism of him because he was charming and helpful, however it felt like we were intruding on a private party. The staff seemed aware of the issue and did their best to make us feel comfortable. However some service was a little erratic, if you are asked if you would like tea with your wake up call it would be nice if it arrived. We only got this on the last morning and then we hi-jacked someone elses. I would comment that there appeared to be a lack of management oversight and attention to detail.

Now the positives: The accommodation is very good quality and the food good. Tent 5 which we had is perhaps a little close to the kitchen but not a major issue. The staff are very friendly and do their best to ensure that all is well.

The guiding was excellent and a very knowledgeable guide in Louis made all of the trips a great experience. Once again there was the opportunity to walk which was very welcome and I would recommend it as an alternative to spending hours sat on a safari vehicle." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Somalisa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Best guide of the trip. Albert had immense knowledge. Masses of elephants, amazingly close. Could have spent the whole time here on the deck watching them at the waterhole.

Camp has recently been upgraded and it is amazing, however the food was a big disappointment. No choice and poorly cooked." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 8n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Somalisa Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 28 May 2016
"This was an incredible place.

We arrived mid afternoon and Dophos gave us a very good arrival brief and then showed us to our tent which was spectacular. Due to the time of year we were there we had hot water bottles and a log fire in the room every night. Any washing we needed doing was done the same day.

Our guide, Lewis, was amazing. His knowledge of the area and wildlife is second to none. On the day of our wedding anniversary he arranged a surprise for us at one of the sun downer stop offs, we had a beautiful cake and champagne as the sun set. It certainly will be an anniversary we will never forget.

All of the staff were very friendly and always on hand for any questions we had." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Halifax

"A Great Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"The staff & the food were excellent. The accommodation is amazing. It renders the description "Tent" completely inadequate.

We saw abundant & varied wildlife especially around the waterholes and, if you like Elephants, then this is the place to be.

There is a waterhole less than 100yds from the camp with a constant stream of Elephants coming down for a mud bath and a plunge pool 10ft away were all the Elephants come to drink!

A special thanks must go to our guide Calvet, who was simply superb." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Reading

"Tented camp in the Hwange bush"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Service at the camp was excellent, the staff were exceptionally approachable and they have really thought about how to make guests comfortable e.g. hot water bottles and ponchos for morning game drives.

We saw a great range of wildlife with our guide David who was excellent and shared a wealth of information with us about the animals including tracks, diet, food chain, habitat and other 'evidence' of their presence - his enthusiasm was infectious.

The food was excellent and incorporated traditional dishes and regional produce - we absolutely loved the braai on our first night and the opportunity to try sadza porridge.

The tents are comfortable however the shower part of the tent only has a gauze roof however so you are exposed to the wind/temperature (on our second night the wind was very strong so showering was too uncomfortable and our toiletries were blown across the room). The rooms do not have hot water on tap so you have to book your shower slot. Similarly breakfast is taken outside and the main tent is not overly wind proof so warm layers are definitely required for early morning and evening." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S
N Yorks

"Excellent first time safari at Somalisa"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"The staff at this camp very friendly and welcoming, especially Evonne, the Manager. My guide Michel, was very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. The rest of the camp staff were also friendly and tried to meet your every need.

The camp itself had a lovely old word charm about it along with an informal feel where the staff were more than happy to get you a drink but you were also encouraged to get your own in no one was about.

The room here was a lovely, characterful tented form of accommodation with a private open air bathroom that on occasion the elephants did help themselves to the soap. The area in which the camp was situated also supported large amounts of game so plenty of game viewing close to camp was available." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
PA

"Somalisa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Yvonne could not have been more helpful. Michael Padiwa, the guide, was the best.He was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable
Food and drink was top notch.
I expected to swim in the pool there but the swimming pool has been taken over by the ellies!
Your information sheet mentions walks and hides at Somalisa. Not the case." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Miss M
UK

"A real experience of life in the bush...."

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"We very much enjoyed the remote location of Somalisa Camp in Hwange NP and have great memories of watching animals at the water-hole and in the vicinity of the camp, as well as during our safari drives into the vast area of Hwange. On so many occasions we enjoyed drinking our morning coffee or having sun-downer drinks with wonderful elephants in close attendance and our guide Mike always seemed to know just the right place to find them - or baboons- or zebra - or ostriches.

Visitors during the winter months need to be well-prepared for cold overnight temperatures, in contrast with warm sunshine during the day, especially when out in safari vehicles early morning or after dark. However at the camp itself the warm log-fire is very cheering and the hot porridge provided for breakfast is most welcome. Beds are comfortable (and included hot-water bottles) but showering arrangements need improvement. Food is good and plentiful and a very congenial atmosphere prevails at meal-times, particularly in the evenings" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Texas

"Somalisa Camp has seen better days"

3 nights Arrived 25 Mar 2013
"Our driver Victor from Victoria Falls Tour Link was great in getting us through the Police road blocks between Victoria Falls and Main Camp at Hwange National Park. I can not say the same for the men that picked us up from African Bush Camps Somalisa Camp. We were stuffed into the back seat of an old land rover, windows only partially working, with part of our luggage. The two camp employees had the front seats fully extended backwards so that we had less leg room than on an airplane. The employees proceeded to chat and regale one another for the two hours of the trip. We finally had to interupt and request a stop to get out of the car and stretch our legs.

Upon arriving at Somalisa we were warmly greeted by Shane, Johnny, Sandra, and Nick. We never saw Johnny or Nick again, and Sandra left the next day; so although Shane took excellent care of us they seemed to be short handed. That being said, for two days all the guests in camp toured in one safari vehicle, seven of us, a bit crowded to say the least. Obviously there was not other driver/guide for us in camp.

The safari drives had a limited area to roam in and they tended to be repetitive, the same waterholes morning and evening. Michael was really into tracking lions and wasn't too interested in stopping for us to photograph other animals.

On the morning of our departure, about halfway into our two hour return to Main Camp our safari vehicle broke down. After about a half hour a vehicle from another camp came by and offered to help with repairs. After another half hour a supply truck from our camp came by an took us on to the pick up point. Break downs can happen anywhere. I think the age and run down condition of the vehicles at Somalisa camp was a major contributing factor.

There is a bright spot. On our final evening Shane had organized a lamp-lite dinner on the deck beside the pool and in the full moon elephants came and drank from the pool as we were sitting there, truly magic. Well done Shane!!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr K & Mrs B
Norwary

"Somalisa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2013
"Our first camp ever, nice people and quality tents." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 33
91%
33 reviews of Somalisa Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


96% (80 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (30 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (12 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa