This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

7

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 2 Oct 2018 and 22 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip. Am already planning the next one. Claire have you any ideas?"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"Comfortable camp. Especially loved the private deck overlooking the water. The hippo hide was exciting and the game amazing. We saw a leopard every day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Great bushcamp"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"An authentic bushcamp. Up close and personal with the wildlife - If staying both here and Kaingo - possibly too close as shares the same drive area"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"See previous feedback as stayed 6th - 10th October"
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Pumulani review"

7 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"Considering Pumalani is supposed to be the premier location in Malawi - and taking into account the problems in accessing supplies we were still disappointed in the standard of catering."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"Our second time here and just as good as the first.


For us this is the standard that all camps should aspire to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2016 trip

Botswana and 3 other countries between 9 Sep 2016 and 1 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Having looked forward to the trip for 18months expectations were high!

Although overall the trip was highly enjoyable, we can now say that we have been to Botswana but will not be returning as it seemed to miss the wow factor. This was mainly down to the game viewing.

We appreciate that it is nature and so cannot predict these things and are already looking forward to our next African adventure"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Selinda Explorers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Enjoyed our time here. Our one concern was that it is advertised as a predominantly walking camp - but with only two guides you can only go for a walk if the other guests want to go for a walk too. (Ours didn't)

Thanks to some diplomacy by the guide and managers we managed to go for a couple of short walks but (with typical British reserve) felt awkward having to make a bit of an issue out of it.

Overall a good camp, great food, good guiding and excellent game."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

"Duba Expedition Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"An excellent camp but the game viewing was disappointing. Game has moved due to the change in the water table.

No buffalo had been seen for a long time - although this was usually when they were around. Only a few lions but masses of red lechwe and warthogs.

The birdlife was amazing. Tents were excellent but food was average"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Somalisa Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Best guide of the trip. Albert had immense knowledge. Masses of elephants, amazingly close. Could have spent the whole time here on the deck watching them at the waterhole.

Camp has recently been upgraded and it is amazing, however the food was a big disappointment. No choice and poorly cooked."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"An airport hotel. Ideal for an overnight stop-over."
Average
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Benguerra Lodge

Benguerra Lodge

"Benguerra Lodge review"

8 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Loved it. Paradise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2014 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 23 Aug 2014 and 9 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A perfect holiday - my only complaint is that I want to go back NOW!

Especial thanks to Claire Scott and the team, we are already planning our next trip with Expert Africa"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"A magical place, loved every second from the muffins at breakfast to the sounds of the hippos at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"A more authentic bushcamp than Chiawa but excellent in its own way. Personally would have liked to stay here first before Chiawa but this was not possible for us. We even saw an Aardvark and honey badgers! yipee!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"Perfectly suitable for a short overnight stay in Lusaka"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Kaya Mawa review"

7 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"A perfect end to a perfect holiday. Food out of this world, fabulous accommodation and attentive staff. Quiet,peaceful and no need to socialise with anyone else if you don't want to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2012 trip

Tanzania between 8 Sep 2012 and 23 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday matched and superceded our expectations. Thank you"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2012
"An excellent begining to our holiday. Micol was a brilliant manager and attentive host."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2012
"Camp a little 'tired'. Pippa was brilliant but camp lacked personality"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

8 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Brlliant management - looked after my dietary requirements very well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team